Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £4.59

Buy Now for £4.59

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Editor reviews

David Henley profiles the life and career of the German composer Johann Sebastian Bach in this selection from his Famous Composers collection. Aimed at young listeners and novices alike, Henley crafts a gripping narrative of interesting tidbits from Bach's life that segues nicely into examples of Bach's work. The backstories behind certain pieces will be particularly illuminating. Marin Alsop keeps with Henley's easygoing tone with a casually informative tone that seems to revel in Bach's work. Her genial attitude is infectious, making this biography both fun and educational.


This is a story from the Famous Composers collection.

Following on the success of The Story of Classical Music, Darren Henley and Marin Alsop combine forces again to tell, in more detail, the lives of six key composers: Bach, Vivaldi, Mozart, Beethoven, Dvorak, and Shostakovich. Their colourful lives and their love of music are told against the backdrop of some of their finest works, an ideal combination.

©2005 NAXOS AudioBooks Ltd. (P)2005 NAXOS AudioBooks Ltd.

Critic reviews

  • 2005 Audie Award Winner, Original Work
2005 Audie Award Winner, Original Work

What listeners say about Bach

Average customer ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.