Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

For all no-mercy heroines over 40!

From the five time winner of Best Paranormal Romance Series (Knights of Black Swan), a hot and humorous new series by New York Times and USA Today best-selling author, Victoria Danann.

The day after my 43rd birthday, my husband announced he was trading me in - his words, not mine. The news was unwelcome at the time, but honestly? I needed a good goosing to get up and find my way to the door.

So I was freed from the giant manual of expectations authored by my ex. That was the good news. The flip side was less happy. Due to living in a state not friendly to discarded wives, I was also relieved of the financial "security" I'd spent a lifetime accruing.

Starting over? I didn't plan on it. Didn't see it coming. But pulling a sheet over my head and waiting for the end didn't seem like my style. Granted. I wasn't sure what my style was because I hadn't thought about freedom of expression since I was twenty.

I'd never been a fan of optimistic adages like "it's not too late", but that was before my life was divided into two parts; everything that came before the shoes and everything after. The red shoes shot me with a lightning bolt of attitude adjustment and thrust me head first into an adventure that was unforeseeable to say the least. If you'd told me what my life was going to be like, I would have used every synonym for crazy you've ever heard.

On an ordinary day, should I ever experience one again, I manage the curious goods and antiques shop I "inherited" in a tiny, picturesque English village in Cumbria, where the world of magic lives side by side with the mundane. But eight times a year, I spend a week mediating the disputes of magic kind. Dignitaries and lowborn alike. Odd or not, two of the most attractive males imaginable are finding me and my magical authority sexy.

It may be too late for super shiny hair, going without a bra, or sleeping eight hours without a potty break. But it seems that it's not too late for navigating magical politics, expatriating, romance, and saving the world.

Perfect for fans of KF Breene, Shannon Mayer, Elizabeth Hunter, Darynda Jones, and Lucia Ashta.

©2020 Victoria Danann (P)2020 7th House Publishing, Imprint of Andromeda LLC

What listeners say about Midlife Magic: A Paranormal Women's Fiction Novel

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Needs refining

The story's not bad, although the "romance" element is leaning heavily of the usual sickening overused tropes (he's devastatingly handsome, incredibly powerful, and couldn't possibly be interested in her... could he? - {GACK!})

The author needs to research English terminology/phrasing and use of language better so English characters aren't referring to cars as "automobiles" and "autos" and don't use lines like, "Chatting me up," in the American meaning rather than the English meaning.

Also, some her character naming could use work - for example, "Brad" is a very American name. Yes, no doubt it IS used in the UK, but it's not common and it SOUNDS so all-American. Also, he managed to get himself listed among the attendees of the housewarming party that happened some time after he had died, so continuity could be better.

The narrator needs to check the pronunciation of names like Aisling ("ASH" is the first part, not "Ayes" ask a genuine Irish Aisling, or look it up online), although I only cringed at the accents in a few places.

Not bad but could do with refining.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

half a book

this book is way too short and leaves one feeling like it is only just starting when it ends. having bought it with a token I am left feeling conned

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Rita Hayworth Comes to England

I received this audiobook in exchange for an honest review. I’ve read/listened to a few of the Fab13 Midlife books and although they all seem to start in a similar way (a woman in her 40’s divorced or separated and starting her life over again), I’m amazed at how each of the Fab13 authors create a totally different adventure. This is no exception and I enjoyed meeting Rita, her talking car and watching her accept the role of magistrate whilst also bringing the town’s people together. There wasn’t really any action in this book, it set the scene and the world building. I did love that this was set in England but there were a few minor issues in the description of food (things we don’t say in England like broiled fish) and I enjoyed the easy listening voice of Michelle Moss. However, her English accents were a little distracting at times and weren’t very authentic which is why I gave this 4 stars! It will be interesting to see where Rita goes from here!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Shoe Monger
  • Shoe Monger
  • 26-02-21

If only this story happened to me

After Rita Hayworth's husband decides he was leaving her for a younger woman - the story starts Rita on her own journey. Rita's character is skeptical with her new found fortune and family but who wouldn't be? Rita finds out she's inherited a small fortune and estate in England but it comes with a catch -

Eight times a year, Rita convenes over a court as a human with no power of her own, on magic folk and their disputes.

This story was like a warm cuppa tea at the end of a day - it was fun, creative in a paranormal way, and leaves you feeling satisfied.

While I didn't find Michella Moss put a lot of tonal changes in her voice (deeper mens voice from women) from character to character, she was articulate and narrated the story with the right lilt so you knew what the characters were feeling and could empathize with them.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for C. Whitehurst
  • C. Whitehurst
  • 16-01-21

Midlife magic

Fun story but I had to finish it reading. The narrator seems flat to me and did nothing to separate the characters from one another.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lynda
  • Lynda
  • 02-06-21

Great idea, but needed more

I love this idea, I think it ended at a wrong place. it was kinda like getting a banana split without toppings. I'm going to get the next book and hope it makes up the difference.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for NYIDGIRL
  • NYIDGIRL
  • 30-05-21

Not great, very slow

Very slow story, struggled to finish, no big plot problems other than her struggle to accept something that seemed to good to be true and move on from an ex she hadn't cared about for years anyway.. Maybe following books would be faster now that the initial baseline story has been established, however I won't be listening for fear they'll be dull too. It was also distracting to listen to narrator supposedly as the main American character say a few words with a Canadian or UK inflection (i.e. such as how she pronounced the words process and sorry). She didn't say them all the time, but when she did it's enough to doubt the main character as someone who really grew up in America.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gail
  • Gail
  • 26-05-21

good story,only so-so narration

The story is pretty good,Definately entertaining but the narrator needs to practice. She got her accents down but not the voices. She did the main characters ok but I really couldn't tell the difference (male or female even!) with the rest.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Meggan
  • Meggan
  • 25-05-21

A good read

I loved the storyline and concept, however I prefer a strong lead who isn't so self deprecating. having said that, I'll probably keep reading😁

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lora P.
  • Lora P.
  • 11-05-21

Loved this book

This was an excellent story that kept me engaged and wanting to know more. Looking guard to reading the next book in the series.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tracy
  • Tracy
  • 11-05-21

Mostly clean romance

Nice book this book is really 3.5 stars. I had to struggle to get past the first few chapters then the story picked up.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tequilasun
  • Tequilasun
  • 08-05-21

A world to visit

his series is a bit different than the others which is good. I enjoyed the humor and characters. A world filled with a little magic or a lot and ever fantastical beast you could think of. So far a vampire and fae to name a few. I love Rita and how she takes a chance on a new beginning and a new world. Love Keir! I enjoyed this story very much and hope to read more of the series and see what happens next! I got to listen to a new narrator as well and she did incredible with the accents. Even her deep voice for the men were well done. Thank you V for writing! xo

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jeff
  • Jeff
  • 02-06-21

Fun story

A very fun and unique paranormal story of a magical adventure. Love the characters and storyline that make you feel like you are part of it. The narrator did a fantastic job with all the different characters. Can't wait for more. Highly recommended.