Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £25.99

Buy Now for £25.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Brought to you by Penguin.

Binge-watched Normal People and Love Is Blind and now looking to escape into another suitably steamy love story? Look no further....

Two writers, one holiday. A romcom waiting to happen....

January is a hopeless romantic who narrates her life like she's the lead in a blockbuster movie.

Gus is a serious literary type who thinks true love is a fairy-tale.

But January and Gus have more in common than you'd think:

They're both broke.

They've got crippling writer's block.

And they need to write best sellers before summer ends.

The result? A bet to swap genres and see who gets published first.

The risk? In telling each other's stories, their worlds might be changed entirely....

Set over one sizzling summer, Beach Read is a witty love story that will make you laugh a lot, cry a little and fall head over heels. For fans of The Flat Share and If I Never Met You.

©2020 Emily Henry (P)2020 Penguin Audio

Critic reviews

"The hottest book of the summer." (Josie Silver, author of best-selling One Day in December)

"The perfect escapist romp." (Laura Jane Williams, author of Our Stop)

What listeners say about Beach Read

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    96
  • 4 Stars
    73
  • 3 Stars
    34
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    119
  • 4 Stars
    53
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    75
  • 4 Stars
    65
  • 3 Stars
    30
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Not what I expected - loved it

The book grabbed me from the first chapter and couldn’t stop listening.

The story line was good and the characters were well written and the banter between them was smart.

If you want a book that’s an easy read with a good story then give this a go!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Funny, romancey and an easy read

I really enjoyed listening. I felt I could relate to January and it make you want to write 😊

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

I enjoyed listening to the narrator, very nice tone to her voice. I listened as I read along with the physical book. Would listen to it again, one day!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I loved it!

This was the first book I've read by Emily Henry and I loved it. For the most part it’s a light read with lots of laugh out loud funny moments, mostly due to the hilarious witty banter between January and Gus. With the wonderful and well written storyline plus the amazing narrating talent of Julia Whelan this is one book that you won’t want to miss!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beach Read

Just read it. Seriously, buy it and listen to it and get past the first chapter or two and then dissolve in it. Give it a chance and in return it will give you more than you expected, as books should 🔆🧡

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Disappointed

Didn't find storyline interesting. Easy to drift off, I lost track of what was going on and whether she was talking about herself or the book she was writing. Confused by some of the reviews its not a light hearted listen at all.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Really good story

Normally I hate reading about people writing but this is not the only thing in this story. I like both main characters, January is easy to get on with.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I loved it!

This was so thoroughly enjoyable!
I loved the characters, and their conversations were relatable and funny. I laughed out loud more than once (something I usually don't do).

Wish I could unread it, just to be able to read it again. And again.
Performance was really good too.

Recommend!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Boring! Don’t waste your time!

Writing and descriptions were basic. The sex scenes were cringy. Would not recommend! Actually listened to it at speed x2 so it would be over faster...
Reader was good

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Very enjoyable

I wasn't sure if I was going to enjoy this when I first started listening - again I struggled a little with the American narrator. But was I got into it I found it an easy listen and a good story.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 02-09-20

Finished it in a day

On a nutshell:

Great read
Didn't feel like a typical romance
Funny
Depth in the characters


In more detail:
Going into this I had wanted a cosy escape and this book delivered while still having elements that brought depth to the story and characters. It's my first time reading this author.

The book is funny and sweet which is exactly what I wanted but also had elements of family issues, dealing with struggles and exploring friendship that made the story interesting, but didn't dwell on them in a way that would get you down. These were the elements that gave you insight into the characters rather than being the focus point.

I will say there is one single cringey line in the book. When you do read the book you will spot it (hint: something about a bunny). But other than that single line it was lovely!