Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £19.99

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

An electrifying debut thriller for fans of Apple Tree Yard and Anatomy of a Scandal - introducing a stunning new voice in psychological suspense.

Alison has it all. A doting husband, adorable daughter, and a career on the rise - she's just been given her first murder case to defend. But all is never as it seems....

Just one more night. Then I'll end it.

Alison drinks too much. She's neglecting her family. And she's having an affair with a colleague whose taste for pushing boundaries may be more than she can handle.

I did it. I killed him. I should be locked up.

Alison's client doesn't deny that she stabbed her husband - she wants to plead guilty. And yet something about her story is deeply amiss. Saving this woman may be the first step to Alison saving herself.

I'm watching you. I know what you're doing.

But someone knows Alison's secrets. Someone who wants to make her pay for what she's done, and who won't stop until she's lost everything....

©2019 Harriet Tyce (P)2019 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Critic reviews

"Shocking, addictive, dark domestic noir." (Sarah Pinborough)

"Breathes new life into the domestic noir genre and grips until the final page." (Daily Express)

"What a twist at the end!." (Lisa Jewell)

What listeners say about Blood Orange

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,115
  • 4 Stars
    567
  • 3 Stars
    255
  • 2 Stars
    76
  • 1 Stars
    40
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,091
  • 4 Stars
    435
  • 3 Stars
    201
  • 2 Stars
    56
  • 1 Stars
    29
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    956
  • 4 Stars
    512
  • 3 Stars
    222
  • 2 Stars
    69
  • 1 Stars
    44

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

The worst book I’ve read in months

This is not a thriller. It’s 6 hours of pathetic characters, followed by 1 hour of so-called twists which were completely predictable from the outset. Perhaps I misunderstood what this book would be about since it’s billed as a thriller. Waste of time.

23 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

An OK book ruined by an annoying narrator

I much prefer to sit and read a book, but I rarely seem to get the time these days, so I listen to audiobooks whilst out walking etc. I really had to force myself to listen to this as the story was reasonably OK as long as you fight your compulsion to slap Alison, but the narrator’s voice, in particular her ‘Tilly’ voice made my ears bleed. I always look out for her name before I download any more books in case she pops up again.

16 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Superior Thriller well narrated

I thoroughly enjoyed this book it is very very clever and has a great twist. This is a complex story exploring the darker side of human nature and I so enjoyed this listen that I resented any interruptions ! and heard it all over one weekend. Both of the main characters are really well depicted and though hard to like in the beginning evolved into complex interesting characters. I can't wait for Harriet Tyce's next book.

15 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Blood Orange

Kept me completely engrossed from beginning to end. Some thoroughly un-likeable characters but a good story, well read.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Disjointed story, lacking credible characters

Each plot twist required characters, including the main character, to undergo a complete personality transplant which made the story unsatisfying.

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Gets better

A little slow paced but the ending was unexpected. Keeps you on your toes and guessing throughout.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Did not enjoy narration at all

I think this book would have been good had it not been read as a constant whine. Even the little girl is portrayed as constantly whiney- was hard to get through.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Meh!

The story was good, but the last few chapters seemed a little rushed. Books with a twist are great, but this one came out of nowhere with no build up then was done! I though I had missed something when it was over....

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Not for me..

A thoroughly unpleasant tale about a thoroughly unpleasant, stereotyped and cliched cast of characters. I don’t think I’ve ever given a one star review before now, and I feel slightly guilty in doing so now, but I absolutely hated this book.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Tedious and nasty

A tedious book full of dislikeable characters. Very disappointed after having read some good reviews.

3 people found this helpful