Listen free for 30 days

Goodnight Sweetheart

Narrated by: Jaimi Barbakoff
Length: 9 hrs and 55 mins
4.9 out of 5 stars (7 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Can love find a way to overcome hate?

When Frankie’s mother dies, she is sent to live with her aunt Bet in Worthing, Sussex. Life on their farm is happy - for a while. But when World War Two breaks out, Frankie must help her country by signing up to the women’s branch of the British Army.

Soon, she meets Romare, an American Doctor who has come to the UK after facing terrible racism at home. But trouble is stirring in Britain, too, and it falls to Frankie to try to protect him. Can love triumph over a history of hate? Or will Frankie and Romare’s love pay the ultimate sacrifice?

A moving, thought-provoking story, perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Maureen Lee.

©2020 Pam Weaver (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"A heartrending story about mothers and daughters." (Kitty Neale)

"What a terrific read - saga fans everywhere will love it and be asking for more from this talented author." (Annie Groves) 

"The characters are so richly drawn and authentic that they pull the reader along through the story effortlessly. This book is a real page turner, which I enjoyed very much." (Anne Bennett)

What listeners say about Goodnight Sweetheart

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

OMG Another outstanding listen

Loving Pams books, always a good read. Loving the glow of the storytelling and things which are still relevant today!!!!

1 person found this helpful