Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

"Cara took a deep breath and let it out slowly. ‘She’s not just my daughter,’ she said as she turned in her seat to face Jack. This man she had once loved, but who she hadn’t seen for nearly five years. ‘Sophie is your daughter, too.'" 

It is past 10 o’clock on a cold Friday night when Rebecca and her husband Jack’s doorbell rings. Outside is a woman who introduces herself as Jack’s ex-girlfriend, Cara. And she’s holding the hand of a shivering, blue-eyed, four-year-old girl who she claims is Jack’s daughter. 

Rebecca is shocked to discover he has a child from his last relationship - even one he hadn’t known about. Because becoming parents isn’t part of their life plan. They like children, but they also love their freedom and spending time together uninterrupted; the way that, if they wanted to, they could travel the world at a moment’s notice. 

But Cara needs them. Because Cara has a devastating secret that she can’t tell anyone yet. Not even her daughter. A secret with the power to change all of their lives. 

A secret that will ultimately mean Rebecca has to ask herself - could she find it in herself to welcome her husband’s child into her home and into her heart? 

A heartbreaking and powerful emotional women’s fiction novel about love, friendship, and what it truly means to be a parent, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult, and Kate Hewitt. 

©2020 Emma Robinson (P)2020 Bookouture, an Imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about My Husband's Daughter

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

hundreds dsughter

a very interesting story very realistic and ubpredictable which had me hooked from start to finish

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Easy listen

I listened to ‘ My Silent Daughter’ and enjoyed it. So I bought this. Well read and an interesting and well written book. Worth the listen

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent; Gripping

The story flowed just like my tears did towards the end of this gripping sensitively written story. I thoroughly recommend it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a wonderful story

What a wonderful story, very emotional, great characters, a story that had me gasping at moments , stunning , loved it, beautifully narrated .

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Shon Hart
  • Shon Hart
  • 29-05-21

Completely captivating!

I never ever write reviews though I rely on them heavily when selecting my next listen. This book absolutely gripped my mind then heart! I will think of the characters for a long while to come. You won’t regret this listen!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 15-03-21

Brilliant Novel!

I don’t have time to read or even hear a novel, but the the title caught my sight and I got the audio book. The narrator was captivating, I was not able to put it down and in two days I hear the whole novel. I cried, I laugh and I really loved it. A great read, just enough of all the good things in a great plot to keep the reader on edge.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 15-05-21

Good one!

Not at all what I expected it to be, lots of twist and turns!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Stinky44
  • Stinky44
  • 20-04-21

My Husband's Daughter

Meh.... I was very underwhelmed by the story and the characters. Stock characters and too predictable 🙄. I cannot recommend to anyone. 😒

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JODI BURNS
  • JODI BURNS
  • 26-03-21

Captivating

This book was so heartwarming
I cried, but my heart was full with so many emotions!! Just a really good story! Loved it

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for G.
  • G.
  • 16-01-21

Movie worthy

I really enjoyed listening to this book.... especially when I realized it was not a typical story.
I wasn’t prepared for the route it took but was pleasantly surprised to see how quickly I was hooked into it.
I would highly recommend this book!