Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime


David Copperfield is one of a series of retellings of classic world literature by publishers Real Reads. True to the original in style as well as in character, plot and themes, these retellings make an excellent introduction to these classic tales. Intelligent, lively and enjoyable, they are, in themselves, a real read.

When David's mother marries the malevolent Mr Murdstone, David's childhood happiness is destroyed forever.

Can one lonely little boy show the strength and determination to survive the dangers that lie ahead? Travelling along the rocky road from boyhood to manhood, how can David learn who to trust and who to love? Will David's friends bring him happiness or heartache?

In this inspiring tale of trust, betrayal and courage, Dickens presents a world of colourful characters to amuse us, astonish us, disgust us and move us to tears. Once encountered, David Copperfield's friends and enemies will never be forgotten.

©2007 Gill Tavner (P)2010 Gill Tavner

Critic reviews

The six books in the Real Reads Charles Dickens series were described as 'miniature masterpieces' by Mariella Frostrupp, BBC Radio 4, Open Book

What listeners say about David Copperfield

Average customer ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.