Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £21.99

Buy Now for £21.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Outcast is the latest gripping gangland crime thriller from Kerry Barnes, perfect for fans of Martina Cole and Kimberley Chambers.

After serving eight years inside for armed robbery, Mitchell Swan comes home to find his family in chaos and his violent father-in-law to blame. Within hours, he moves out, taking only his middle son and leaving his other two children, Jordan and Sonny, to be dragged up by their mother. 

Growing up in the same street but in reality worlds apart, Eden’s life is vastly different from the Swan brothers. She endures the unimaginable at the hands of Gabriel, her father - a Jehovah’s Witness elder. But no one believes her. Shunned by her community, she must go it alone. But can she survive being an outcast from all she’s ever known? With his beady eyes and deviant mind, Jordan Swan wants Eden for himself, but he goes too far....

©2021 Kerry Barnes (P)2021 W F Howes

What listeners say about Outcast

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    243
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    242
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    226
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

I have been listening to audio books for years. Makes the dog walks and house work more interesting. Never felt the need to write a review other than pop on my star rating. But this. Brilliant. Absolutely brilliant. Author is very talented. Delivery is impeccable from the nauratour. I was so involved. I'm off to buy everything I can from the author and nauratour!!

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I wish Kerry Barnes could write a book every week

Just love these books, with the perfect narrator Annie Aldington, listen at every possible moment

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best book yet

Kerry barnes is brilliant this was a couldn't put down hope for another one

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

brilliant

l loved this book, the plot, the characters and a happy ending. the narrator was absolutely amazing

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

Really great story told by a brilliant narrator. Absolutely loved it and couldn’t put it down. Very highly recommended.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Stunning

A dreadful awful terrible … all for the right reasons brilliant book, it had me screaming in places , so brilliantly written and also a brilliantly narrated book, up there with the best I’ve listened to, thank you to you both

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant though harrowing

Read in one sitting. Wish it had gone on longer. Very harrowing in parts.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great read

Great book first book I have listened to of this author. Will be listening to more. Good story .

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Your next gripping read

This is an excellent read that you will not want to put down. it has a very good story line that keeps calling you back for more.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic read

Great storyline, I couldn’t put it down, loved the few twists, would recommend to a friend. Happy ending for some..