Regular price: £22.89

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

Trust me if you dare....

One freezing winter’s night, Jenny Holloway’s mother falls to her death in a terrible accident. Grief-stricken, Jenny leans on new friend David Crane, as the police hint at murder.

Handsome, clever, and always calm, David knows just how to handle the police, how to protect Jenny and make her smile again. But then, David seems to have answers for just about everything.

Soon, Jenny begins to question what really happened that night.

The search for the truth will follow a dark and twisting path into the past, through doors that Jenny thought had closed forever....

A shocking psychological thriller about the lies we tell ourselves, perfect for fans of The Couple Next Door and The Girl on the Train.

©2018 Frances Vick (P)2018 Bookouture

More from the same

Narrator

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Originality

The story is a slow starter and to be honest I was tempted to give it up, but I'm so glad I didn't as the story developed into a fantastically complex spiders web of deception where I was never sure of the next turn.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Unusual

Quite a complicated and unusual plot well narrated. Lots of twists which surprised me!! Well worth a listen!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very good

Enjoyed the story, but found the narrator a little monotone at times, sadly. But otherwise, very good story and well written

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • MR
  • 31-01-18

Great Narrator! ++++

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Yes it's very engaging and the person reading it really paints a picture.

What did you like best about this story?

The twists and turns. Also the character were great!

What does Alison Garner bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

Her voice is like velvet to my ears. Could listen to her all day. Great personification of the characters too. She made this a most enjoyable and excellent listen. More of her please!

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Absolutely.

Any additional comments?

Loved it. Particularly the narrator's voice. Very pleasing.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Mid-range thriller

That says it all. It’s a fairly off the peg thriller of the kind that abounds. Everything is not what it seems...kind of standard fare with this genre so the “twist” was hardly untelegraphed. The title indicated the change in perception of characters you knew was lying ahead. Nothing to rave about here but I’ve listened to worse. Mildly irritating narration - I hate the wistful edge so many female narrators adopt - but again I’ve heard worse.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

average book ruined by the narrator

The book would have been okay if it wasn't for the narrator speeding up and slowing down her dialogue, then moving closer and further away from the microphone with such annoying irregularity that I almost stopped listening halfway through.
The story was okay, nothing special hence my rating. There's much better out there in the Audible library!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story but wish I had read the book

Really liked the story but nearly gave up several times because the narrator just didn’t work for me. She has a great voice for the right book but think a different narrator or maybe two would have brought the story to life. I listen to a lot of audio books and would consider the narrator again for a different type of book but it did get aggravating listening to her.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really Great Story Fantastic Twist

I really enjoyed this book and the great twist which I really did not see coming. The characters were well drawn and interesting. In part one I kept thinking why is a counsellor being drawn into this relationship with David, but all became clear!!!
The only downside was the narration which I found intensely irritating, the whispery dialogue and the faux posh voice was a real turn off. Apart from this loved this book.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • marian gibbs
  • 27-02-18

Don't give up

For me it seemed to start out slow and then it started to pick up a third of the way into the book,then it got really interesting.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Brandi
  • 31-01-18

cant finish this book - long, boring, terrible!!

awful, boring, long..... omg, terrible! please dont waste your time or credits. it goes, and goes and goes and says nothing!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful