Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £19.99

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

It's murder being a hit-mom.

When struggling crime writer Finlay Donovan takes on a life of crime normally reserved for her characters, she finds herself entangled in a real-life murder investigation. Witty and fast-paced, this murder mystery is perfect for fans of Janet Evanovich and Maria Semple.

'It is a widely known fact that most mums are ready to kill someone by eight-thirty AM on any given Monday....'  

Finlay Donovan, single mum and floundering crime writer, is having a hard time. Her ex-husband went behind her back to fire the nanny, and this morning she sent her four-year-old to school with hair duct-taped to her head after an unfortunate incident with scissors. 

Making it to lunch with her literary agent is a minor victory but, as she's discussing the plot of her latest crime novel, the conversation is misinterpreted by a woman sitting nearby as that of a hit-woman offering her services to dispose of a 'problem' husband. 

And when the woman slips Finlay a name and a promise of a large sum of cash, Finlay finds herself plotting something much bigger than her novel.

And, after all, they do always say: write what you know....

©2021 Elle Cosimano (P)2021 Macmillan Audio

Critic reviews

"Proves you only need to get mistaken once for a contract killer to solve all your problems." (Lisa Gardner)

"Funny and smart, twisty and surprising - Finlay Donovan is a character to root for. This suspenseful romp made me laugh but also kept me on the edge of my seat with its many surprises. I can't wait for the next book!" (Megan Miranda)

"Clever, perfectly plotted, and laugh out loud funny, Finlay Donovan is Killing It is one of those books that will make you smile long after you've turned the last page." (Wendy Walker, best- selling author of The Night Before)

"A madcap thriller that will keep you flipping pages long past your bedtime!" (Katherine St John, author of The Lion's Den)

"Part comedy of errors, part genuine thriller...balancing genre conventions with sly, tongue-in-cheek comments on motherhood and femininity, Cosimano crafts a deliciously twisted tale." (Booklist

"If you want a summer read that's entertaining, funny and wholly original, this is it." (CultureFly)

What listeners say about Finlay Donovan Is Killing It

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    54
  • 4 Stars
    35
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    63
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    44
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Kept me HOOKED till the very end

I didn't want to put this down! I loved it so much. The contrast of Finlay's personal life looking after her kids to the awkward Investigations she pulls off are so brilliant. The performance was top notch and I am definitely going to be continuing the series!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Allure wrapped in a comforting predictability

I was intrigued by the premise of this story and so settled on it for entertainment during a long drive.
Although I had guessed many of the plot twists, I actually found that comforting about the story, not disappointing. And that comfort added to the intrigue and allure of the story as a whole. I was excited to listen to it and have even splashed out on the next book!
Great writing, great characters I could get behind and didn't want to strangle and excellent narrator!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really enjoyed this !

After struggling to get into a few audio books recently - This is just what I needed !!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Utterly brilliant

This is one of my favourite books of the year so far! It is hilarious, authentic and incredibly clever, I could not stop listening to it. It has a bit of everything – romance, thriller, cosy mystery, comedy… The plot runs like a comedy of errors for Finlay, with everything falling into place whilst Finlay desperately tries to get herself free of the accidental hit-woman role she finds herself in! The characters are really well-developed, and Finlay herself is a relatable stressed-out, single mum just trying to get by. I have already pre-ordered the sequel, which I’m sure will be just as incredible!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

very well read and performed.

interesting idea though I would wish for a bit more that I don't want to write due to spoiler. hope this is a series or at least has a follow up covering last line.