Try an audiobook on us

An Unfinished Murder

Campbell & Carter Mystery, Book 6
Narrated by: Jilly Bond
Length: 9 hrs and 20 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (35 ratings)
Regular price: £21.99
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

An Unfinished Murder is the sixth Cotswold village crime novel in Ann Granger's Campbell and Carter series. Sure to appeal to fans of Midsomer Murders and M. C. Beaton's Agatha Raisin mysteries.

Mitchell and Markby come out of retirement to crack a cold case.... 

As young children, Josh Browning and his sister, Dilys, stumbled across a dead body while playing on the outskirts of their Cotswold village. Terrified by what they'd seen, neither of them told a soul. Now, 20 years later, Josh finds the dead woman's charm bracelet among his sister's possessions.

Who better to tell than his trusted friend, the man he gardens for, retired Superintendent Alan Markby? As Markby listens to Josh's confession, alarm bells start to ring. The dates and details tie in with a missing person case that was never solved.

Joining forces with Superintendent Ian Carter, who also investigated the original case, and Inspector Jess Campbell, from the region where the missing girl was last seen, Markby delves into the unsolved mystery. Together, they are determined to catch a clever killer who almost got away with murder.... 

©2018 Ann Granger (P)2018 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

I didn't enjoy the narration

The narrator's voices for the different characters are not good and grate. Story is enjoyable. Shame really. A good author and otherwise enjoyable books.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Thoroughly Enjoyable

Great to drop in to see the Markbys ... Have read all their books. A great idea to link the two couples of detectives. A thoroughly enjoyable read.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars

Another good Mitchell & Markby book.

Ann Granger is always good value but I was disappointed by the narrator this time. Jilly Bond is fine for more light hearted books but not this type of murder mystery. I found myself irritated by the silly voices.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Why oh why change the narrator?

I bought this book , without listening to it first as I have had and enjoyed all the previous books. The story was excellent as usual, but the narrator has the annoying habit of putting a silly sort of smile to her voice, I noticed she does this in other books too, it makes people sound stupid and is very annoying. Normally I wouldn’t buy books if she is narrating as it annoys me so much, I didn’t send this one back because of the story, but please please can we have Judith Boyd back for the next book.