Try an audiobook on us

Mr Doubler Begins Again

Narrated by: Anna Benting
Length: 13 hrs and 58 mins
5 out of 5 stars (4 ratings)
Regular price: £14.49
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Baked, mashed, boiled or fried, Mr Doubler knows his potatoes. But the same can’t be said for people. Since he lost his wife, he’s been on his own at Mirth Farm - and that suits Doubler just fine. Crowds are for other people; the only company he needs are his potato plants and his housekeeper, Mrs Millwood, who visits every day.
 

So when Mrs Millwood is taken ill, it ruins everything - and Mr Doubler begins to worry that he might have lost his way. But could the kindness of strangers be enough to bring him down from the hill?
 

Mr Doubler Begins Again is a nostalgic celebration of food, friendship, kindness, and second chances, perfect for fans of Rachel Joyce and Joanna Cannon.  

©2019 Seni Glaister (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic reviews

"A sheer delight - it will make you laugh and cry in equal measure. Charming beyond belief." (Sunday Times best-selling author Veronica Henry)

"Mr Doubler Begins again is a delight. I guarantee it will make you smile. It might even make you laugh out loud." (Van Is Reading

More from the same

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One of my new favourite books!

Loved all ( or most) of the characters. Full of wise words yet real and grounded. Great narrator.
Enjoyed every minute.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • me
  • 13-03-19

Excellent, fabulous, wonderful

Wow, I heard this book being reviewed on the radio, and thought it sounded interesting.
it was an absolute delight to listen.
The crafting of the plot and the characters was spot on. Gentle, funny and bittersweet at the same time.
I can't think of anything to compare it to, its an absolute stand alone gem.
My life feels richer for having listened to this story. I recommend it most highly.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely Brilliant

This is a wonderful book with extensive insights into human relationships and feelings. It is beautifully read by Anna Benting and I would recommend it to everyone.