Regular price: £19.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
  • Get access to the Member Daily Deal
OR
In Basket

New to Audible?

Your first audiobook is free
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Beneath a Burning Sky is a beautiful and gripping story of love, betrayal and mystery, set against the heat and intrigue of colonial Alexandria. Perfect for fans of Kate Furnivall, Lucinda Riley and Victoria Hislop.

The shores of Alexandria, 1891

Olivia Sheldon has travelled across the world to marry a man she does not love. Reluctant to leave England but coerced into the marriage, Olivia's reward is being reunited with her estranged sister, Clara. Her punishment is falling impossibly and illicitly in love with the enigmatic Captain Edward Bertram.

Then one scorching day Clara is abducted from Alexandria's busiest street. Desperate to find her sister - and the truth about her disappearance - Olivia becomes embroiled in Egypt's shadowy underworld, risking both her life and future with Edward. Because, determined as Olivia is to find Clara, there are others who will stop at nothing to conceal what's become of her....

©2016 Jenny Ashcroft (P)2016 Hachette Audio UK

Critic reviews

"Beautifully described...A moving love story." (Tracy Rees)

"Exotic and mysterious - I was gripped by this complex tale." (Dinah Jefferies)

"Exquisitely written...unputdownable and unforgettable." (Iona Grey)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

Really enjoyed this, especially the setting, the story between Olivia and Edward, and the mystery (it kept me guessing until the end.) Have recommended it to others.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great read

A superb plot, well written and brilliantly narrated with a shocking insight into the days of the empire. I couldn't put it down - I will miss it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • JC
  • 16-06-17

Debut novel and fantastic

Where does Beneath a Burning Sky rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

One of the best I have listened to lately

What was one of the most memorable moments of Beneath a Burning Sky?

There were a few but the moment Olivia is in the desert with Hassan was up at the top

Which scene did you most enjoy?

When Olivia got away from alistair at last

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Definitely

Any additional comments?

I did manage to listen to this book in two days 😁 When I do usually try to spin them out

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not my taste.

It was not my taste. I found it quite difficult to follow. Quite a flat reading.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • sue
  • Felixstowe, United Kingdom
  • 25-07-18

Predictable and silly

This was a book club choice and I still don't know why I listened to it all. It was a thorough bore.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely loved this book

Absolutely loved this book and the characters it was a great story well recommended x

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really enjoyable

This is the first book I have listened to by Jenny Ashcroft and I wasn’t disappointed. Really great read that kept you hooked from the beginning to the end.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book!

Loved this book. it really captured the cultural issues and struggles within so many colonial settings and particularly well describes life in Alexandria. Spell binding with great relationships being built between the characters.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful, twisting, epic romance.

The characters are perfectly drawn, Olivia and Clara’s stories gripped me from the start and I could never have predicted the twists and turns in this emotional and satisfying book. Alexandria lives through the setting. I highly recommend reading or listening to this wonderful story of love and loss.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Riveting story.

Beautifully narrated. strong story line to the end. I couldn't stop listening.
I would recommend it.