We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Speak Audiobook

Speak

Regular Price:£14.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

She cannot run. She cannot walk. She cannot even blink. As her batteries run down for the final time, all she can do is speak. Will you listen?

Speak is the story of artificial intelligence and those who loved it, hated it, and created it. Spanning geography and time, the novel takes us from Alan Turing's conviction in the 1950s to a Silicon Valley wunderkind imprisoned in 2040 for creating illegally lifelike dolls.

From a pilgrim girl writing her diary to a traumatised young girl exchanging messages with a software program, all these lives have shaped and changed a single artificial intelligence - MARY3.

In Speak, she tells you their story and her own. It the last story she will ever tell, spoken both in celebration and also warning - a warning against creating and abandoning beings with the ability to feel as deeply as we do.

When machines learn to speak, who decides what it means to be human?

For fans of David Mitchell and Margaret Atwood comes this poignant novel examining the story and ethics of artificial intelligence, a tale that spans our past and future, which will make readers everywhere question what it really means to be human.

Emily St. John Mandel, author of Station Eleven, calls Speak the "rarest of finds".

Louisa Hall grew up in Philadelphia. After graduating from Harvard, she played squash professionally while finishing her premedical coursework and working in a research lab at the Albert Einstein Hospital. She holds a PhD in literature from the University of Texas at Austin, where she currently teaches literature and creative writing, and she supervises a poetry workshop at the Austin State Psychiatric Hospital. She is the author of the novel The Carriage House, and her poems have been published in the New Republic, Southwest Review, Ellipsis, and other journals.

To find out more about the author please visit - www.louisahall.net

©2015 Louisa Hall (P)2015 Audible, Ltd

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.5 (45 )
5 star
 (14)
4 star
 (12)
3 star
 (10)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (7)
Overall
3.5 (44 )
5 star
 (14)
4 star
 (10)
3 star
 (10)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (7)
Story
4.1 (43 )
5 star
 (22)
4 star
 (12)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (3)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Mark Banchory, United Kingdom 12/07/2015
    Mark Banchory, United Kingdom 12/07/2015 Member Since 2011

    MSB

    HELPFUL VOTES
    40
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    47
    29
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Less than I imagined"

    This book was clever and well written, but not interesting. Fortunately some of the performers were quite good for their parts, but about half way through the book it became apparent that this was an exercise in research rather than storytelling. Clever and well written and researched unfortunately does not make it work reading or listening to. There needs to be something, that catches the imagination, a character that is empathetic, but unfortunately not.

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jack Henfield, United Kingdom 20/07/2015
    Jack Henfield, United Kingdom 20/07/2015 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    64
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Mediocre Listen"

    Within the first few minutes of listening I came to the conclusion that, perhaps, an audiobook is not the best medium for a story which consists primarily of diary entries and chat transcripts. I would argue that there is never more of a waste of a narrators talent than to have them simply read out chat transcripts. This story consists of extracts from the fictional diaries, personal correspondence and online chat transcripts of two Jewish refugees from WW2 Germany (the Dettmans), a young puritan girl on a journey from England to America (Mary), a fictionalised Alan Turing, an imprisoned computer programmer (Stephen) and an artificial intelligence named Mary3 respectively.

    I was never enraptured by the story but I was interested in seeing where it was going. I was convinced that if I just kept listening the author would draw the threads together into a coherent and focused conclusion and that I would be left thinking "oh, that was clever". However, after waiting and waiting the book simply finished and I was left wondering what the point had been. Indeed, as there is no real over-arching plot I would really hesitate to call this a "story" at all.

    However, it is not without it's merits. Occasionally the author would hit upon something which would cause me to ponder for a while and some of the turns of phrase and passages of prose are quite well written. In particular I was quite taken with the fictionalised portrayal of Turing and with the young puritan girls story (although the latter is left woefully unfinished). Further, the author does a good job in differentiating the writing style of the different characters so that they do not all speak (or write, I suppose) in the same register.

