Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £8.49

Buy Now for £8.49

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

A stunning new classic from master storyteller Michael Morpurgo in the vein of Private Peaceful and The Butterfly Lion

This is a landmark new novel from the nation's favourite storyteller, set in the unique landscape of the Camargue in the South of France during WW2. There, a young autistic boy lives on his parents' farm among the salt flats and the flamingos that live there. There are lots of things he doesn't understand, but he does know how to heal animals. He loves routine and music, too, and every week he goes to market with his mother, to ride his special horse on the town carousel. 

But then the Germans come, with their guns, and take the town. A soldier shoots a flamingo from the sky, and it falls to earth terribly injured. And even worse is to come: the carousel is damaged, the horses broken. For this vulnerable boy, everything is falling apart. 

Only there's a kind sergeant among the Germans - a man with a young boy of his own at home, a man who trained as a carpenter. Between them, perhaps boy and man can mend what has been broken - and maybe even the whole town.... 

©2018 Michael Morpurgo (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"Please invite this wonderful story in, you won't regret it. History is rarely more movingly alive." (Morris Gleitzman)

Praise for Michael Morpurgo: "Michael Morpurgo writes brilliantly about war and animals, conveying the big emotions without preaching." (Guardian)

"Champagne quality over a wide range of subjects." (Daily Telegraph)

What listeners say about Flamingo Boy

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    58
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    51
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    52
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful stoty

I enjoyed every word of this beautiful book. This is not just a children's book and George Blagdens narration skills are superb

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

amazing storytelling as a family all engrossed

we all loved it . amazing story brought us to tears but so beautiful .

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best Story Ever❤️❤️

This is the best book I’ve ever heard!! I have always loved Michael Morpurgo but this is just brilliant. George Blagden reads this amazingly, the voices suit the characters so well. My favourite book in my library!!
❤️❤️❤️🦄🦄🦄🐶🐶🐶📚📚📚

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant story, was hooked

After a slow start the book got myself, husband and two young boys hooked during a long drive.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Flamingo Boy

The story kept my interest most of the time, why did I choose this children’s book as I’m 87? Nice to change my different kinds of books. I really enjoyed the story as it progressed.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A journey with Flamingo Boy

I loved this story.
We decided to read it with Y6 and it is a great story to use as a class reader.
A story of friendship and hope.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Captivating and heartwarming

I enjoyed every minute of this book. Beautifully narrated. A book I can see myself reading again


  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

amazing book ☺☺

I absolutely loved this book it was amazing 😊😊😊😊😊😊you have to read it. I'm speechless.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Flamingo Boy

Fantastic ! Enjoyed this so much . George Blagden perfect to narrate this wonderful story. Michael Morpurgo is a master story teller.