Listen free for 30 days

A Grand Old Time

Narrated by: Aoife McMahon
Length: 11 hrs and 4 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (35 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A funny and heartwarming debut for fans of Celia Imrie and Dawn French.

Evie Gallagher is regretting her hasty move into a care home. She may be 75 and recently widowed, but she’s absolutely not dead yet. And so, one morning, Evie walks out of Sheldon Lodge and sets off on a Great Adventure across Europe.

But not everyone thinks Great Adventures are appropriate for women of Evie’s age, least of all her son, Brendan, and his wife, Maura, who follow a trail of puzzling text messages to bring her home.

When they finally catch up with her, there are shocks in store...because while Brendan may have given up on life and love, Evie certainly has not.

©2018 Judy Leigh (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic reviews

"Brilliantly funny, emotional and uplifting." (Miranda Dickinson)

"Lovely...a book that assures that life is far from over at seventy." (Cathy Hopkins, best-selling author of The Kicking the Bucket List)

"Brimming with warmth, humour and a love of life…a wonderful escapade." (Fiona Gibson, best-selling author of The Woman Who Upped and Left

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Superb

Loved this book, the narrator is one of my favourites! I did have a foreboding feeling towards the end but I really enjoyed the story & the characters!
It made me smile, laugh out loud! When I hear swearing in an Irish accent somehow it doesn’t sound as offensive & the word Ballocks makes me smile.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I loved it

I really enjoyed this book. Evie is a bit of an odd character, making up stories, but likeable anyway. The son is odd, though comes good in the end. Great narration.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

endearing

a 75 year old woman decides that the elderly peoples home is not for her, so she decided to leave there.
she books an aeroplane and sets off on adventure that leads her to a second chance at love,

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Do we just over look the domestic violence...??

I found this a bit of an odd book. The main character is a compulsive liar, l think this was meant to make her 'cute' but it made me completely dislike her from the start.
There is a chapter where the a wife throws numerous items at her husband and it is never addressed which l find a bit disturbing. If it was the husband throwing things at his wife without it being later addressed , l doubt this book would ever have been published.

The narration was good and her French was a joy to listen too but things changed when 'Brendan' made an appearance. Why oh why the narrator choose to make him sound like a sleep walking zombie l'll never know .....and having him refer to his mother as 'Mammy' just sounded hilarious. 'MAAAAAAAMMY'!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable, easy read/listen!

Pleasant, easy read. Well drawn characters. Good pace. Excellent narration. Ideal holiday listen or for when something light is needed.