    The narration too is a mixed bag. Unfortunately I cannot credit specific narrators as I am unaware who voices whom but I thought the narrator for Turing was particularly impressive and the narrators for the Puritan girl and Stephen were good too. It seems unfair to judge the narrator for Mary3 too harshly as, after-all, it must be hard to make any sort of performance out of chat logs and so she gets a pass for a somewhat stilted narration. However, what I couldn't make sense of was the narration choice for the Dettmans. They are supposed to be German immigrants yet Mr Dettman speaks in what I would describe as a "wise old farmer" voice with no hint of German accent and Mrs Dettman speaks with what seemed to me to be an eastern European (vaguely Slavic) accent rather than a German accent (although it kept slipping).

    Overall, while there are no parts to this story that I particularly disliked there aren't many parts that I did enjoy either and I was left feeling that I had wasted my time in listening to it. As such, this is not an audiobook that I can recommend.

    P.S. (In the spirit of the Turing sections of the book) I also feel that this book has proved a rule that I have long since suspected. If a novel tries to piggy-back on the success of another book or author in order to sell copies it is not likely to be a great book. For example in this case; "For fans of David Mitchell and Margaret Atwood comes this poignant novel." In this case I think such a comparison would be rather unflattering to Mr Mitchell and Ms Atwood whose works I have enjoyed very much.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Philip Edinburgh, United Kingdom 07/12/2016
    Philip Edinburgh, United Kingdom 07/12/2016 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    28
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hauntingly Beautiful"

    From start to finish I loved this book, the beautiful mix of lives and stories left behind in one machine.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    mollymoon1 23/09/2015
    mollymoon1 23/09/2015 Member Since 2010

    Love literature - will read just about anything really - I have a couple of favourite authors and of course love the classics

    HELPFUL VOTES
    119
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    134
    96
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    9
    9
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Depressing...."

    An AI story : it certainly was easy to work out and not told in a particularly fascinating way. Lots of different tales coming together into one end product and on the journey to get to the end, of which I had already guessed the outcome there was absolutely nothing of any substance in it. In fact I would describe it as sad and depressing. The narration is clear and nicely read but a story that can easily be bypassed.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    R. Patrick (Old) York, UK 31/07/2015
    R. Patrick (Old) York, UK 31/07/2015 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent although the ending was a bit weak"

    Beautifully performed and the story weaved seamlessly though different points of view and different generations all connecting together I just thought the ending could have been a bit stronger.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    sian aggett 20/07/2015
    sian aggett 20/07/2015 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Didnt really connect"
    Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

    I enjoyed this book but just felt something was missing. I didnt quite connect with any of the characters or care enough.


    Would you recommend Speak to your friends? Why or why not?

    no


    What did you like about the performance? What did you dislike?

    the narration was well cast


    Do you think Speak needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

    no. it is about the end...


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mr. L. Jenkins 19/07/2015
    Mr. L. Jenkins 19/07/2015 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    68
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    19
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awful disconnected boring diary extracts"
    What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

    A different author


    What will your next listen be?

    Neal Stephenson's Interface


    What didn’t you like about the narrators’s performance?

    I liked their performance but not the story


    If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from Speak?

    The words


    Any additional comments?

    This author doesn't know how to write a science fiction story. None of this was really scifi, it was just broad personal accounts of vaguely relevant issues. Dull. Incoherent. Going to ask for a refund.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    SJPagey London 31/07/2015
    SJPagey London 31/07/2015

    Audible advocate and glutton (for food, not punishment)

    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    75
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    7
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Stands out from the crowd"
    What did you like most about Speak?

    I loved the depth the narrator performance brought to this story - or rather, series of interweaving stories. The audio experience brought the intimacy of confession, which I don't think would have the same power only in print.


    Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Yes - I got really involved with the emotional journey of each character. The balance between hope and sadness; what is, has been and could be.


    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.