We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
 >   > 
Blood and Blade Audiobook

Blood and Blade: The Bernicia Chronicles, Book 3

Regular Price:£18.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

635AD. Anglo-Saxon Britain. A gripping, action-packed historical thriller and third instalment in The Bernicia Chronicles. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell.

Oswald is now King of Northumbria. However, his plans for further alliances and conquests are quickly thrown into disarray when his wedding to a princess of Wessex is interrupted by news of a Pictish uprising.

Rushing north, Oswald leaves Beobrand to escort the young queen to her new home. Their path is fraught with danger and uncertainty, Beobrand must try to unravel secrets and lies if they are to survive.

Meanwhile, old enemies are closing in, seeking brutal revenge. Beobrand will give his blood and blade in service to his king, but will that be enough to avert disaster and save his kith and kin from the evil forces that surround them?

©2016 Matthew Harffy (P)2016 Audible, Ltd

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.8 (30 )
5 star
 (25)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.8 (28 )
5 star
 (23)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.8 (28 )
5 star
 (23)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Eddie 29/03/2017
    Eddie 29/03/2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This series just gets better and better"
    What made the experience of listening to Blood and Blade the most enjoyable?

    This is the 1st time I have listened to an audio book coupled with a kindle edition and I must say I thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The narrator has done a great job bringing these characters and this world to life and I will certainly be looking for the next in the series.


    What did you like best about this story?

    I love the way Beobrand has grown over these books and how the characters from his past return as they try to extract their sworn vengeance as he tackles new quests while always looking over his shoulder for the troubles he has left behind.


    Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    I hate the author for disposing of some of my favourite likeable characters throughout the series but the fact that he is not afraid to do so mean you are never sure who will survive and this greatly enhances the book as you go through the many twists, turns peaks and troughs in Beobrands life.


    Any additional comments?

    The storyline here is fantastic and this is certainly the best in the series so far but as each book gets better and better I am really excited to see where this series will go next and do not want to see this series ever end.

    I am so glad that I came across this author.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kurtis 25/12/2016
    Kurtis 25/12/2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A tale about the real Kings and Lords in the North"

    I liked Bernard Cornwall's Anglo Saxon Chronicles, but I loved this.

    History brought to life.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Gordon Davis-Day London UK 15/01/2017
    Gordon Davis-Day London UK 15/01/2017 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "It gets better"

    It was a great follow up to book 2 and though it has been awhile since I have read it I felt like from the off set I was where I had left off, I feel that I have learned about some figures in history I never new about which is why I always appreciate the explanation in the author's notes. I couldn't see why there was a need for a fifth book but after hearing this it made total sense with new characters introduced we will get to hear about them, and this I look forward to, Barnaby Edwards has done a great job with engaging the listener especially with using regional dialects but if you have children about that you are cautious in the event they are swear sensitive. Don't however let this put you off from the Audio, insults were not uncommon in such times as they are today.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • FuzzyLogicRiceCooker
    08/03/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great book !!!"
    What made the experience of listening to Blood and Blade the most enjoyable?

    I read part of the book in book form and listened to part of it in audiobook form. This way I could read when I had time and could continue reading where I left off by listening in audio form. Since the audiobooks are unabridged, I would just pick up on the last chapter from either book or audio form.


    What did you like best about this story?

    I loved how the Beobrand character evolved from the youth that he started out in Book One of the series: The first 2 novels in the series were as enjoyable as this third book in the series.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    Close to the ending with the beautiful description of the snow surrounding the castle. Followed by, Beobrand's final battle with Torran Nathair in the "cloak size fighting space" surrounded by snow.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    The book absorbed my attention and could be so intense that I would not recommend driving while listening or even waiting for a bus because the bus might drive by while you become immersed in the story.


    Any additional comments?

    I look forward to Book 4 in the series due out by Summer 2017.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Carpe Librum
    Michigan, USA
    20/12/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Transports the reader to the 7th century"
    What did you love best about Blood and Blade?

    Another great story by Matthew Harffy! If you have read the first two books in the Bernicia Chronicles, you already know that this one is going to be packed with action, perfectly described battle scenes, and the sort of bantering that only takes place between men who risk their lives together. What makes this series stand out is that all that testosterone is balanced by Beobrand's deeper search for love and meaning in his life. His character continues to develop in this story as he serves King Oswald.

    When we first met Beobrand in The Serpent Sword, he was young and impetuous, full of righteous indignation, and attempting to discover if he could be a better man than his father had been. Some of that struggle continues, but he has also been through much of the refining fire of life that has formed him into a man who others depend on despite his youth. He is still impetuous, and to some extent still trying to figure out what the future, or the gods, or the One True God, have in store for him. Whatever it is, he will face it head-on with sword in hand.

    Besides the ongoing battles for supremacy in the land that would become England, Beobrand has personal demons that make him a more complex character than what one typically finds in this type of story. He misses his wife, isn't sure what to do with his infant son, and has feelings for a woman that leave him feeling confused and guilty. If I have any criticism of this wonderful novel, it would be that I would have loved to see Beobrand with his son more and Reaghan less. It struck me as odd that little Octa, Beobrand's only remaining link to Sunniva, was rarely on his mind, while the girl he barely knew rarely left it. Yet, this is a minor point an is only my personal opinion.

    What makes this book - this entire series - amazing is that Harffy transports the reader into the 7th century. The lifestyles, the beliefs, the struggles, the raw reality of it. The reader may not always find themselves agreeing with Beobrand, but they will always be cheering for him.


    What other book might you compare Blood and Blade to and why?

    Comparable to Cornwell's Saxon Stories but with deeper and more complex characters.


    Have you listened to any of Barnaby Edwards’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    I have not listened to this narrator previously but enjoyed the spot-on production of this book. Could only have been better had the author read it himself.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Linda Morse
    26/02/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another amazing adventure with Beobrand"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Absolutely, I already have to family and friends! They love them! and Matthew along with one of the greatest narrator, Barnaby, take a bow guys!


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Blood and Blade?

    There were many, the main one that really touched my heart was the decision Beobrand to make about the queen and her love for another, .also Basses (i'm sure is misspelled) , sorry I Matthew.. I just thought this book was so much better with the storyline and the characters! I started listening and I had to make myself take a break! Wow, that is what tou call A Great Nove!. Congrat's Matthew and Barnaby, Fantastic!


    Have you listened to any of Barnaby Edwards’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    Barnaby Edward's is the epitome of a great Narrator, he is always great!


    If you could take any character from Blood and Blade out to dinner, who would it be and why?

    Beobrand and Achinin (probably spelled wrong)


    Any additional comments?

    Matthew I am going to use a quote of George Patton to Rummel back in 1944 "Quote" Rummel you Magnificent Bastard I read your book! C'mon that is a big compliment, both Patton and Rummel, great Leaders of opposing counties in World War 2 Keep it up ! great job! Now on to the next adventure!

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.