We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
A Seaside Affair Audiobook

A Seaside Affair

Regular Price:£12.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The new wonderfully warm and witty novel from Fern Britton, the much-loved TV personality. Perfect for fans of Katie Fforde and Trisha Ashley.

When the residents of the Cornish seaside town of Trevay discover that their much-loved theatre is about to be taken over by coffee chain, Café au Lait, they are up in arms. It is up to Penny Leighton, hotshot producer and now happily married Cornish resident, to come up with a rescue plan. Armed with only her mobile phone and her contacts book, she starts to pull in some serious favours. The town is soon deluged by actors, all keen to show their support and take part in a charity season at the theatre.

One of the arrivals is Jess Tate, girlfriend to TV heartthrob Ryan Hearst. His career is on the rise while hers remains resolutely in the doldrums. But when opportunity comes calling, it isn't just her career prospects that are about to change. Trevay is about to put on the show of its life - but can the villagers, and Jess, hold on to the thing they love the most?

©2014 Fern Britton (P)2014 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What the Critics Say

"Complicated friendships and tales of a chaotic love life make this a must-read." (Woman)
"A light-hearted, fun read that perfectly captures the sights and smells of village life." (Heat)
"Fern Britton has transferred her fun and friendly charm to the page" (Good Housekeeping)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.8 (24 )
5 star
 (13)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (5)
Overall
4.0 (22 )
5 star
 (14)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (4)
Story
3.7 (24 )
5 star
 (11)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (4)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Victoria Browne 19/09/2015 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A nice story"

    I liked this book. It didn't wow me but it also didn't bore me either. I liked Jess as a main character and her interaction with the others through out. The story line had no major twists or terns but still giving you the desire to keep reading. The writing I thought was really good and this for me is more important than the story line its self. I liked the the authors narrative and dialogue style which made my reading experience very pleasant.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lie Back & Listen 11/05/2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    42
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    146
    32
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Uninspiring and disappointing"

    A Seaside Affair was a dull affair.

    Initially was looking forward to listening to this title after my daughter told me that
    Fern Britton had written some books as I thought that the subject contents would reflect her sparkly quick witted personally…

    However personally I found this book a hard listen.

    It had a good potential to be a good ‘dramady’ (as in comedy drama) read but it was just dreary.

    So much so that I kept falling asleep listening to it and having to *go back*.

    I had to take time out to listen to another more interesting title but when I finally endured through to the end it seems like too much *action* is crammed into the ending.

    I purchased this with additional credits not my month credits and frankly I really advocate you do not waste your money.

    If you really are a fan of the author maybe but the paperback and inject your own energy and life into it.

    I would like to award this a minus star though as this is not an option it gets a meagre 1 star.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.