Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

She thought she was finally safe. But a roof over her head comes with a price to pay....

Laura Cannock is on the run. Suspected of killing her bullying husband, his family are on a merciless prowl for revenge. Fleeing from her beloved home of Bolton to Manchester, Laura seeks refuge with her coal merchant uncle. But it soon becomes clear that a roof over her head comes with a price - of the type so unbearable she must escape once more.

Destitute and penniless, a stench-ridden housing court in the back streets of the factories is Laura’s only hope of a dwelling - a place where both the filth and the kindness of neighbours overwhelm. Here people stick together through the odds, leading Laura to true friendship, and possibly love. But with the threat of her past still hanging over her, there’s still one battle she must fight - and win - alone....

A gritty historical saga set in Northern England in the late 1800s, perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Rosie Goodwin.

©2020 Emma Hornby (P)2020 Penguin Audio

What listeners say about A Daughter's Price

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    37
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

... Wonderful story 📖

'A Daughter's Price' , what a wonderful story, Emma Hornby has done it again. The narrator of this Audible book has a very listenable voice and takes on each characters accent authentically. thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend to all.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not the best Anne Dover Novel

A story that has more than one ending, several times it appeared to round off and wind down only to take a few more steps. Quite good but not the best.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Very Dull

Not much creativity, brain numbing. Took me nearly two weeks to finish listening as I kept falling asleep listening to this book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant story brilliantly read

Loved this book. Highly recommend. brilliantly read. look forward to reading another book by this author

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Yawn, moan moan moan!

Very disappointing. I was looking forward to listening to this book but unfortunately I just couldn't finish this, giving up 3/4 through! I just couldn't emphasis with her. A lot of what happens is brought on through her own doing bringing others down with her. It's just one tragedy after another....like an episode of Eastenders! Sorry!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for joanie
  • joanie
  • 27-09-20

not much story there

the story starts out pretty good until the characters come into play Laura the heroine is so impulsive everything she does she doubts it makes me angry and want to stop reading Daniel her love interest is no better just plain weak in character the story over all says alot but still didn't say anything no grip , excitement or expectation was there because I think all the characters was very weak