Try an audiobook on us

Life or Death

Narrated by: Damian Lynch
Length: 9 hrs and 34 mins
5 out of 5 stars (3 ratings)
Regular price: £14.99
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Never forget. Never forgive. 

As a detective in the Metropolitan police, Zac is no stranger to murder cases, but this one is different. This is his daughter’s murder. Years after Amelia died, Zac is still trying to trace the police officer involved in his daughter’s death. And whilst Zac is prepared to break every rule to find the man responsible, his young and ambitious deputy, Kat, is working on a high-profile case of her own. But she knows Zac is keeping secrets from his team, so she’s following his every move. When one of Zac’s informants is killed, he knows he’s close to catching his man, but before he can act, he receives a call about his son which blows his world apart.... And this time, he knows he’ll stop at nothing to save his family. 

A gripping and addictive crime thriller for fans of Lee Child, Mark Billingham and Mark Dawson, Life or Death is a gripping thriller that will have you listening into the night. 

©2019 Chris Merritt (P)2019 Audible, Ltd

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

It's Not Life or Death . . .

. . . it's more important than that. From the stunning prologue through to its exciting ending this is another excellent instalment in this series. I've been looking forward to this one for a while and it proved to be worth the wait. Merritt has created a thoroughly rounded character in Zac Boateng with a very engaging background. This one takes the back story that had been brewing very nicely in the background and runs off with it. Boateng's career, life and family are all sucked into a vortex of crime and corruption as he joins a multi-discipline team to investigate murder.

I found it genuinely engaging and it moved fast. Of course, if you are going to bring London, its criminal underworld and police to life there are few better narrators than Damian Lynch and he proves that point once again here with a performance of great authenticity.

In this one, Merritt plays a lot of the cards he had dealt into his hand with the two earlier books, the mystery of his daughter's untimely death, his mysterious nemesis 'Kaiser' and some of the earlier characters from his past. They are all used well to bring together an excellent thriller with, dare I use the reviewer's cliche, a gripping finale!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful