We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
The One-in-a-Million Boy Audiobook

The One-in-a-Million Boy

Regular Price:£19.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A one-in-a-million story for anyone who loves to laugh, cry, and think about how extraordinary ordinary life can be. Not to be missed by those who loved The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, Elizabeth Is Missing or The Shock of the Fall.

Miss Ona Vitkus has - aside from three months in the summer of 1914 - lived unobtrusively, her secrets fiercely protected. The boy, with his passion for world records, changes all that. He is 11. She is 104 years, 133 days old (they are counting). And he makes her feel like she might be really special after all.

Better late than never...only it's been two weeks now since he last visited, and she's starting to think he's not so different from all the rest. Then the boy's father comes, for some reason determined to finish his son's good deed. And Ona must show this new stranger that not only are there odd jobs to be done but a life's ambition to complete....

©2016 Monica Wood (P)2016 Dreamscape Media, LLC.

What the Critics Say

"I loved it! The boy is one of my favourite literary characters ever! I thought it was a gem of a novel, heart breaking and heart-warming. Beautifully written, with characters that you want to keep by your side." (Adele Parks)

"Loved it! Oh, that ending.... Ona is such a brilliant heroine and Quinn surpasses all expectations. Such a life-affirming read - love the way Monica's story brings out the best in people." (Hannah Beckerman)

"Wood writes beautifully." (Washingtonian)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (33 )
5 star
 (23)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
4.5 (28 )
5 star
 (20)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.7 (28 )
5 star
 (22)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Amazon Customer 15/04/2016 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    59
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Beautiful"
    Where does The One-in-a-Million Boy rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    This book was made for audio and especially Chris Ciulla who was spectacular at creating a mood and changing his voices which were very evocative. I think it was perfect in the audio genre to the point that I don't think I would have enjoyed it as much as a book. I loved the recordings Ona made with 'the boy' and they were beautifully read by CC. A very uplifting story despite the sad undertones. It took a good few chapters to start unfolding but it was certainly worth it to understand what makes each character tick. What a splendid book!


    Have you listened to any of Chris Andrew Ciulla’s other performances? How does this one compare?

    No, but I'll certainly look out for them now, he was excellent in this audiobook!


    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Devoncollection 30/04/2016 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A beautiful story"

    A story of human frailty and love, of many depths. Well read with humour and accent.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amanda Toguri 29/11/2016
    Amanda Toguri 29/11/2016 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    25
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Poingnant...thought provoking...stunning"

    Provoked a lot of internal thinking for me and i am determined not to leave it as late as Quin to get a handle on the type of adult i wish to be or heaven help me...Ona. Touching and realistic story

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer Telford, United Kingdom 14/11/2016
    Amazon Customer Telford, United Kingdom 14/11/2016 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    22
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    41
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "An amazing story of friendships"

    This is wonderful story of several unlikely friendships: between an 11 year old boy who I think is aitistic; a 104 year old very independent lady; and the boy's parents, and the complex relationships of all of them.
    Beautifully written and excellently narrated.
    A truly one in a million story which I will certainly listen to again.
    Just beautiful.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer Gillingham, United Kingdom 24/10/2016
    Amazon Customer Gillingham, United Kingdom 24/10/2016 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Unexpectedly brilliant"

    When the book started I wasn't sure that it was for me but as I listened I was drawn in by this unusual, sad & funny story. It was excellently read, the voices painting pictures. Loved it & recommend it to anyone wanting something different.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sula 27/09/2016
    Sula 27/09/2016 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Lovely book"

    I really enjoyed this book. It is unique, moving, funny and uplifting. The reader is comforting and engaging. At the beginning the different character voices seemed strange but I found myself warming to it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    terry smith 16/09/2016
    terry smith 16/09/2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Simply amazing "

    An amazing read that focus on death and sorrow . I was working truly moved to by this story.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Patricia Grundy 15/09/2016 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    27
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    42
    24
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not for me!"

    The Goodreads description of this book states it is "Not to be missed by readers who loved THE UNLIKELY PILGRIMAGE OF HAROLD FRY, ELIZABETH IS MISSING or THE SHOCK OF THE FALL."
    Now, I enjoyed all of those three titles. However, The One-in-a-Million Boy was nothing like any of those.
    I found it very boring. Despite having listened to more than half I still couldn't figure out where the story was headed. Usually it takes A LOT for me to give up on an audio book but getting through only half of it in 3 months has to be a sign that it isn't working.
    Despite the title being what it is we don't even get to know the boy's actual name, making it very difficult to warm to him. Though I didn't warm to any of the other characters either.
    There were to many clichés as well: sassy old lonely lady strikes unlikely friendship with lonely boy, whose absent dad's a bit of a bum but his mum has now found a good father figure for him. Blah blah blah. Seen it, watched it, read it. A million times.
    I didn't think the narration was that good either. It sounded very forced but monotonous at the same time.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Linden BROMLEY, United Kingdom 09/07/2016
    Linden BROMLEY, United Kingdom 09/07/2016 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    49
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    47
    39
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Just simply superb"

    Most books I have enjoyed on audible. Some I have really loved, and a very few I have not liked. But this book is quite something else. I just adored it, and am so sorry it is now finished. The characters will live with me for ever - they are all wonderfully drawn, even the minor ones. It is mainly the stories of three main characters, drawn into one story, all interacting and affecting each other deeply. It did make me cry, but it is a beautiful story.

    At first I did find some of the descriptive narration a little difficult to follow at times; but do not let this put you off. It is superbly narrated, with all the different voices and characterisation shining through. I am very pleased that I listened to this book, rather than reading - not something that I always find.

    I shall certainly listen to it again - and again in the future.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.