Listen free for 30 days

Liars

Narrated by: Alison Garner
Length: 13 hrs and 1 min
4 out of 5 stars (47 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Trust me if you dare....

One freezing winter’s night, Jenny Holloway’s mother falls to her death in a terrible accident. Grief-stricken, Jenny leans on new friend David Crane, as the police hint at murder.

Handsome, clever, and always calm, David knows just how to handle the police, how to protect Jenny and make her smile again. But then, David seems to have answers for just about everything.

Soon, Jenny begins to question what really happened that night.

The search for the truth will follow a dark and twisting path into the past, through doors that Jenny thought had closed forever....

A shocking psychological thriller about the lies we tell ourselves, perfect for fans of The Couple Next Door and The Girl on the Train.

©2018 Frances Vick (P)2018 Bookouture

More from the same

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    4

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Unusual

Quite a complicated and unusual plot well narrated. Lots of twists which surprised me!! Well worth a listen!!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Originality

The story is a slow starter and to be honest I was tempted to give it up, but I'm so glad I didn't as the story developed into a fantastically complex spiders web of deception where I was never sure of the next turn.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very good

Enjoyed the story, but found the narrator a little monotone at times, sadly. But otherwise, very good story and well written

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • MR
  • 31-01-18

Great Narrator! ++++

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Yes it's very engaging and the person reading it really paints a picture.

What did you like best about this story?

The twists and turns. Also the character were great!

What does Alison Garner bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

Her voice is like velvet to my ears. Could listen to her all day. Great personification of the characters too. She made this a most enjoyable and excellent listen. More of her please!

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Absolutely.

Any additional comments?

Loved it. Particularly the narrator's voice. Very pleasing.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Dire narration

I really persevered with this one as I love the author, but one more minute of “Jenny’s” breathy, barely there voice would have had me running for the hills (if we weren’t on lockdown!). Other voices were ok and I’m sure there are many who like the narration, but I couldn’t stomach it. I wonder if authors listen to an example of the narrators of their books as some must lose a lot of income with returned books due to substandard narration. When I have to keep rewinding because my concentration has drifted, I know it’s time to give up.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow. what a twist

Firstly , the criticism. I didn't enjoy the narration., I found it boring and lacking inflection. However, the storyline was great. Without giving too much away, the main character had me feeling sorry for her which she clearly did not deserve. The book is almost written in two halves, and the second half is when you discover what the main character is about.

well written and worth the credit.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Narrator driving me mad

I listen to loads of audio books and rarely have I struggled so much with a narrator , the quiet timid voice used for the central character is so irritating I think I am going to give up for the first time ever and read this on kindle , such a shame but not for me

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

Very good!

I enjoyed this story. The characters are very good, even though it can be whiny at times. Enjoyed the narrator. A roller coaster ride until the very last word!😮😊😀

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Mid-range thriller

That says it all. It’s a fairly off the peg thriller of the kind that abounds. Everything is not what it seems...kind of standard fare with this genre so the “twist” was hardly untelegraphed. The title indicated the change in perception of characters you knew was lying ahead. Nothing to rave about here but I’ve listened to worse. Mildly irritating narration - I hate the wistful edge so many female narrators adopt - but again I’ve heard worse.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

average book ruined by the narrator

The book would have been okay if it wasn't for the narrator speeding up and slowing down her dialogue, then moving closer and further away from the microphone with such annoying irregularity that I almost stopped listening halfway through.
The story was okay, nothing special hence my rating. There's much better out there in the Audible library!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for marian gibbs
  • marian gibbs
  • 27-02-18

Don't give up

For me it seemed to start out slow and then it started to pick up a third of the way into the book,then it got really interesting.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Brandi
  • Brandi
  • 31-01-18

cant finish this book - long, boring, terrible!!

awful, boring, long..... omg, terrible! please dont waste your time or credits. it goes, and goes and goes and says nothing!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jacalyn Taback
  • Jacalyn Taback
  • 05-01-19

Dissatisfied

Hard to Follow story line. Too much back and Forth. Very confusing did not like.