Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

One hot summer’s evening, 10-year-old Piper Chase went for a bike ride. She never came home....

Piper cycles off one hot Oklahoma evening for a sleepover with her new friend, Miley, from summer camp. But when she doesn’t come home, her grandparents raise the alarm. Their little angel is missing, last seen on her pink bicycle, heading toward the dark woods on Black Heart Lane. 

Detective Kimberley King knows that the first 24 hours in a missing-child investigation are the most critical, but with no witnesses, and darkness falling in the small town of Dead Woman Crossing, she begins to fear the worst. She longs to find the little girl with wide blue eyes and an infectious smile, but when her team discovers Piper’s body in a woodland clearing, lying on a bed of moss, something inside her dies. 

In a town where people leave their doors unlocked, Kimberley is terrified that another little girl might be snatched, and that night she holds her own daughter tighter. Desperate to find the monster who took the life of an innocent child, Kimberley chases down all the leads she has. The summer camp counsellor, who got too close to Piper and Miley and lost his job. Piper’s shifty uncle, who arrived back in town the day she disappeared....

Then she gets a call that chills her to the bone. Miley has gone missing. Has the killer who stole one little angel just taken another? 

A gripping, heart-wrenching crime thriller that will have you on the edge of your seat, holding your breath, Last Day Alive is perfect for fans of Rachel Caine, Lisa Regan, and Carol Wyer. 

©2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd. (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about Last Day Alive

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 17-05-21

A Must read!!

loved all the chapters within the book. The twists were so good and the end was terrific! The narrator also did an excellent job. Cannot wait for the 3rd book within this series. Excellent job done by the author as usual! This book is highly recommended!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Keishia Short
  • Keishia Short
  • 30-04-21

So good!

I was hooked from the beginning! The Narrator did an amazing job and as always, J.R. Adler did not disappoint!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sam
  • Sam
  • 24-04-21

Read it!

I absolutely adore this series. After reading the first book to the series, I was hopeful that the second wouldn’t disappoint. And it sure didn’t! I finished it in 2 days because I was hooked. I can’t wait for more to come out! The narrator once again did a phenomenal job, you could feel and understand each character and the seriousness or delicacy of a situation on what come about within the story. I highly recommend!!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Corinne
  • Corinne
  • 21-04-21

She's never disappoints...

This book has been in my pre-orders for a while.
I bought 'The Perfect Marriage' last year on a whim, and WOW!! I hadn't heard of this author before but after reading, listening to, this I was obsessed with finding more by her. That's when I found 'Dead Woman Crossing' and holy crap was I addicted. Although I was disappointed that there wasn't more by her I added this to my pre-orders and waited patiently, sort of, for 4/20.
It was definitely worth the wait. It's like I could picture this whole story playing out in my mind's eye. Twists and turns. Every time I thought I knew where this was going, BAM... Plot twist.

I don't want to give anything away but do yourself a favor and check this one out. You can listen to this as a stand alone but I recommend reading book #1 so you have a better idea as to the names and events.

JR Adler/Jeneve Rose has definitely shot up to one of my top 3 favorite authors. I can't wait for her next one!!!!