Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • Expiry Date

  • DI Alec McKay, Book 4
  • By: Alex Walters
  • Narrated by: David McCallion
  • Length: 11 hrs and 54 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (88 ratings)
Offer ends May 1st, 2024 11:59PM GMT. Terms and conditions apply.
£7.99/month after 3 months. Renews automatically.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Expiry Date cover art

Expiry Date

By: Alex Walters
Narrated by: David McCallion
Get this deal Try for £0.00

Pay £99p/month. After 3 months pay £7.99/month. Renews automatically. See terms for eligibility.

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically.

Buy Now for £13.99

Buy Now for £13.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

False Start cover art
Deadly Wishes cover art
The Murder Wall cover art
The Murderer's Son cover art
The Dead Hand of History cover art
Secrets in Blood cover art
The Past We Run From cover art
See Them Run cover art
Murder on Sea cover art
The Health of Strangers cover art
Paper Girls cover art
The Body on Scafell Pike cover art
Why She Died cover art
Dark Game cover art
A Bad Bad Thing cover art
Deadly Dance cover art

Summary

The DI Alec McKay Series are atmospheric and gripping crime novels set in the Scottish Highlands. They will appeal to fans of authors like Ann Cleeves, Peter May and Helen Fields.

A family day out turns sour for DI McKay when he stumbles across an unidentified corpse. The day becomes darker still when his brother-in-law goes missing and is eventually found dead, the result of a seemingly accidental fall. Meanwhile, DCI Helena Grant has a disastrous online date with a pompous senior manager of a local hotel chain. Her initial amusement turns to unease at his disturbing behaviour. And, as she arrives home, she receives a threatening text from someone who has been watching her. When a further body is found, McKay and Grant finally begin to piece together a story that involves violence, people trafficking and the darkest family secrets.

©2019 Alex Walters (P)2019 W. F. Howes Ltd

What listeners say about Expiry Date

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    61
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    63
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    59
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great story

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Plenty of twists and turns and kept you guessing right to the end.
In regards to the narration you just need to speed it up to around 1.10 to avoid the pauses as the previous review pointed out.
I can't wait for the next one.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent plotting

Great characters I’d like to meet and a twisty plot that kept me guessing. So well written that there were no jarring moments in the writing or the narration. I’m eagerly awaiting the next book by this author.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great series

I've really enjoyed this series, and am hoping that audible do the next book, For Their Sins, soon. Love the narrator, and find in DI Alec McKay a realistic portrayal of what I'd expect a good Scottish detective to be.
So difficult to find a fictional detective who's not an alcoholic, woman hating stereotype. Love him!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Serious Serial Killer

How many serial killers can one detective have to deal with in a short period of years?
For me, the subject matter detracted from my the enjoyment of this story.
Otherwise I found it entertaining.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another great story

I really enjoyed this book and couldn’t stop listening to it. Twists and turns and great characters.
Really enjoy all of Alex Walter’s books, and look forward to more.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another great listen.

Yet another great story from this series. The author, characters and the narrator were great.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

Despite figuring out some of the plot, the twists at the end were most surprising. I love the way the listener is drawn quietly into the narrative and I enjoy the sardonic humour between the DCI and DI. The background detail of the main characters lives adds substance, as well. As does the description of the landscapes.A very enjoyable listen.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Murder, on-line dating & trafficking intertwined!

The stories three threads that eventually converge begin with McKay, visiting Fort George near Inverness, finding two bodies, one being his brother-in-law, who proves to have dark financial secrets; DCI Helena Grant, risking the perils of on-line dating, meets a womanising sleaze, that leaves her uneasy and Jana, trafficked into Scotland & currently working at a shady local hotel, a holding cell, til buyers can be found for her & other younger women.
To keep one's interest, there's plenty twists & turns as the body count keeps rising, the links start to emerge. McKay as ever loves to grumble & mutter as he digs into each case with relish, and his banter with long suffering, tolerant Grant adds more entertainment.
The killing by proxy finale suggests a follow-up book, but at present this is the last in the DI McKay series available on Audible, hopefully that will be rectified in the not too distant future.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Suspense

Very entertaining to the end loved the story and hopefully their will be more to come

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

"Expiry Date"

Another extremely enjoyable addition to a series that just keeps getting better and better. Highly recommended.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!