Listen free for 30 days

Blood Orange

Narrated by: Julie Teal
Length: 9 hrs and 56 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (842 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

An electrifying debut thriller for fans of Apple Tree Yard and Anatomy of a Scandal - introducing a stunning new voice in psychological suspense.

Alison has it all. A doting husband, adorable daughter, and a career on the rise - she's just been given her first murder case to defend. But all is never as it seems....

Just one more night. Then I'll end it.

Alison drinks too much. She's neglecting her family. And she's having an affair with a colleague whose taste for pushing boundaries may be more than she can handle.

I did it. I killed him. I should be locked up.

Alison's client doesn't deny that she stabbed her husband - she wants to plead guilty. And yet something about her story is deeply amiss. Saving this woman may be the first step to Alison saving herself.

I'm watching you. I know what you're doing.

But someone knows Alison's secrets. Someone who wants to make her pay for what she's done, and who won't stop until she's lost everything....

©2019 Harriet Tyce (P)2019 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Critic reviews

"Shocking, addictive, dark domestic noir." (Sarah Pinborough)

"Breathes new life into the domestic noir genre and grips until the final page." (Daily Express)

"What a twist at the end!." (Lisa Jewell)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    469
  • 4 Stars
    233
  • 3 Stars
    92
  • 2 Stars
    28
  • 1 Stars
    20

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    461
  • 4 Stars
    192
  • 3 Stars
    71
  • 2 Stars
    18
  • 1 Stars
    13

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    395
  • 4 Stars
    220
  • 3 Stars
    87
  • 2 Stars
    26
  • 1 Stars
    23

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Superior Thriller well narrated

I thoroughly enjoyed this book it is very very clever and has a great twist. This is a complex story exploring the darker side of human nature and I so enjoyed this listen that I resented any interruptions ! and heard it all over one weekend. Both of the main characters are really well depicted and though hard to like in the beginning evolved into complex interesting characters. I can't wait for Harriet Tyce's next book.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

The worst book I’ve read in months

This is not a thriller. It’s 6 hours of pathetic characters, followed by 1 hour of so-called twists which were completely predictable from the outset. Perhaps I misunderstood what this book would be about since it’s billed as a thriller. Waste of time.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Disjointed story, lacking credible characters

Each plot twist required characters, including the main character, to undergo a complete personality transplant which made the story unsatisfying.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

An OK book ruined by an annoying narrator

I much prefer to sit and read a book, but I rarely seem to get the time these days, so I listen to audiobooks whilst out walking etc. I really had to force myself to listen to this as the story was reasonably OK as long as you fight your compulsion to slap Alison, but the narrator’s voice, in particular her ‘Tilly’ voice made my ears bleed. I always look out for her name before I download any more books in case she pops up again.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Blood Orange

Kept me completely engrossed from beginning to end. Some thoroughly un-likeable characters but a good story, well read.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Gets better

A little slow paced but the ending was unexpected. Keeps you on your toes and guessing throughout.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Meh!

The story was good, but the last few chapters seemed a little rushed. Books with a twist are great, but this one came out of nowhere with no build up then was done! I though I had missed something when it was over....

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Tedious and nasty

A tedious book full of dislikeable characters. Very disappointed after having read some good reviews.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Couldn’t stop listening...

I found this absolutely gripping and put off listening to the end as I didn’t want it to stop!
The plot and some characters probably are unlikely but that just doesn’t matter. I loved it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fabulous...couldn’t stop once I started

This is one of those books that grips you right from the beginning to the end and you won’t want to stop.

1 person found this helpful