Listen free for 30 days

Happy for You

Narrated by: Poppy Royana
Length: 7 hrs and 22 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (2 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

At the age of seven, they're friends. At 14, it's a crush. At 21, love...then heartbreak. At 28, could they be happy again?

Every seven years, Ciara takes part in a study of happiness, together with a group of people born on the same day, including fun-loving Amelia and gorgeous, serious Max. Meeting at the ages of seven, 14, and 21, Ciara forms increasingly intense relationships. Until it all falls apart.

Then, before the next meeting at 28, Max comes back into Ciara’s life unexpectedly. Can Ciara ever be truly happy?

Laugh and cry with this funny, romantic, emotional and uplifting novel. First love, second chances, the study of happiness, and a coming-of-age romance for fans of Paige Toon, Marian Keyes, and Mhairi McFarlane.

©2019 Luci Beach (P)2020 Luci Beach

What listeners say about Happy for You

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Heart-tugging rollercoaster!

WOW! What a premise. This story focuses on participants of a lifelong "happiness study". A totally unique concept for a book, that drew me in from the very start. It is beautiful and funny and dark and intense. Poppy Royana took me on an emotional rollercoaster with her emotive narration, hooking me so completely that I could visualise all the characters and scenarios as though they were people and stories I knew. The narration was flawless and fantastic, the writing was gripping and, as I said, intensely emotional. I loved it. 100% recommended. 5*.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great performance

The narration is excellent of this book, Poppy really shines with this book. The personalities that Poppy brings to these characters is brilliant. I must admit I got a little frustrated with the past/present aspect I was getting a bit confused with where the story was on the timeline. #audiobookobsessionreviewer

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for AudioFan
  • AudioFan
  • 18-07-20

smoldering romance and substance

Not a typical HEA but really better. A great premise, interesting characters with real-world issues, a thoughtful consideration of depression. Good amounts of humor, angst, misunderstandings, and secondary character development. The narrator was bloody brilliant- loved all her charcters' voices!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Barbara B
  • Barbara B
  • 30-05-20

The Secret to Happiness!

Interesting premise-a study in happiness with the participants meeting every 7 years to test and record their feelings and development. It started out slow and deals with so much more angst and frustration over the years that I was almost ready to give up. Their struggle to find happiness is only one of the many emotions the group goes through but ultimately it does have a HEA. I received a free audio copy and I’m happy to leave my honest review. Enjoy!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MommaB
  • MommaB
  • 16-05-20

key to love

I really liked the accents! Great idea for a story and wonderful flow over a girls life. I didn't appreciate the swearing or some of the content.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for I. Ray
  • I. Ray
  • 12-05-20

Enjoyable book to listen to

I enjoyed listening to this book. The author does a great job chronicling their lives and going back and forth between the past and the present. I liked the characters and enjoyed the plot line as well. The narrator makes the words jump right off the pages and brings the characters to life. I enjoyed listening to her smooth voice. I would recommend this book and narrator to others. I am sure to listen or read another book by this author.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bette
  • Bette
  • 03-05-20

Wonderful Story & Narration🎧 Riveting & Heartfelt!

I loved this book, it is a wonderful story, one that is brilliantly told. Luci Beach is a gifted author, I enjoyed her writing style and the unique way she presented and plotted the story, going from the “now” to segment of time in the past, giving you a glimpse of their life during that time before bringing you back to the current. I found the concept of the study very interesting, as well as their meetings. The storylines are original, they grabbed my attention right from the start and held it straight to the end. The characters are likable and easy to relate to, I adored both Ciara and Max from early on, wen they first meet. Almost like they were destined for each other but life is never that simple. The secondary characters were awesome too, loved the scene with the crane, too funny. There is never a dull moment in this book, there is plenty of drama, some great humor, angst, heartfelt moments, heartbreaking ones and a wonderful romance a lifetime in the making. Luci Beach, thank you for this wonderful story and the emotional rollercoaster ride, I hope to see or hear more from you soon. Poppy Royana is a terrific narrator and voice artist. She brings the character to life giving them their voices and personality. She did a great job portraying the characters, capturing and projecting their emotions into her performance. She is an entertaining storyteller and a pleasure to listen to. Thank you for the great listen🎧