Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A gripping thriller about secrets in a seemingly perfect family, from the author of the equally twisty psychological thriller Friends Like These.

You're at home with your family. You think you're safe. You're wrong....

Ava's life is the kind other people envy: loving husband, great kids, beautiful house. Until the night that a violent home invasion plunges her world into chaos.

In the aftermath of the attack, Ava needs answers to two questions. Who has targeted her family? And why?

But things aren't adding up. She is starting to suspect that she doesn't know the people closest to her. That someone knows more than they are letting on. That everything she thought she knew about them was a lie.

Ava needs to know what happened that night. And to do that, she must decide who she can really trust. Because she's about to discover that her family is in more danger than she ever imagined....

For fans of Rachel Abbott, Laura Marshall and Cara Hunter, In Her Eyes is a brilliantly twisty thriller about the secrets that lie behind a seemingly perfect life.

©2019 Sarah Alderson (P)2019 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

What listeners say about In Her Eyes

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Oh the many layered plot twists and turns ... FAB!

I was initially a little put off by an American narrator as I had imagined this book was set in the UK, but I stuck with it and began to really enjoy it and the narration. Central character was solid and not wimpy or slow to catch on as in so many mystery thrillers. I did not guess the plot at all and loved the many well placed misleads and red herrings and the way the plot was cleverly deconstructed by many different perspectives until the satisfying well thought out ending. Many can write intriguing beginnings and fascinating unfathomable mysteries ... but keeping up the tension and keeping the reader gripped until presenting a satisfying reveal is the real trick and sadly becoming somewhat of a lost art form in so many thrillers leaving the reader thinking why did I bother! Not so with the very talented Sarah Alderson - Bravo - can't wait for the next one! PS- Not at all sure what the reviewer who mentioned political views being forced down their throat meant as I heard none so either they were thinking of another book or all of it went over my head, so please don't let that put you off buying this gripping, suspenseful, tightly plotted thriller.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

In Her Eyes

Really enjoyed this. Binged it in just over 2 days. Good reader. Will try another book by Sarah Alderson.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely brilliant

A totally gripping story from the beginning to the very end. There are so many twists and turns, I didn't want it to end.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story telling, how she changed voices. Enjoy

Good book, although one of Ava's favourite lines were " i don't know" that annoying.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Great narrator but storyline a bit meh!

Started off really well but just seemed to drag at certain points. Would still recommend but have listened to better audio books

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

IN HER EYES FANTASTIC

WOW WOW WOW JUST AMAZING GREAT LOVED THIS BOOK DEFINITELY WORTH IT YOU NEED TO READ THIS BOOK IT'S FANTASTIC I WAS HOOKED FROM THE FIRST PAGE LOVED IT, JUST THE BEST BOOK I HAVE LISTENED TO IN A LONG TIME WOW WAS NOT EXPECTING THE ENDING AMAZING

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Doubting your own mind . . . Scary

Gripping from the beginning, good characters, bloody good story line. Each time I thought I was was at the end, the plot twists again. Excellent narrator. do we ever know anyone? Including ourselves??

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for jessica bosarge
  • jessica bosarge
  • 04-03-20

good book, but slow to start

this is a good book. it was kind as low to start. but as I got into it I couldn't stop. so so good.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 06-01-20

okay

Book was actually good, however will not buy anymore from this author. Unfortunately, tired of political and religious views expressed throughout the story ... not sure why authors are willing to alienate readers?

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MA Reviewer
  • MA Reviewer
  • 26-11-19

Gripping Thriller!

Very fast-paced with superb narration. This book did not earn 5 stars from me because I sometimes found the flashbacks confusing and disconcerting. Overall, this title was a great choice and an enjoyable read.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 20-11-19

Not interested in author’s political views

I love audio thriller books to escape from reality. Unfortunately, this author chooses to bash you over the head with political agenda. RETURNING!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for lisa
  • lisa
  • 18-11-19

super good

I felt like I was watching a movie the whole way through! great details and characters!!

2 people found this helpful