We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
Holy Spy Audiobook

Holy Spy: John Shakespeare 7

Regular Price:£14.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For fans of C J Sansom and S J Parris, Holy Spy features the Queen's Intelligencer John Shakespeare in the latest of Rory Clements' acclaimed and best-selling series of Tudor spy thrillers.

Clements, winner of the Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award, "does for Elizabeth's reign what C.J. Sansom does for Henry VIII's" (Sunday Times).

In London's smoky taverns, a conspiracy is brewing: a group of wealthy, young Catholic dissidents plot to assassinate Elizabeth, free Mary Queen of Scots - and open England to Spanish invasion. But the conspirators have been infiltrated by Sir Francis Walsingham's top intelligencer, John Shakespeare. Shakespeare, however, is torn: The woman he loves stands accused of murder.

In a desperate race against time, he must save her from the noose and the realm from treachery. And then it dawns that both investigations are inextricably linked - by corruption very close to the seat of power....

©2015 Rory Clements (P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton

What the Critics Say

"Clements has the edge when it comes to creating a lively, fast-moving plot." (The Sunday Times)
"Enjoyable, bloody and brutish." (Guardian)
"Real quality...faster moving than C. J. Sansom...very, very well done." (Front Row, BBC Radio 4)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (100 )
5 star
 (46)
4 star
 (36)
3 star
 (16)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
4.2 (93 )
5 star
 (37)
4 star
 (38)
3 star
 (15)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.4 (92 )
5 star
 (50)
4 star
 (29)
3 star
 (12)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Dr Dublin, Ireland 15/03/2015
    Dr Dublin, Ireland 15/03/2015 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent as always"
    Any additional comments?

    This is a prequel to the other John Shakespeare books but no less enjoyable for that. The story is satisfyingly complex, combining a murder mystery with affairs of state. The characterisation and evocation of the sense of Elizabethan England is superb. The narration is very good for almost all the characters, but unfortunately slightly colourless for Shakespeare himself. I highly recommend this book.

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Pammy 26/07/2015
    Pammy 26/07/2015

    Pammy

    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    34
    28
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Nearly but not quite."

    It's not bad it's just that the character of Shakespeare never develops enough to actually care what happens to him. Somehow the plot and the other characters also don;t become three dimensional either. It feels like it should work and be an Elizabethan Brother Cadfael but it falls short.

    6 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jane L A Bristow 24/11/2016 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Latest Rory Clements Shakespeare series"

    I enjoyed this book. It as usual evoked the period well and mixed true events with the fictional to good effect.

    However if I was recommending this series to others I would recommend that they read The Queens Man " first this second then the others in their published order so the story as a whole is chronological. At the start of this book I was confused as I had not realised that it was part of a prequel so it took me a while to get into it.
    Once I had realised that however it was easier to immerse myself into this story of the Babington plot.
    It is well worth a read.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Annie 08/05/2016
    Annie 08/05/2016

    Annie

    HELPFUL VOTES
    53
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    133
    110
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Holy Spy?"

    This is Book 7 of the series.

    Holy Spy tells a story of the conspiracy to assassinate Queen Elizabeth & place Mary Queen of Scott's on the throne of England.

    John Shakespeare is the spy.

    In the taverns of London & abroad, a conspiracy grows amongst a group of wealthy, young Catholic dissidents.

    Really enjoyed this one.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Martin 30/11/2015
    Martin 30/11/2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    47
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Tedious, boring, neverending."

    Probably the biggest dissappointment so far since I joined Audible. (100+books).
    If it was half length it might be bearable but the author loves to repeat himself hence the the volume.
    There is no wit in it, everyone is soo seeeerious and booooring....

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.