We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Try Not to Breathe Audiobook

Try Not to Breathe

Regular Price:£34.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Gillian Flynn, Laura Lippman, and Paula Hawkins comes Holly Seddon's arresting fiction debut: an engrossing thriller full of page-turning twists and turns, richly imagined characters, and gripping psychological suspense.

Some secrets never die. They're just locked away.

Alex Dale is lost. Destructive habits have cost her a marriage and a journalism career. All she has left is her routine: a morning run until her body aches, then a few hours of forgettable work before the past grabs hold and drags her down. Every day is treading water, every night is drowning. Until Alex discovers Amy Stevenson. Amy Stevenson, who was just another girl from a nearby town until the day she was found after a merciless assault. Amy Stevenson, who has been in a coma for fifteen years, forgotten by the world. Who, unbeknownst to her doctors, remains locked inside her body, conscious but paralysed, reliving the past.

Soon Alex's routine includes visiting hours at the hospital, then interviews with the original suspects in the attack. But what starts as a reporter's story becomes a personal obsession. How do you solve a crime when the only witness lived, but cannot tell the tale? Unable to tear herself away from uncovering the unspeakable truth, Alex realises she's not just chasing a story she's seeking salvation.

Shifting from present to past and back again, Try Not to Breathe unfolds layer by layer until its heart-stopping conclusion. The result is an utterly immersive, unforgettable debut.

©2016 Holly Seddon (P)2016 Bolinda

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (2708 )
5 star
 (1481)
4 star
 (900)
3 star
 (258)
2 star
 (45)
1 star
 (24)
Overall
4.4 (2441 )
5 star
 (1302)
4 star
 (821)
3 star
 (245)
2 star
 (48)
1 star
 (25)
Story
4.5 (2449 )
5 star
 (1523)
4 star
 (682)
3 star
 (189)
2 star
 (33)
1 star
 (22)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Karmen 23/11/2016
    Karmen 23/11/2016 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    18
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Don't believe the hype!"

    I honestly have no idea how this book has so many great reviews. The story was uninteresting, had a predictable ending was and without any real climax to keep the readers hooked. Don't waste 9+ hours listening to this

    18 of 21 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Pete 02/12/2016
    Pete 02/12/2016

    Cara

    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "If you can get over annoying irritating inflections in speech of two readers it's worth listening to."

    I almost gave up after a couple of hours simply because of the male narrator's irritatingly inflection in his voice. When he was 'into ' his character this was less obvious , he's actually a good reader with lots of colour and expression , but I won't buy another audible book with him reading. When I first heard the female journalist's voice I thought 'oh no! Same inflection " I figured whoever picked the two readers must like this kind of voice. The voice of the 'girl' was excellent . To me if the voices aren't to my liking I find it hard to enjoy. The story was okay, easy listening , worth reading even with it's fairly abrupt ending . Nothing special but glad I got to end. It's not in the same ball park of Gillian Flynn or Paula Hawkins but perfect to entertain when doing something mundane - long drive , ironing etc...

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    jv 03/11/2016
    jv 03/11/2016 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    20
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    41
    41
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fantastic book, highly recommended"

    What a great book. Unusual and interesting storylines all tied together. Good narration. I had changing allegiance for the characters as the story developed. I really enjoyed this book. Couldn't wait to listen to the next bit. Thought provoking and, a crime, a mystery, a drama and a love story of sorts. Only thing which didn't ring true was the way in which people had access to the hospital ward, notes and the patients but a great listen

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mrs S. 25/06/2016
    Mrs S. 25/06/2016 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    21
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Predictable"

    Story was predictable, so much so that you know the ending by half way through the book, with nothing exciting happening along the way. The audio was distracting as the voices seemed sing-song and irritating. Disappointing.

    18 of 22 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ninecatz 02/09/2016
    Ninecatz 02/09/2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    40
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    23
    23
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Don't hold your breath..."
    Any additional comments?

    The culprit was easy to guess and I found it a bit boring, had I been reading instead of listening I would have skipped pages. One of those books I listened to because I'd purchased it - mediocre.

    17 of 21 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Monroe 07/05/2016
    Monroe 07/05/2016 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "exactly what I was looking for!!"

    perfect cure for my The Girl on the Train withdrawal syptoms. This book has a similar layout in terms of the narrators and a gripping story line.

    15 of 19 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tough but fair 25/06/2016
    Tough but fair 25/06/2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    21
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Disappointed"

    First I have to admit to very much disliking the voices used ! The intonation sounded off to me and became increasingly irritating.

    As for the story, it did keep my interest but characters felt very received. The main character, who narrates most of it, was very similar to the one in The Girl on the Train. Another young woman whose life has been ruined by alcohol, starts to investigate a mystery and at the same time comes to terms with her alcoholism and the man she has lost as a result of it. This is almost identical.

    So too is the structure of having several narrators, at least one of which is unreliable.

    Lastly, the mystery, in other words who did it as it were,, I felt was not satisfying. I don't wish to spoil the ending so cannot really comment any more.

    Overall, I was rather disappointed in a book that was not very well written and the plot of which seems to have been lifted from elsewhere. Unless I have got it the wrong way round and the girl on the train came first

    21 of 27 people found this review helpful
  •  
    stephen 10/01/2017
    stephen 10/01/2017 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "loved it"

    really good story . great characters. stories intertwined really well .would look to read another by the same author

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    JB 09/01/2017
    JB 09/01/2017 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "very reasonable"

    Very much enjoyed listening to this. Great narration from all involved. While the story was a little thin and predictable, I still throughly enjoyed it.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Helen L 08/01/2017
    Helen L 08/01/2017 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    35
    23
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Really good book to listen to - hard to switch off"
    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Alex was my favourite character. She clearly was struggling in life and watching her try to emerge from these struggles was a very strong part of the storyline.


    Any additional comments?

    A bit like A Girl on the Train given the storyline of one of the main characters (Alex).

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Martha
    29/09/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Captivating but expected."

    Wonderful storytelling! This novel really captures my attention and I listened to it rather quickly because I was anticipating a shocking revelation in the end. However, the actual conclusion and solving of the case was somewhat boring and easily anticipated. It was still a very well written, suspenseful book, though!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.