Listen free for 30 days

Overwhelming Force

The War Planners, Book 5
Narrated by: Michael Pauley
Series: The War Planners, Book 5
Length: 10 hrs and 43 mins
5 out of 5 stars (28 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

From USA Today best-selling author and former US Navy pilot Andrew Watts comes a series made for fans of Tom Clancy and Vince Flynn.

When the Chinese military launches a surprise attack on the United States, the world is thrown into chaos.

The Manning family is spread out over the globe, each doing their part to defend America. With the Chinese fleet advancing, Admiral Manning commands the USS Ford carrier strike group near Midway. CIA operative Chase Manning is sent home to the US to fight a lethal unit of Chinese special forces. 

LCDR Victoria Manning hunts submarines off the coast of Guam. And intelligence analyst David Manning tries to decipher Chinese plans. But President Cheng Jinshan and his deadly operative Lena Chou have set their plans in motion. A gargantuan Chinese fleet, with new cutting-edge technology, is making its way towards the American forces. And as the two superpowers collide, it will take skill, courage, and cunning to win the day.

©2019 Point Whiskey Publishing (P)2019 Point Whiskey Publishing

What listeners say about Overwhelming Force

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great continuation of a great series

As per the previous books, this will not let you down, its epic and a credit to Mr Watts

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 14-11-19

Brilliant

If you are a fan of IWar, Lights Out, One Second After, the 299 Days series or Tom Clancy novels, you will love this series and if you have gotten this far you probably have. This series really should be a movie series. In light of what happened to the remake of Red Dawn and the villain being changed from China to North Korea which destroyed suspension of disbelif, there is definitely a place in the market for this kind of movie. Never Again is now and it is happening in China. May the people of Hong Kong, Muslims in western China and all of the Chinese people one day receive the freedom and prosperity that they desire and deserve and May catastrophe and devastation in this series never be experienced in any of these United States.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for cp
  • cp
  • 13-06-20

Fantastic Action With Military Expertise.

Enjoyed tremendously. Reminds me of Dale Brown and early Tom Clancy. Military details add credibility.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Techno Jedi
  • Techno Jedi
  • 24-04-20

Impressive. most impressive.

this book soon had me guessing. for a long while I was not sure if the outcome; I'm still not. one thing this book does is gives you uncertainty as to where the direction will go. I can't wait to start the next book to see the intimates conclusion. so glad I took a chance in this series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Brandi  Eyestone
  • Brandi Eyestone
  • 17-02-20

just finished for the 2nd time in prep for book 6

Even better the 2nd time thru. stoked to start 6! great read, and the back and forth radio traffic between personnel is legit, and the author does a great job delivering it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SJ
  • SJ
  • 27-12-19

I Hope Andrew Watts does a Book 6

Loved this series, hoping there is more to come. Great character development, and an excellent storyline.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Hadlock
  • Hadlock
  • 15-12-19

Formulaic and awful. technically shallow.

pulp fiction at its worst. dont waste your time. Not a serious effort. couldn't wait for it to be over.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for William
  • William
  • 24-08-19

the series is great

I'm going through all the books of the series and I highly recommend the series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for BRUCE R.
  • BRUCE R.
  • 27-05-19

Suspenseful and Outstanding book

I have listened to the complete series. Every book was suspenseful.All of the characters were developed and became personal; caring what happened to them.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 25-04-19

Great

This book really great. Can’t believe this series isn’t more popular. Make some more. Need more