Listen free for 30 days

A Winter Beneath the Stars

By: Jo Thomas
Narrated by: Madeleine Leslay
Length: 10 hrs and 39 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (56 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Escape to snowy Sweden this Christmas in the gorgeous new novel from the author of The Oyster Catcher. Fans of Jill Mansell and Milly Johnson will love this unforgettable winter story from Jo Thomas.

Halley has been running from her problems for years.
 

On a courier trip to Tallfors, deep in Swedish Lapland, everything is going to plan. Halley has her bag, with two precious wedding rings inside for delivery...until she doesn't.
 

The only way to save the wedding is to team up with mysterious reindeer herder Bjorn, the one person who can lead her across the snowy tundra to be reunited with her bag.
 

On a journey of a lifetime beneath the stars, with only the reindeer and a bad-tempered stranger for company beside the fire, Halley realises that she will need to confront her past heartaches in order to let the warmth of love in once more....
 

©2018 Jo Thomas (P)2018 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Critic reviews

 'Magically romantic. I loved it' (Milly Johnson)

"What a gorgeous book! Reading it felt like the best kind of holiday." (Lucy Diamond) 

 "Sheer rom-com brilliance!" (Heat

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    37
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    32
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

I just can't finish it

So long and drawn out
not very believable
halfway through but I want to stop here

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story!

Easy listening with a great story, it made me want to visit the lovely village's and experience the surroundings as described.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!!,

The narrator was brilliant doing all the different voices, and building up the story, it did seem to go on a bit, but the ending was arrrrr!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Lovely winter warmer!

Lovely, gentle story about finding yourself in unexpected places, would recommend it to anyone who likes romantic fiction.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A lovely wintry romantic story

A great location that makes you feel all cosy and lovely. Great characters and a plot that flows well.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • CB
  • 26-11-18

Worth preserving

Struggled with the book to start but was worth it in the end. It was slow at the beginning & at times I wanted to shout at the main character to stop being so silly but the book did finally pick up the pace & in the end I loved it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Ultimate fireside read

A lovely story, with spectacular frozen landscape providing the scene for the many twists and turns. I loved the characters, especially Lars! Happiness, sadness and many lessons to be learned in this captivating book. Make yourself some hot chocolate, wrap yourself in a warm blanket and enjoy!