We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
In Pursuit of Silence Audiobook

In Pursuit of Silence: Listening for Meaning in a World of Noise

Regular Price:£24.89
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

More than money, power, and even happiness, silence has become the most precious and dwindling commodity of our modern world.

Between iPods, music-blasting restaurants, earsplitting sports stadiums, and endless air and road traffic, the place for quiet in our lives grows smaller by the day. In Pursuit of Silence gives context to our increasingly desperate sense that noise pollution is, in a very real way, an environmental catastrophe.

Listening to doctors, neuroscientists, acoustical engineers, monks, activists, educators, marketers, and aggrieved citizens, George Prochnikexamines why we began to be so loud as a society, and what it is that gets lost when we can no longer find quiet. He shows us the benefits of decluttering our sonic world.

As Prochnik travels across the United States and overseas, we meet a rich cast of characters: an idealistic architect who is pioneering a new kind of silent architecture in collaboration with the Deaf community at Gallaudet University; a special operations soldier in Afghanistan (and former guitarist with Nirvana) who places silence at the heart of survival in war; a sound designer for shopping malls who ensures that the stores we visit never stop their auditory seductions; and a group of commuters who successfully revolted against piped-in music in Grand Central Station.

A brilliant, far-reaching exploration of the frontiers of noise and silence, and the growing war between them, In Pursuit of Silence is an important book that will appeal to fans of Michael Pollan and Daniel Gilbert.

©2010 George Prochnik (P)2010 Gildan

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.1 (8 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
0 (0 )
5 star
 (0)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
0 (0 )
5 star
 (0)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Dr. Birmingham, United Kingdom 07/04/2013
    Dr. Birmingham, United Kingdom 07/04/2013 Listener Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Good but not great"

    I was really looking forward to reading this book, having read some great reviews. However, although overall it was a good listen, I was left feeling a bit cheated.

    The book could have been titled "An exploration of noise" and it would still have worked! I felt that a balanced approach was missing. The author went into great detail about noise, its types, origin and history whereas I was hoping for more of an insight into quiet and silence and there physiological and psychological effects.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Neryl
    BAULKHAM HILLS, Australia
    04/07/11
    Overall
    "Bring it on! A quieter world"

    Interesting book.
    Why does a search for silence so often mean an investigation of noise?
    Touched on topics I had never heard of before.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • michaeldayreads
    Boulder, CO
    20/10/12
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "An important subject and a well intentioned work."

    Worth reading and very enjoyable in places, simply longer and more verbose than necessary. The author needs an editor that encourages him to be less flowery with his words. That a book on silence has a high noise to signal ratio is ironic.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.