Listen free for 30 days

I Know a Secret

Rizzoli & Isles, Book 12
Narrated by: Tanya Eby
Series: Rizzoli and Isles, Book 12
Length: 9 hrs and 9 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (337 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Jane Rizzoli and Maura Isles - the crime-solving duo who inspired the smash hit TNT series - return to investigate the gruesome staged murder of a horror film producer in this edge-of-your-seat thriller.

©2017 Tess Gerritsen (P)2017 Brilliance Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved.

Critic reviews

"Tess Gerritsen and narrator Tanya Eby have scored again in this twelfth suspense novel featuring Detective Jane Rizzoli and Dr. Maura Isles.... Eby, who creates a remarkable range of individual voices to color the characters, employs a warmly gentle narrative voice and an easy pace. They're good choices, designed to keep listeners calm during the expertly crafted harrowing story. Do listen. Just don't listen before bed." (AudioFile)

What members say
Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    180
  • 4 Stars
    109
  • 3 Stars
    35
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    160
  • 4 Stars
    100
  • 3 Stars
    30
  • 2 Stars
    17
  • 1 Stars
    6
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    166
  • 4 Stars
    98
  • 3 Stars
    29
  • 2 Stars
    15
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent story, narrator didn’t do it for me

As always, Tess Gerritsen creates an amazing, enthralling reading experience in her stories. Really enjoyed. This was the first I got any of her stories as an audiobook. The narrators accent really didn’t do it justice and I had trouble understanding some of the time. That said, I would listen to it again.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Rizzoli & Isles masterpiece .

Brilliant book that grabs you in and doesn't let go . Thrilling ,tense and twists & turns aplenty.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

In Awe

incredible!! tess still manages to catch me by surprise! incredible story I was hooked and loved every second of it! literally my draw dropped in sections! 100% recommend!!!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

First trial of audio books

I love this author but I really didn't like the narrator and for me, that detracted from the story

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

one-note performance

a daft but diverting crime drama, rather hampered by a one-note robotic vocal performance. all of the male characters sound identical.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great Thriller

Yet again I am blown away by the twisty, outstanding imagination of Ms Gerritsen. Incredibly well written and constantly keeping me on my toes, this is another, edge of my seat thriller. The story was given life by Tanya Eby's voice acting.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good and bad

Good story, didn't like the narrator. Very wooden, didn't like the pretend voices for each character.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I know a secret

clear narrating and clearly spoken would highly recommend listening to. loved every second of the story

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An excellent and engaging mystery

I listened to this story's audiobook over several days whilst crafting, and several times I found myself just sitting staring out the window, caught up in what was happening in the story instead of what I was doing! An excellent mystery, and I'd definitely recommend it, though not whilst eating, as some bits are a bit gross!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • JB
  • 13-01-19

Twists to the end as usual

Another good book from Tess Gerritsen for fans of Rizzoli and Isles. Plenty of gruesome murders and an intriguing religious twist. an interesting side play with Isles and her mother and several dead ends to traverse before you finally find out who did it. A great story that held my attention from start to finish

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for shelley
  • shelley
  • 16-08-17

The McMartin's reincarnated-WOW!!

Poor Maura. She goes to visit her dying biological mother who tells her that there's a reason she became a medical examiner. Maybe she's more like her mother the serial killer than she wants to admit. Then she gives her an ominous warning.
Meanwhile, a man convicted of various ritualistic (demonic and sexual) crimes against children is released from prison after 20 years. Rizzoli and Isles both believe he is the person committing gruesome ritualistic murders of the now adults, then the children who testified against him. But what if this case put an innocent family in prison ? What if they really didn't commit the crimes they were accused of? What if... hmmm, no spoilers here!
Tanya Eby is one of my favorite women narrators. She does an Excellent job narrating.
This book has my HIGHEST RECOMMENDATION.
If you found this review helpful please indicate so.
Thank You.

45 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Wayne
  • Wayne
  • 22-08-17

Holly, the evil antagonist!

Physician Tess Gerritsen started writing romance novels while on maternity leave from her job in 1987. In 1996 she began writing medical thrillers and in 2001 she released the crime thriller The Surgeon in which Jane Rizzoli appeared as a Boston police detective. The following year she released The Apprentice which added medical examiner Maura Isles to her list of protagonists; and thus the Rizzoli and Isles series, now 12 novels, was born. Then the series became a popular TV series. Along the way she has continued to release occasional standalone suspense mysteries. The 2015 standalone Playing With Fire is my favorite Tess Gerritsen novel.

This book titled I Know a Secret is her latest Rizzoli and Isles release. Detective Jane Rizzoli is in a strong marriage and has a young daughter. The issues in her personal life center around her parents and siblings. Dr. Maura Isles has major family issues, especially with he birth mother (the couple who adopted her are both dead). (Her birth father was a Mafia leader.) Isles has an unusual romantic life in that she is in a long term on and off sexual relationship with a Catholic priest. In this novel it is very much on again. The hard driving Rizzolli and the medical examiner with issues Isles are best friends. Rizzoli's detective partner is a divorced man who is very much still in a relationship with his ex-wife. I write this because all the novels in this series are at least much about the personal lives of the protagonists as the cases being solved.

The case the protagonists are working on concerns very unusual murders that mimic the deaths of some Catholic saints. The background to the case goes back to the murder of a 10 year old girl years ago and to a trial for child molestation. It's complicated, but interesting. Tanya Eby's narration is excellent.



13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for BG
  • BG
  • 20-10-17

Narrator is not skilled & distracts from listening w/pleasure...

The narrator sounds wooden, has a weird cadence, & is uneven in portraying the character w/the same 'accent' throughout the book.
The story itself is good, but the narration deflected my attention away...

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Monica Laird
  • Monica Laird
  • 23-08-17

Amazing as Usual

Tess went dark, but damn its good. Finally we have closure on some character stories.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for katherine
  • katherine
  • 22-08-17

disappointing

an average book. Rizzolis character has disappeared. Moiras romance with the priest ridiculous and demeaning . He's an ass. All in all a bit silly. Used to love these characters

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sue
  • Sue
  • 04-10-17

Narrator is awful

I hate the narrator Tess uses for the books in this series. Maybe because I am used to the characrers in the TV show but I have trouble listening.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 07-09-17

Ugh!!!

Could not get past the horrible narrator and her terrible voice. Sounded kind of computerized. I'll stick with reading

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for C. D. Dennis
  • C. D. Dennis
  • 28-08-17

Lot better than the tv series

It's good to have Jane and Laura back and with an exciting whodunnit. The plot is very good.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Megan
  • Megan
  • 19-08-17

I expected so much more...

Worst book of the series, in my opinion. I was excited for the release and the very disappointed.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tallone
  • Tallone
  • 24-08-17

Fascinating and captivating from page one

Couldn't figure who did it. Thoroughly enjoyable interesting story about how kids stories can be damaging

2 people found this helpful