We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Try Not to Breathe Audiobook

Try Not to Breathe

Regular Price:£34.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Gillian Flynn, Laura Lippman, and Paula Hawkins comes Holly Seddon's arresting fiction debut: an engrossing thriller full of page-turning twists and turns, richly imagined characters, and gripping psychological suspense.

Some secrets never die. They're just locked away.

Alex Dale is lost. Destructive habits have cost her a marriage and a journalism career. All she has left is her routine: a morning run until her body aches, then a few hours of forgettable work before the past grabs hold and drags her down. Every day is treading water, every night is drowning. Until Alex discovers Amy Stevenson. Amy Stevenson, who was just another girl from a nearby town until the day she was found after a merciless assault. Amy Stevenson, who has been in a coma for fifteen years, forgotten by the world. Who, unbeknownst to her doctors, remains locked inside her body, conscious but paralysed, reliving the past.

Soon Alex's routine includes visiting hours at the hospital, then interviews with the original suspects in the attack. But what starts as a reporter's story becomes a personal obsession. How do you solve a crime when the only witness lived, but cannot tell the tale? Unable to tear herself away from uncovering the unspeakable truth, Alex realises she's not just chasing a story she's seeking salvation.

Shifting from present to past and back again, Try Not to Breathe unfolds layer by layer until its heart-stopping conclusion. The result is an utterly immersive, unforgettable debut.

©2016 Holly Seddon (P)2016 Bolinda

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (1694 )
5 star
 (930)
4 star
 (568)
3 star
 (160)
2 star
 (25)
1 star
 (11)
Overall
4.4 (1531 )
5 star
 (831)
4 star
 (505)
3 star
 (147)
2 star
 (33)
1 star
 (15)
Story
4.5 (1535 )
5 star
 (965)
4 star
 (429)
3 star
 (115)
2 star
 (18)
1 star
 (8)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Monroe 07/05/2016
    Monroe 07/05/2016 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "exactly what I was looking for!!"

    perfect cure for my The Girl on the Train withdrawal syptoms. This book has a similar layout in terms of the narrators and a gripping story line.

    10 of 13 people found this review helpful
  •  
    J. Hyde UK 27/05/2016
    J. Hyde UK 27/05/2016 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent book!"

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book - so much that it's one of a very few books that upon completion, I started again. It is a good pace, characters were well thought out, but most of all I enjoyed the three different narrators.
    Now off to hunt down more by Holly Seddon!

    5 of 8 people found this review helpful
  •  
    angela 30/06/2016
    angela 30/06/2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    21
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    135
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "sheer stuborness got me through this bore"

    listened to the ”trailor” and it sounded good. bought the book and regretted it almost immediatly. boring. predictable and dull.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mrs S. 25/06/2016
    Mrs S. 25/06/2016 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Predictable"

    Story was predictable, so much so that you know the ending by half way through the book, with nothing exciting happening along the way. The audio was distracting as the voices seemed sing-song and irritating. Disappointing.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tough but fair 25/06/2016
    Tough but fair 25/06/2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Disappointed"

    First I have to admit to very much disliking the voices used ! The intonation sounded off to me and became increasingly irritating.

    As for the story, it did keep my interest but characters felt very received. The main character, who narrates most of it, was very similar to the one in The Girl on the Train. Another young woman whose life has been ruined by alcohol, starts to investigate a mystery and at the same time comes to terms with her alcoholism and the man she has lost as a result of it. This is almost identical.

    So too is the structure of having several narrators, at least one of which is unreliable.

    Lastly, the mystery, in other words who did it as it were,, I felt was not satisfying. I don't wish to spoil the ending so cannot really comment any more.

    Overall, I was rather disappointed in a book that was not very well written and the plot of which seems to have been lifted from elsewhere. Unless I have got it the wrong way round and the girl on the train came first

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ellie 25/05/2016
    Ellie 25/05/2016 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Just listened to this in 48 hours- incredible!"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    A lovely 'who done it' with a gentle lead up to the great reveal. Wonderfully narrated by three people which really added to the flipping between the main characters and their stories. Very well put together.


    What did you like best about this story?

    Great story, well narrated. Would recommend.


    4 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Daphne 30/04/2016
    Daphne 30/04/2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    26
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "gripping"

    Holly Seddon can certainly grab and entertain her reader. The plot engages you and makes you think you know where its going, then seamlessly over the timelines builds to climax with an outcome that you never expected....


    3 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jessica 04/08/2016
    Jessica 04/08/2016 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Mediocre story"

    Not such a great story. it built up to a bit of an anti climax in the end.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    lynn hyder 22/05/2016
    lynn hyder 22/05/2016 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hard to put down"

    Not since "Before I Go To Sleep" have I found something this Intriguing and hard to put down.

    2 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ann Newcastle, England 08/05/2016
    Ann Newcastle, England 08/05/2016 Member Since 2014

    Retired Psychologist Love reading/audiobooks, travelling, animals Favourite saying The fact that you believe something does not make it true

    HELPFUL VOTES
    658
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    264
    247
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    84
    10
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Interesting and enjoyable!"
    Any additional comments?

    I found this to be a relatively unusual tale. It moved back and forth between two timelines, and was told from chapter to chapter by different characters. I found the first third or so, dragged a little, but it was interesting enough to stick with. After that, I was quite engrossed. The ending tied everything up very well.

    13 of 17 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Martha
    29/09/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Captivating but expected."

    Wonderful storytelling! This novel really captures my attention and I listened to it rather quickly because I was anticipating a shocking revelation in the end. However, the actual conclusion and solving of the case was somewhat boring and easily anticipated. It was still a very well written, suspenseful book, though!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.