Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £19.99

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Sheila O'Flanagan's My Mother's Secret is a thought-provoking and enthralling novel about a family reeling from the news that nothing about their parents' marriage is what they believed it to be. A wonderful listen, perfect for fans of Veronica Henry and Lisa Jewell.

When Steffie helps her two siblings organize a surprise wedding anniversary party for their parents her only worry is whether they'll be pleased. What she doesn't know is this is the day that her whole world will be turned upside down.

Jenny wants to be able to celebrate her ruby anniversary with the man she loves, but for 40 years she has kept a secret. A secret that she can't bear to hide any longer. But is it ever the right time to hurt the people closest to you?

As the entire family gather to toast the happy couple, they're expecting a day to remember. The trouble is, it's not going to be for the reasons they imagined....

©2015 Sheila O'Flanagan (P)2015 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

What listeners say about My Mother's Secret

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    90
  • 4 Stars
    59
  • 3 Stars
    37
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    105
  • 4 Stars
    49
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    75
  • 4 Stars
    55
  • 3 Stars
    35
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Well told holiday listening

An interesting family story.
well narrated,with emotions coming over clearly.
an easy listen, predictable but enjoyable ending. A feel good book.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • A
  • 29-07-15

Easy listen

I enjoyed this easy to listen book as I have been stressed and this was comforting me time

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Pleasant

This is a gentle, pleasant story. The emphasis is on family relationships and their vagaries over many years. It is not an exciting tale, so not for everyone. Aoife McMahon’s narration is faultless as always.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Dreams and family Dramas

This started off slowly then once I worked out all the characters are it was plain sailing. The close knit family full of the usual bickering etc host a surprise party for their parents. Lots of good humour and sadness then a confession by the Mother makes everyone look at them in a different light. The confession means that one member of the family is about to find out more than they want to know. The fallout and repercussions make others in the family reassess their lives and decisions and actions.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great read

Well rounded characters, good plot,very enjoyable story . good narrator. first time I read Sheila Flanagan but will read more soon

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • R
  • 20-07-15

Pleasant read!

Where does My Mother's Secret rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

It's a very easy enjoyable read, a little predictable in places but still very good reading.

What did you like best about this story?

The different family members views of the secret and it's impact on them throughout their lives.

What does Aoife McMahon bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

She always gives a strong performance and her voices for the characters are so good!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Too predictable for me

Well read by Aoife but too simple a tale.
I have enjoyed Sheila O’Flanagan’s books before but this was not one of her best.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A nice warm story

Easy to listen to as always by this narrator. Story was okay...not as dramatic as some of the authors other books but enjoyable just the same.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous

Lovely lovely book
Absolutely relaxing read
From start to finish you feel like part of the family.
Was so sad when it finished
We really need part 2.
Xx

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Easy listening

The narrators voice is perfect for the style of book and the book is easy to listen to relaxing by a pool with a lot of distractions