We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
The Poppy Factory Audiobook

The Poppy Factory

Regular Price:£12.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A captivating story of two young women, bound together by the tragedy of two very different wars. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Maureen Lee.With the end of the First World War, Rose is looking forward to welcoming home her beloved husband, Alfie, from the battlefields. But his return is not what Rose had expected. Traumatised by what he has seen, the Alfie who comes home is a different man to the one Rose married. As he struggles to cope with life in peacetime, Rose wrestles with temptation as the man she fell in love with seems lost forever.

Many years later, Jess returns from her final tour of Afghanistan. Haunted by nightmares from her time at the front, her longed-for homecoming is a disaster and she wonders if her life will ever be the same again. Can comfort come through her great-grandmother Rose's diaries? For Jess and Rose, the realities of war have terrible consequences. Can the Poppy Factory, set up to help injured soldiers, rescue them both from the heartache of war?

©2014 Liz Trenow (P)2014 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What the Critics Say

Praise for Liz Trenow:
"Extraordinary, fascinating ...deeply rooted in history" (Midweek, Radio 4)
"An assured debut with a page-turning conclusion." (Daily Express)
"Liz Trenow sews together the strands of past and present as delicately as the exquisite stitching on the quilt which forms the centerpiece of the story." (Lucinda Riley)
"Totally fascinating ...a book to savour" (Kate Furnivall)
"A novel about the human spirit, Liz Trenow paints with able prose a picture of the prejudices that bind us and the love that sets us free, Splendid." (Pam Jenoff)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.4 (8 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
3.9 (7 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
3.3 (7 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Maggs Port Talbot 01/12/2016
    Maggs Port Talbot 01/12/2016 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    56
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    226
    215
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The Poppy Factory - good story but the narrator spoilt it"

    The Poppy Factory - good story but the narrator spoilt it
    Real good story & love Rose,s diaries
    When narrator Maggie Mash spoke as Rose the voice really suited the character, but when she spoke as the other characters in the book it was like she was shouting, and the male characters all sounded the same.
    This could have been a 4 star book if they had had a different narrator

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Caroline Munday 07/02/2016 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    12
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Beautiful story"

    Loved this book xx so well written and performed beautifully xx I liked how it all fitted perfectly together in the end

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.