Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £19.99

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Escape to snowy Sweden this Christmas in the gorgeous new novel from the author of The Oyster Catcher. Fans of Jill Mansell and Milly Johnson will love this unforgettable winter story from Jo Thomas.

Halley has been running from her problems for years.
 

On a courier trip to Tallfors, deep in Swedish Lapland, everything is going to plan. Halley has her bag, with two precious wedding rings inside for delivery...until she doesn't.
 

The only way to save the wedding is to team up with mysterious reindeer herder Bjorn, the one person who can lead her across the snowy tundra to be reunited with her bag.
 

On a journey of a lifetime beneath the stars, with only the reindeer and a bad-tempered stranger for company beside the fire, Halley realises that she will need to confront her past heartaches in order to let the warmth of love in once more....
 

©2018 Jo Thomas (P)2018 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Critic reviews

 'Magically romantic. I loved it' (Milly Johnson)

"What a gorgeous book! Reading it felt like the best kind of holiday." (Lucy Diamond) 

 "Sheer rom-com brilliance!" (Heat

What listeners say about A Winter Beneath the Stars

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    47
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    46
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    41
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

I just can't finish it

So long and drawn out
not very believable
halfway through but I want to stop here

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A good story with fabulous narration

Having read Winter Island by Jo Thomas and enjoyed it very much, I went straight on to this one because I love reading about snowy places. At first I thought it was going to be a bit too comic for my taste, but it turned into a good adventure with plenty to learn about Lapland and reindeer herding, and loads of romance thrown in too. That got a bit too much for me towards the end, but generally I really enjoyed this. I think the writer is very clever in the way she draws characters and storylines together to make a satisfying ending. The narration is absolutely superb, I couldn’t fault it in any way. A pleasure to listen to, and I can’t understand why Madeleine Leslay doesn’t narrate a lot more.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Great

gentle and with brilliant authentic cultural details and vivid descriptions of the country and its customs. all wrapped up in a love story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

lovely relaxing story

I have enjoyed all of Jo Thomas books. she writes lovely stories and you feel as though you could be in any of them. thanks 😊

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

you want Fika?

This is the most cosy story ever! I want to go to Sweden! absolutely lovely story! I'm so happy to have found this book!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story!

Easy listening with a great story, it made me want to visit the lovely village's and experience the surroundings as described.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!!,

The narrator was brilliant doing all the different voices, and building up the story, it did seem to go on a bit, but the ending was arrrrr!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Lovely winter warmer!

Lovely, gentle story about finding yourself in unexpected places, would recommend it to anyone who likes romantic fiction.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A lovely wintry romantic story

A great location that makes you feel all cosy and lovely. Great characters and a plot that flows well.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • CB
  • 26-11-18

Worth preserving

Struggled with the book to start but was worth it in the end. It was slow at the beginning & at times I wanted to shout at the main character to stop being so silly but the book did finally pick up the pace & in the end I loved it.