Try an audiobook on us

Counting by 7s

Narrated by: Robin Miles
Length: 7 hrs and 14 mins
Regular price: £25.69
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle-grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family.

Willow Chance is a 12-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasn’t kept her from leading a quietly happy life...until now.

Suddenly Willow’s world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read.

“Holly Goldberg Sloan writes about belonging in a way I’ve never quite seen in any other book. This is a gorgeous, funny, and heartwarming novel that I’ll never forget.” (John Corey Whaley, author of Where Things Come Back)

"Willow Chance subtly drew me into her head and her life, so much so that I was holding my breath for her by the end. Holly Goldberg Sloan has created distinct characters who will stay with you long after you finish the book." (Sharon Creech, Newbery Award-winning author of Walk Two Moons)

©2013 Holly Goldberg Sloan (P)2013 Penguin Audio

Critic reviews

"Holly Goldberg Sloan writes about belonging in a way I’ve never quite seen in any other book. This is a gorgeous, funny, and heartwarming novel that I’ll never forget." (John Corey Whaley, author of Where Things Come Back)
"Willow Chance subtly drew me into her head and her life, so much so that I was holding my breath for her by the end. Holly Goldberg Sloan has created distinct characters who will stay with you long after you finish the book." (Sharon Creech, Newbery Award-winning author of Walk Two Moons)

What members say

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • MEM
  • 25-07-17

excellent

The narrator did an excellent job. I listen to a lot audio books and this was one of the best narrators.
It took me a little bit to get in this to the story but then I had a hard time putting it down.
Good life lessons

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • E. Turner
  • 05-05-16

GREAT!!

Counting by 7s is one of the best books ever to be written. Most of the characters are dynamic. I just love this book.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • J. David Carlson
  • 09-05-15

Heart-warming and funny

A book for any age, this story has such quirky, lovable characters that you HAVE to root for them!! The narration on this story is fantastic. The story covers some heart-breaking themes and the narrator takes you right into the moment as she acts out the varied characters. And while your heart might break for the characters at times, this is a story log hope and light and belonging.
Truly a treat to experience: listen NOW!!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • JillyMcK
  • 22-04-15

Wonderful Story

This book made me laugh and cry and I enjoyed every moment of it. The narration was perfect and brought the story to life!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Elizabeth
  • 31-08-15

Endearing!

I thoroughly enjoyed this book! Loved the main character. You can tell it is YA but I am so glad I read it.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • TFB
  • 20-07-18

Nice Book

Amazing book with a lot of detail. Recommended for seventh grade and above. 5\5 stars

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • DIY Girl
  • 14-06-18

Utterly charming characters

This story was so easy to hear. Loved all the characters, narrator’s performance and theme.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Slbahr
  • 27-05-18

Counting by 7’s review.

Very great book, made me inspired to work on life and enjoy the little things. I recommend this book to people who might be having a hard time, just to let them know people just like you are out there in the world as well and you will get through it, just like Willow Chance did.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Halli
  • 25-03-15

Great story and narrator!

I started the book on my own, but read the second half with Audible. I got through it much faster, and the narrator definitely helped my fluency and the enthusiasm in the book. Counting By 7s is a touching story, and I definitely recommend it!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • kristi brown
  • 05-05-19

AMAZING!! 😍🙌🏼

I loved this book so much!! I recommended this book to my mother, father, and boyfriend and they all loved it as well! I’ve read it twice now and it’s one of my favorite books of all time. Its a difficult book to explain without spoiling anything but well worth a read. I can best describe it as simply an amazing book. It is very intriguing and really gets you thinking and is well worth a read. :)