Try an audiobook on us

My Mother's Secret

Narrated by: Aoife McMahon
Length: 12 hrs and 49 mins
4 out of 5 stars (160 ratings)
Regular price: £19.99
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Sheila O'Flanagan's My Mother's Secret is a thought-provoking and enthralling novel about a family reeling from the news that nothing about their parents' marriage is what they believed it to be. A wonderful listen, perfect for fans of Veronica Henry and Lisa Jewell.

When Steffie helps her two siblings organize a surprise wedding anniversary party for their parents her only worry is whether they'll be pleased. What she doesn't know is this is the day that her whole world will be turned upside down.

Jenny wants to be able to celebrate her ruby anniversary with the man she loves, but for 40 years she has kept a secret. A secret that she can't bear to hide any longer. But is it ever the right time to hurt the people closest to you?

As the entire family gather to toast the happy couple, they're expecting a day to remember. The trouble is, it's not going to be for the reasons they imagined....

©2015 Sheila O'Flanagan (P)2015 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    71
  • 4 Stars
    45
  • 3 Stars
    35
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    84
  • 4 Stars
    42
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    59
  • 4 Stars
    46
  • 3 Stars
    31
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    4
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Well told holiday listening

An interesting family story.
well narrated,with emotions coming over clearly.
an easy listen, predictable but enjoyable ending. A feel good book.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • A
  • United Kingdom
  • 29-07-15

Easy listen

I enjoyed this easy to listen book as I have been stressed and this was comforting me time

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great read

Well rounded characters, good plot,very enjoyable story . good narrator. first time I read Sheila Flanagan but will read more soon

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • R
  • 20-07-15

Pleasant read!

Where does My Mother's Secret rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

It's a very easy enjoyable read, a little predictable in places but still very good reading.

What did you like best about this story?

The different family members views of the secret and it's impact on them throughout their lives.

What does Aoife McMahon bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

She always gives a strong performance and her voices for the characters are so good!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

It’s okay - not my genre

I think the main problem with this book is that it was so far from my usual genre of book that it seemed a bit cheesy. I never read slushy books and don’t know why I bought it. But I decided I needed something light to listen to and this was it. Although I’ve never read a Mills & Boone book I would imagine this would fit right in.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brillant

Brilliantly written. Brilliantly performed. gripping throughout and completely immersive . As a reader you would be deprived if you did not entwine yourself in the world of Shiela O`Flannagan.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Predictable

Struggled to finish it Im afraid
Narrator good as always
Not my cup of tea.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Rather dull

Found myself slightly irritated by the slow voice when narrator was reading male parts. The story was a bit drawn out and predictable and the narration didn't help. Did stick with it but rather dull.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Meh

A gentle, easy to listen to story. Some of the voices were a bit irritating, particularly the men’s. The story is a bit old fashioned.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

dragged out

struggled with this book narrator was not great. storyline boring. simply would not recommended