Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £19.99

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The brilliant debut novel from acclaimed comedian, writer and presenter Miles Jupp.

Clive Hapgood is feeling stuck. The private school he teaches at is consuming his life, no thanks to wretched headteacher Julian Crouch. The gentle country life Clive envisaged has stifled him and left his marriage on the brink. What he needs is a holiday - something to remind him and Helen what life used to be like. But when things don't go to plan, and an incident at school begins to weigh heavy on his head, Clive's life starts to unravel in front of him. Has he got it in him to turn things around, whatever the cost? After all, it's his own time he's wasting.... 

For fans of Jonathan Coe, Mark Watson, Michael Frayn and David Nicholls.

©2021 Miles Jupp (P)2021 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Critic reviews

"The funniest man in Britain has written a wonderful novel. Rejoice!" (Richard Osman)

What listeners say about History

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    83
  • 4 Stars
    48
  • 3 Stars
    35
  • 2 Stars
    26
  • 1 Stars
    18
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    113
  • 4 Stars
    54
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    8
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    72
  • 4 Stars
    35
  • 3 Stars
    38
  • 2 Stars
    25
  • 1 Stars
    27

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it.

A very funny and moving story about a public school, a marriage, and a bang on the head.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Disappointed

I persevered. I'm a fan of Miles Jupp, but this was a tiresome story, and by the denouement, I had given up. The book ended with not so much a bang, or a fizzle, but a whimper. Seven hours of tedium, which got going in the last 5 minutes. No empathy or sympathy for the protagonists

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

History?

A dismal and depressing storyline. As a prospective teacher I would not be inspired by this picture of school life in either the private or state sector. I wonder where the author acquired his experience of teaching.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

fibber in the school

Aspects of ths book were good -the narration and some of the comedic scenes. However, the main character was annoying such that i found it difficult to care about him and I found the other characters lacking in depth or believability Worth a listen but not ss good as his autobiographical Fibber in the Heat as this book seemed to me Jupp attempt to get revenge againat his own privleged schooling.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Very disappointed with this book

I like Miles Jupp, but the story was very poor, the story of a very mundane history teacher, I only hung on to the end for a twist, or something to happen, it didn’t, don’t waste your money, just drivel, sorry

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent and laugh out loud funny

I really enjoyed this easy to listen to book and Miles is an excellent narrator. Well written and insightful and made me laugh out loud at times. Was hoping there were lots of books by Miles so he needs to get a wiggle on and write more please!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Sadly disappointing

I really wanted to enjoy this but it was for the most part more depressing than funny.
There were a few moments where I laughed out loud, and the scene in the chemist's was genuinely funny.
However overall it was pretty mundane and the characters were far from original.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Disappointing

I’m a fan of Miles Jupp but found this book disappointingly dull and predictable. I kept on hoping our hero would turn out to be more interesting than he first appears but no, he stayed self-absorbed and a bit silly throughout, and his over-reactions to trivial problems were just over-reactions, not interesting, insightful or humorous, just annoying. Jupp doesn’t have to be funny just because he’s a comedian, but I’m not sure his novel needs to be so thoroughly downbeat and depressing.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

boring

m
Miles Jupp was excellent as a narrator but the story was boring meaningless rubbish 🗑 sorry l purchased this product

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

surprisingly gripping

Beautifully narrated, a simple but engrossing story of every day life for an ordinary human being. Very enjoyable.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MAstudent
  • MAstudent
  • 21-08-21

Very funny! Very British

Obviously a great listen if you're a Miles Jupp fan! It was perfect entertainment for a long car journey.