Of Fire and Stars

3 books in series
4 out of 5 stars 4 ratings

Inkmistress Summary

A sweeping, action-packed, and romantic fantasy full of dangerous magic and dark choices, perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce and Kristin Cashore - set in the same world as Of Fire and Stars.

Asra is a demigod with a dangerous gift: the ability to dictate the future by writing with her blood. To keep her power secret, she leads a quiet life as a healer on a remote mountain, content to help the people in her care and spend time with Ina, the mortal girl she loves.

But Asra's peaceful life is upended when bandits threaten Ina's village and the king does nothing to help. Desperate to protect her people, Ina begs Asra for assistance in finding her manifest - the animal she'll be able to change into as her rite of passage to adulthood. Asra uses her blood magic to help Ina, but her spell goes horribly wrong and the bandits destroy the village, killing Ina's family.

Unaware that Asra is at fault, Ina swears revenge on the king and takes a savage dragon as her manifest. To stop her, Asra must embark on a journey across the kingdom, becoming a player in lethal games of power among assassins, gods, and even the king himself.

Most frightening of all, she discovers the dark secrets of her own mysterious history - and the terrible, powerful legacy she carries in her blood.

©2018 Audrey Coulthurst (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers
Show More Show Less
  • Book 0.5

    • Inkmistress

    • By: Audrey Coulthurst
    • Narrated by: Billie Fulford-Brown
    • Length: 10 hrs and 29 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 1
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 1
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 1

    Asra is a demigod with a dangerous gift: the ability to dictate the future by writing with her blood. To keep her power secret, she leads a quiet life as a healer on a remote mountain, content to help the people in her care and spend time with Ina, the mortal girl she loves. But Asra's peaceful life is upended when bandits threaten Ina's village and the king does nothing to help.

    Regular price: £28.29

  • Book 1

    • Of Fire and Stars

    • By: Audrey Coulthurst
    • Narrated by: Saskia Maarleveld, Moira Quirk
    • Length: 10 hrs and 58 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      3.5 out of 5 stars 3
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 3
    • Story
      3.5 out of 5 stars 3

    Betrothed since childhood to the prince of Mynaria, Princess Dennaleia has always known what her future holds. Her marriage will seal the alliance between Mynaria and her homeland, protecting her people from other hostile kingdoms. But Denna has a secret. She possesses an Affinity for fire - a dangerous gift for the future queen of a land where magic is forbidden. Now Denna has to learn the ways of her new kingdom while trying to hide her growing magic. To make matters worse, she must learn to ride Mynaria's formidable warhorses before her coronation.

    Regular price: £28.29

  • Book 2

    Of Ice and Shadows
    
    
        By:
        












    





    





    
        
            
            
                
            
        
        Audrey Coulthurst
    
    


    
    
        Narrated by:
        












    





    





    
        
            
            
                
            
        
        Saskia Maarleveld,
    
        
            
            
                
            
        
        Moira Quirk
    
    


    
    Length: 10 hrs
    Not rated yet
    Overall 0.0
    Not Available on Audible.co.uk