Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • Letting in the Light

  • The Spindrift Trilogy
  • By: Charlotte Betts
  • Narrated by: Emma Powell
  • Length: 10 hrs and 26 mins
  • 5.0 out of 5 stars (8 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Letting in the Light cover art

Letting in the Light

By: Charlotte Betts
Narrated by: Emma Powell
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Lost Daughter of Venice cover art
The Apothecary's Daughter cover art
The House in Quill Court cover art
The Palace of Lost Dreams cover art
The Dressmaker's Secret cover art
Millie cover art
The Midnight Rose cover art
A Thimble for Christmas cover art
The Memory Box: A beautiful, timeless, absolutely heartbreaking love story and World War Two historical fiction cover art
Winter’s Daughter cover art
The Lady of the Loch cover art
Invisible by Day cover art
The Murders at Fleat House cover art
The Country Girl cover art
One Moonlit Night cover art
The Seven Sisters cover art

Summary

From the award-winning author of The Apothecary's Daughter comes the next book in the Spindrift Trilogy - a beautifully evocative family drama, perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore, Lucinda Riley and Elizabeth Jane Howard's Cazalet Chronicles.

1914 Spindrift House, Cornwall

Edith Fairchild's good-for-nothing husband, Benedict, deserted her when their children were babies. Now that the children are almost adult, Edith and Pascal, her faithful lover of two decades, are planning to leave their beloved Spindrift artists' community and finally be together.

But an explosive encounter between Benedict and Pascal forces old secrets into the light, causing rifts in the happiness and security of the community. Then an assassin's bullet fired in faraway Sarajevo sets in motion a chain of events that changes everything.

Under the shadow of war, the community struggles to eke out a living. The younger generation enlist or volunteer to support the war effort, facing dangers that seemed unimaginable in the golden summer of 1914.

When it's all over, will the Spindrift community survive an unexpected threat? And will Edith and Pascal ever be able to fulfil their dream?

©2022 Charlotte Betts (P)2022 Hachette Audio UK

What listeners say about Letting in the Light

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great finale to a wonderful trilogy

I'm going to miss the characters of Spindrift house, I have enjoyed getting to know them all. Have loved all 3 books and this one has been as good as the others. Perfectly narrated throughout, each one as enchanting as the last. Such good books, Charlotte Betts is a wonderful writer!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!