Listen free for 30 days

Beneath a Burning Sky

Narrated by: Emma Powell
Length: 14 hrs and 5 mins
4 out of 5 stars (79 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Beneath a Burning Sky is a beautiful and gripping story of love, betrayal and mystery, set against the heat and intrigue of colonial Alexandria. Perfect for fans of Kate Furnivall, Lucinda Riley and Victoria Hislop.

The shores of Alexandria, 1891

Olivia Sheldon has travelled across the world to marry a man she does not love. Reluctant to leave England but coerced into the marriage, Olivia's reward is being reunited with her estranged sister, Clara. Her punishment is falling impossibly and illicitly in love with the enigmatic Captain Edward Bertram.

Then one scorching day Clara is abducted from Alexandria's busiest street. Desperate to find her sister - and the truth about her disappearance - Olivia becomes embroiled in Egypt's shadowy underworld, risking both her life and future with Edward. Because, determined as Olivia is to find Clara, there are others who will stop at nothing to conceal what's become of her....

©2016 Jenny Ashcroft (P)2016 Hachette Audio UK

Critic reviews

"Beautifully described...A moving love story." (Tracy Rees)

"Exotic and mysterious - I was gripped by this complex tale." (Dinah Jefferies)

"Exquisitely written...unputdownable and unforgettable." (Iona Grey)

What listeners say about Beneath a Burning Sky

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    39
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    39
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

Really enjoyed this, especially the setting, the story between Olivia and Edward, and the mystery (it kept me guessing until the end.) Have recommended it to others.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great read

A superb plot, well written and brilliantly narrated with a shocking insight into the days of the empire. I couldn't put it down - I will miss it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • JC
  • 16-06-17

Debut novel and fantastic

Where does Beneath a Burning Sky rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

One of the best I have listened to lately

What was one of the most memorable moments of Beneath a Burning Sky?

There were a few but the moment Olivia is in the desert with Hassan was up at the top

Which scene did you most enjoy?

When Olivia got away from alistair at last

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Definitely

Any additional comments?

I did manage to listen to this book in two days 😁 When I do usually try to spin them out

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Mixed feelings

I spent most of this book being annoyed by the helplessness of the characters ~ trapped by race, poverty and gender ~ which seemed never ending. We, and they, are kept in the dark about what is going on, just fed the odd crumb here and there until almost the very end.
This is such a shame because the writing was excellent and the story good, in spite of being frustrating.
The reader had quite a downbeat voice which just made the whole thing more depressing.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping

Couldn't wait to hear the next bit! I really felt for the characters. So well read too.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not my taste.

It was not my taste. I found it quite difficult to follow. Quite a flat reading.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Predictable and silly

This was a book club choice and I still don't know why I listened to it all. It was a thorough bore.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely loved this book

Absolutely loved this book and the characters it was a great story well recommended x

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really enjoyable

This is the first book I have listened to by Jenny Ashcroft and I wasn’t disappointed. Really great read that kept you hooked from the beginning to the end.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book!

Loved this book. it really captured the cultural issues and struggles within so many colonial settings and particularly well describes life in Alexandria. Spell binding with great relationships being built between the characters.