Try an audiobook on us

A Place to Call Home

By: Val Wood
Narrated by: Anne Dover
Length: 11 hrs and 58 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (11 ratings)
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Random House presents the audiobook edition of A Place to Call Home by Val Wood, read by Anne Dover.

Ellen thought she’d always live in the remote, pretty coastal village where she grew up. After all, her husband, Harry, works on a farm where he’s guaranteed a job and home for life. 

But when the old landowner dies and the couple and their young children are forced from their cottage, the future is suddenly bleak. Rather than stay - and starve - in the countryside they love, Harry sets out to find a job in the factories and mills of nearby Hull, and Ellen must leave behind everything she’s ever known to follow her husband and build a new life for her family on the unfamiliar city streets.

The road ahead is full of hardships and challenges. But with love and determination, they make the best of things, forging friendships with other newcomers and refugees, even helping them to succeed in their new surroundings. 

Then tragedy threatens Ellen’s fragile happiness. How much more can she sacrifice before they find a place to call home? 

Val Wood's wonderful historical sagas are perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Rosie Goodwin.

©2018 Val Wood (P)2018 Random House Audiobooks

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A very enjoyable read

The combination of Val Wood’s story telling and Anne Dover’s narration is really a treat. I look forward to another visit to the work these two artists.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

easy listening

I enjoyed this book, its Interesting, but keeps you entertained. the narrator is Anne Dover who always talks expertly

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • wolffie
  • UK
  • 08-01-19

A very enjoyable read

The combination of Val Wood’s story telling and Anne Dover’s narration is really a treat. I look forward to another visit to the work these two artists.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • Norwich, United Kingdom
  • 04-01-19

easy listening

I enjoyed this book, its Interesting, but keeps you entertained. the narrator is Anne Dover who always talks expertly