Regular price: £8.49

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

A stunning new classic from master storyteller Michael Morpurgo in the vein of Private Peaceful and The Butterfly Lion

This is a landmark new novel from the nation's favourite storyteller, set in the unique landscape of the Camargue in the South of France during WW2. There, a young autistic boy lives on his parents' farm among the salt flats and the flamingos that live there. There are lots of things he doesn't understand, but he does know how to heal animals. He loves routine and music, too, and every week he goes to market with his mother, to ride his special horse on the town carousel. 

But then the Germans come, with their guns, and take the town. A soldier shoots a flamingo from the sky, and it falls to earth terribly injured. And even worse is to come: the carousel is damaged, the horses broken. For this vulnerable boy, everything is falling apart. 

Only there's a kind sergeant among the Germans - a man with a young boy of his own at home, a man who trained as a carpenter. Between them, perhaps boy and man can mend what has been broken - and maybe even the whole town.... 

©2018 Michael Morpurgo (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"Please invite this wonderful story in, you won't regret it. History is rarely more movingly alive." (Morris Gleitzman)

Praise for Michael Morpurgo: "Michael Morpurgo writes brilliantly about war and animals, conveying the big emotions without preaching." (Guardian)

"Champagne quality over a wide range of subjects." (Daily Telegraph)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Captivating and heartwarming

I enjoyed every minute of this book. Beautifully narrated. A book I can see myself reading again


  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

amazing book ☺☺

I absolutely loved this book it was amazing 😊😊😊😊😊😊you have to read it. I'm speechless.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best Story Ever❤️❤️

This is the best book I’ve ever heard!! I have always loved Michael Morpurgo but this is just brilliant. George Blagden reads this amazingly, the voices suit the characters so well. My favourite book in my library!!
❤️❤️❤️🦄🦄🦄🐶🐶🐶📚📚📚

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Flamingo Boy

Fantastic ! Enjoyed this so much . George Blagden perfect to narrate this wonderful story. Michael Morpurgo is a master story teller.