Listen free for 30 days

Mozart in the Jungle

Sex, Drugs, and Classical Music
Narrated by: Amanda Ronconi
Length: 12 hrs and 22 mins
3.5 out of 5 stars (7 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

In the tradition of Anthony Bourdain's Kitchen Confidential and Gelsey Kirkland's Dancing on My Grave, Mozart in the Jungle delves into the lives of the musicians and conductors who inhabit the insular world of classical music.

In a book that inspired the Amazon original series starring Gael Garcia Bernal and Malcolm McDowell, oboist Blair Tindall recounts her decades-long professional career as a classical musician, from the recitals and Broadway orchestra performances to the secret life of musicians who survive hand to mouth in the backbiting New York classical music scene, trading sexual favors for plum jobs and assignments in orchestras across the city. Tindall and her fellow journeymen musicians often play drunk, high, or hopelessly hungover, live in decrepit apartments, and perform in hazardous conditions. These are working-class musicians who schlep across the city between low-paying gigs, without health-care benefits or retirement plans--a stark contrast to the rarefied experiences of overpaid classical musician superstars.

An incisive, no-holds-barred account, Mozart in the Jungle is the first true, behind-the-scenes look at what goes on backstage and in the Broadway pit.

©2005 Blair Tindall (P)2015 Audible Inc.

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for M. S. Cohen
  • M. S. Cohen
  • 17-01-16

Entertaining, but with long pedantic sections

First, I discovered this book after seeing the two seasons of the Amazon TV series. This book is NOTHING like that. But more about that later.

If you are coming to this book without having seen the Amazon series, you will not be confused. The story is of a young musician, very talented it would seem, who moves to NYC, lives in a run-down apartment building, and makes her way through the world of classical music, with a side trip to Broadway orchestras.

The story is somewhat interesting, but the author shows her journalism roots (rather than entertainment) by interjecting dry statistics from newspapers, magazines, and government sources, on the state of classical music in the country.

But even the humanity of the story feels dry. Several characters appear throughout the book and we get to see their lives change. One of her friends has a very serious heart condition. The book takes us through the drama of all his operations and then decline. But there isn't any feeling to the story. We don't care.

Other characters feel just a dry. The author has a tendency to rank the quality of her friend's lives as to what kind of apartment they have, who they are married to, and what kind of music they create. The author eventually leaves the classical music field for journalism when she realizes she doesn't want to live in her apartment building after the age of 40. This is not how you create an empathetic character.

As far as the sex and drugs, they're in there, with a lot of booze on the side. I think we are supposed to be shocked that classical musicians, considered such a stiff and stuffy group, would smoke dope, snort cocaine, performed stoned, and sleep around with married people.

Sadly these are all the people the author seems to know.

But even these scandalous-sounding stories come out without any feeling. We don't care if someone plays stoned one night. Or a $10,000 flute is stolen from a restaurant. Or they do crossword puzzles in the pit of a Broadway orchestra.

The story ends with the author's cautions against sending children into music schools if they're not going to be able to get jobs in an industry that is losing employment. I agree that kids should not learn to play the oboe if they only want to do it to be a professional musician. Obviously someone as talented as the author had to leave because there wasn't enough work. But what about the joy of learning to make music? Or the discipline of learning an instrument. Or the fun of banging on the drum in a marching band.

If we listen to the author, all the music in education programs would be cancelled.

It's a shame, though, that the author stopped her story shortly after leaving classical music. A quick search on Google shows she's had quite the amazing life since then with restraining orders, fake marriage, and mental problems. Now THAT'S a story I would love to have read.

Now, for anyone who has seen the Amazon series and wants to get more about that story? Forget it! This book has as much to do with the Amazon show as a map of Texas does to the series "Dallas."

That's not to say you won't enjoy this book. It's just that they are totally different.

Same thing the other way round. If you have listened to this book, you'll be surprised at how little of it is in the series. The series has concocted characters that are not at all in this book. The characters in the series are interesting. But I'm really surprised they share the same title.

21 of 21 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 18-10-15

Could not finish

This might have been a better book with a different performer. She read too slowly and I just couldn't connect her with the main character. I may try just reading,it rather than listening.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for GothamReader
  • GothamReader
  • 10-04-15

Disappointed by Narration

This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

I was really looking forward to listening to this story after watching the Series, but just couldn't make it past the narrator.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Martin W
  • Martin W
  • 16-10-16

Too much information??

Blair Tindall tells all about the arts behind the scenes. I thought the narrator was very much right for the part. I had no trouble believing what Tindall says went on. In my experience, a lot more goes on than people talk about.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for TheHasselhoff
  • TheHasselhoff
  • 13-04-15

MITJ or "How I Slept My Way to the New York Phil"

Tindall's overall effort in this book is to make the point that the classical music scene in America has changed in the last 50 years; and that schools and conservatories are turning out too many new students in relation to available jobs in the market. Excellent point. However she arrives at this at this point by way of chapters and chapters of dull and uninteresting stories and anecdotes. Tindall tries to decorate her stories with inane details such as what she was wearing or what color the sky was or what food she ordered at a restaurant, but we as the readers are left with little real substance, and also to wonder how much of the story presented as fact is really just a construct.

Tindall describes her time at a music Conservatory, how she got to New York, and her experience as a freelance musician was like. Through example after example she to explains that most of her big breaks in her music career came from sleeping with someone important, then goes on to tell the readers about how unsustainable a career in music is. She also spends an absurd amount of time talking about reed making and how bad she was at it.

As a musician I was excited to get in to this book, but was left a bit disappointed. There is a lot of filler in the book that only serves to make a few interesting experiences and a social/political observation into a something she can sell as a "book".

9 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for jacob
  • jacob
  • 19-10-16

Very interesting!

Kept my attention while doing mundane tasks and working out. It was extremely informational, which was fun and nice at times, and kind of boring at others. All and all a very well rounded book, that I'll suggest to friends interested in music.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Joanna
  • Joanna
  • 25-04-19

7 chapters in and I still have no connection

This book spends a tremendous amount of time weaving in boring facts about the orchestra business with a complete lack of plot. There are no characters developing, there are no meaningful relationships and as a result it’s very dull fiction.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jaime Gallo
  • Jaime Gallo
  • 31-01-19

increible historia aunque no te guste la musica

que buen libro, que buena manera de llevar la historia. a mí me gustó por qué está súper entretenida pero más por que aprendí mucho de una industria que no conozco y ante ojos de todos es glamorosa. lo súper recomiendo

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lisa E.
  • Lisa E.
  • 30-01-19

not easy to get through

This was a book club selection and that was the only reason I finished it.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mr. Zachary Katz
  • Mr. Zachary Katz
  • 13-01-19

I'm sorry, this reader is awful

I usually try to be positive - I'm a huge fan of the series, and I like the content so far, but I'll never be able to get through this reader... She pauses in weird places, like after every line of dialogue, and has a kind of sharp (New York?) accent. Anyhow it's terrible. No idea if the book is any good - I couldn't get past the beginning.