Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £22.49

Buy Now for £22.49

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

First contact gone wrong....

It was every starship captain’s nightmare, and for Travis Miller, it was his own personal hell.

He’d done everything by the book, but when the Tahni had attacked him and his crew, there was no choice but to return fire and destroy the first alien vessel humans had ever encountered.

Excoriated in the press, his career in shambles, Travis is exiled to a long patrol of the outer colony worlds. Forgotten, except as a bad example...until the Tahni prove him right by declaring war on the human commonwealth.

Now, Travis Miller is the tip of the spear. Humanity’s best hope for turning back an overwhelming assault on human space. Because to the Tahni, humans are infidels and this is a holy war....

Don’t miss the next explosive series from the number-one Amazon best-selling author of Contact Front, Rick Partlow. This is military sci-fi the way it’s meant to be. It’s perfect for fans of Jay Allan, Jasper T. Scott, and Scott Bartlett.

©2021 Rick Partlow (P)2021 Blackstone Publishing

What listeners say about Genesis

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    70
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    65
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    57
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

A lot happening with very little fleshing out

I was hoping to pick up a sci-fi series to fill that void left by the Expanse. What I seemed to find was something that feels (and I can't say for certain) heavily influenced by The Expanse. Not exactly what I'd hoped for, but I pushed on.

I absolutely loved the concept of someone, in this case a mining vessel, stumbling across a rip in space that transports them to another star system. The intricacies that could go into world building and storylines with a start like that got me excited. Which is why I was a little let down when the author decided that time jumps were the best way to get to the next bit in the story he wanted to tell.

This whole book feels like there is an awful lot either going on or that the author wants to happen. Because of this, we get time skips and little bits here and there shoe-horned in at the expense of character development, world-building and any kind of in-depth look at what's truly going on. I'd have enjoyed it more if the entire thing was more a journey of discovery rather than part discovery, part 'this is what we figured out in the past few years so here's a run down of why everything is happening the way it is'.

One of my main gripes is the lack of character development. Other than names, jobs and ranks ... not a great deal goes into fleshing anyone out. I don't honestly remember many of the names other than the odd surname here or there. Which, considering the story is peppered with time jumps, I find it a bit strange that the characters haven't altered/developed at all in the intervening years. Nothing much about them has stayed with me and, regarding the whole novel the same could be said. Other than the opening, and the concept that got me so hooked, nothing much stands out in my memory.

So many people seem to have enjoyed this (at the time of writing, 89% of it's ratings on Amazon are either 4 or 5 star ratings and that's out of a total of 985 ratings). It's just not for me, though. The above issues and there being no obvious reason why the main character was given the opportunities he was given other than 'well, you survived that one time,' just make it a bit too much of an idea running wild than a cohesive story keeping me hooked.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Infuriating cliche aside it’s ok.

But God I hate that old cliche when the protagonist is treated like trash by the higher ups, but then at a click of the fingers wants to please them all again. If it’d been me I’d have told them all to go get f*d and taken retirement/discharge. Yet of course the hero doesn’t do that. Yawn and infuriating. Author - Try harder

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Undiscovered gem

This book is amazing and the best thing I have found on audible so far. The first contact story is similar to prometheus but still original. Epic world building adventure!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for David T.
  • David T.
  • 27-05-21

Six Stars

I’d give Rick Partlow’s new series six stars if I could!
Cronin’s able, talented performance brings an added bonus to Partlow’s newest tour-de-force.
Human, believable characters, imaginative plot lines in a masterfully crafted, fast moving, yet suspenseful work delights the reader/listener.
As highly recommended for fans of great mil sci-fi as Partlow’s preceding series. Added bonus...if you’re new to Partlow’s work, he has a huge backlist of work every bit as good as Genesis. You can spend time there while waiting for ‘next’ book. U

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rick
  • Rick
  • 19-05-22

Cluster F-bombing half way through

Story line was okay with an occasional F bomb until...

Half way through, conversations we're so full of foul language that I couldn't get through it. It is unnecessary, and so is listening to any more.

Disappointed I couldn't finish the story. I hope man kind survives.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 02-06-21

Very entertaining!

An interesting take on a Space Opera. The narration was excellent, world building and filling out of characters was well done.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Robert Farrell
  • Robert Farrell
  • 14-04-22

Wow! Where was this guy's editor?

This was really bad. "It was a dark and stormy night..." bad. In fact, it seems like the winner of a contest where you asked people to parody writing by submitting awful, trite, melodramatic tripe.

If I heard "His/her tone bordered on insubordination..." one more time, I was going to kill myself. And Rick, is a high G burn hard? I don't know. Could you tell us about it ONE MORE TIME.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bradford
  • Bradford
  • 21-06-22

Really?

It doesn’t really matter how the story flows when the space combat writer is so woefully ignorant of how physics actually works they force the same idiocy about the effects of momentum (in absolute error) down your throat over and over until you can barely stop yourself from asking for your money back.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonym
  • Anonym
  • 12-06-22

Good story but horrible editing.

Way too many jumps between characters without any warning. May work for a printed book but not for an audio book. Very hard to follow. But good story though. Not going to buy part 2.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Garry
  • Garry
  • 31-05-22

don't waist your time

bad book not written with intelligence or logic and the narrator is the best part of this book

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for James P.
  • James P.
  • 27-05-22

Not very good

Good story line just not written very well. Author jumps around to much. Hard to follow from one moment to the next.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Robert H Casko
  • Robert H Casko
  • 25-03-22

A bit too much porn.

Someday I will find a scifi where the author doesn't have to force a universe without sexual morality into existance.

I did find it hilarious that the performer did just straight Irish accent in place of a newfoundland accent.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for tom
  • tom
  • 19-03-22

kind of rough

science fiction by english major. combat is too simple for space travel. first contact predictably

1 person found this helpful