Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £16.99

Buy Now for £16.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The perfect house, the perfect husband and the perfect life...or is she just faking it? 

Life has been a bit of a rollercoaster for Ella. Growing up as the 'less successful' identical twin to her 'perfectly successful' sister, Emma, has left her feeling isolated, inadequate and let's face it...a little bitter.

When Emma unexpectedly reaches out to Ella in a time of need, Ella suddenly finds herself with the opportunity to fill in for her sister and experience how the other half live.

But as Ella navigates the world of gossiping mothers, rebellious teens and trying to play the model housewife (not to mention avoiding the temptation of attractive men at the school gates...), will she discover that all is not always as it seems on the other side? 

Discover the brilliantly funny new romantic comedy from top 10 best seller Portia MacIntosh. Perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane, Sophie Ranald and Lindsey Kelk.

©2021 Portia MacIntosh (P)2021 Boldwood Books

What listeners say about Faking It

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    286
  • 4 Stars
    68
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    294
  • 4 Stars
    46
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    266
  • 4 Stars
    59
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

Absolutely brilliant , great story , great characters . Clever twist and some really funny moments . Listened to it over two days and as per usual Karen class really brings the narrative abs characters to life

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

love this

I really enjoyed this book and I love the narrator.
I've listened to a few of this authors books now, they're very easy to follow from the beginning, some predictable parts but also little twists thrown in. I love the character's in this book, Ella is awesome.
After not seeing her identical twin sister Emma for years it is a shock to her when she rings her to ask a huge favour, she is not wrong when she says HUGE!
I have sniggered a few times, nearly got emotional once or twice too. I definitely recommend this, i enjoyed it from the first page to the last!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

Loved this book. And the narrator was excellent. It was funny whilst being caring and plausible at the same time. This is my first read by this author, but definitely won't be my last

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous!

After thinking that I’ve exhausted all the great books in this genre I stumble upon this book :) .. fabulous! Loved it , very well written & beautifully narrated. Highly recommend x

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fab Story

I really enjoyed this book and could not put it down
The narrator was excellent
I thought from the description it might be a formula driven book but I was wrong it was a brilliant heart warming story that kept me page turning
This was the first book of this author I had read and will definitely look for more!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Light, funny totally relatable

Loved the book- light humorous and not a minute when you are bored. The narration is fantastic… Great characterization…

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great, funny, upbeat and believable!

Really enjoyed this book. Went on the journey and enjoyed the adventure. Not overwhelmingly difficult to remember the characters, great story wasn’t expecting the ending. Now looking for other books by this author. Even the narrator had good voice too which was refreshing.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant !

I do go through phases of nothing but romance comedies - if that’s what they are called .
This one was brilliant ! Very different story line with a nice happy ending.
Really enjoyed t and have instantly sort out another book by the author.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fun story

What a wonderful story with family dynamics and fitting in.
You just want to keep listening.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Glad I Chose it!

I was a bit undecided whether this book was for me but I loved it, funny in parts, touching & a bit sad in others. Overall a great listen. Love the narrator too!

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kristyn Rose
  • Kristyn Rose
  • 18-08-21

Sheer Delight

This is a delightful story! A thoroughly enjoyable - and not entirely predictable - ride. I arrived at the end with a pang of “It can’t be over!” And a sense of loving the village quirks and the protagonist characters. I’ll miss them! The dialogue is especially well-written and believable.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Heike Nuhsbaum
  • Heike Nuhsbaum
  • 11-10-21

Fun, light story, great narrator

This is my second book by Portia MacIntosh and she writes sweet stories that are fun to listen to. The narrator, Karen Cass does a first class job, it makes such a difference.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for HC
  • HC
  • 06-01-22

Didn't love this one

I have read (listened to, more accurately) several of Portia Macintosh's books recently and really enjoyed them. This one has some of the best reviews but it really didn't work for me. It felt like a grown up version of Amelia Bedelia in its antics and it made it hard to like the main character. Without spoiling a ton of things, I can't really elaborate much more than to say that for someone who claimed to care about and be trying hard at various things, Ella sure does have a knack for making a mess of practically everything she touches. She's impulsive, undisciplined (lazy?), and reckless. I appreciated her genuine care for others, and intuition for people, and I did like her growth by the very end, but it took a lot of casualties to get there. Didn't like her sister at all or really almost anyone in the village, except the kids, Rich, and Marco. All of that made it hard to get through. I honestly considered giving up a few times, which I certainly did not even remotely contemplate with the others I've read from PM. I would not personally recommend this one. Narration was excellent as usual.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for KJ
  • KJ
  • 26-06-22

It would have received more stars if not for the vulgar language

The story was a good light rom-com. However the language is out of control. As with other recent authors, I have noticed their atrocious over use of the F-bomb and blasphemy. It truly ruins the story. And there is no need whatsoever for it. It is so much more enjoyable without. Plus, I believe it just shows lack of character. Unfortunately I will not be reading/listening to anymore of this author’s books. I don’t want to allow myself to believe it is ok to speak in that way. And I do not care to be desensitized to the vulgarity.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bob K
  • Bob K
  • 16-02-22

One of the best audible books ever!

I thoroughly enjoyed this book! It was funny, well written and the narrator was awesome!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for BW
  • BW
  • 15-02-22

I really enjoyed this!

My first Portia Macintosh book and I look forward to another. Clever and funny and a great listen.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for roseanna banana
  • roseanna banana
  • 24-01-22

It was a great book.

I enjoyed the humor and the seriousness of this book. The characters were fun to watch develop. It started out a little funny but a little sad too. It was just a very good book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for anmaco
  • anmaco
  • 14-01-22

Great listen!

I really enjoyed this book and Portia MacIntosh is quickly becoming a favorite author. This is a feel good book with laugh out loud moments and a touching moral. ❤️

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for sherry moore
  • sherry moore
  • 30-12-21

Loved this!!

Loved this book. I am going to listen to it again cause I can’t get enough of it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kim
  • Kim
  • 27-12-21

What a story twist!

A story that takes a twist right from the beginning and keeps you hooked until the last sentence!