The War Nurses

3 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 9 ratings

The War Nurses: A Moving Wartime Romance Saga Full of Heart Summary

You will love every moment of this absolutely brilliant wartime saga, perfect for fans of Diney Costeloe, Soraya M. Lane, and Nadine Dorries. 

As war takes its toll, the love and care of two brave young nurses become everything to the wounded soldiers they tend... 

1914. Two plucky young nurses pledge to help the war effort: Mairi, a wholesome idealist hoping to leave behind her past and Elsie, a glamorous single mother with a weakness for handsome soldiers. Despite their differences, the pair become firm friends.  

At the emergency medical shelter where they're based, Elsie and Mairi work around the clock to treat wounded soldiers. It's heart-breaking work and they are at constant risk from shelling, fire, and disease. Occasionally there are happier times...parties, trips, and letters. And maybe even the possibility of love with an attractive officer in their care...

But as the war continues and the stress of duty threatens to pull the two women apart, will Elsie and Mairi's special nurses' bond be strong enough to see them through?  

Based on a true story, Mairi and Elsie's devotion and bravery will make you smile and cry. You won't want to put it down!

©2018 Lizzie Page (P)2018 Bookouture
Show More Show Less
  • Book 1

    • The War Nurses: A Moving Wartime Romance Saga Full of Heart

    • The War Nurses Series
    • By: Lizzie Page
    • Narrated by: Marian Hussey
    • Length: 10 hrs and 53 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 8
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 8
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 8

    You will love every moment of this absolutely brilliant wartime saga, perfect for fans of Diney Costeloe, Soraya M. Lane, and Nadine Dorries. As war takes its toll, the love and care of two brave young nurses become everything to the wounded soldiers they tend... 1914. Two plucky young nurses pledge to help the war effort: Mairi, a wholesome idealist hoping to leave behind her past and Elsie, a glamorous single mother with a weakness for handsome soldiers. Despite their differences, the pair become firm friends.  

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • A good read & a great listen - very moving

    • By TKIRK on 17-01-19

    Regular price: £22.89

  • Book 2

    • Daughters of War

    • War Nurses, Book 2
    • By: Lizzi Page
    • Narrated by: Laurence Bouvard
    • Length: 10 hrs and 49 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Performance
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Story
      0 out of 5 stars 0

    As a teenager in Chicago, May always dreamed of travelling the world. So when she falls in love with George Turner, she can’t wait to return to London as his wife. Two beautiful daughters follow, but George isn’t the husband he promised to be. Ten years on, May is wondering if she’s made a terrible mistake. The Great War has been declared in Europe, and all around, brave young men are being called up to serve. George, banned from conscription himself, has taken to the bottle, and May suspects he’s seeing other women, too. 

    Regular price: £27.99

  • Book 3

    • When I Was Yours

    • By: Lizzie Page
    • Narrated by: Laurence Bouvard
    • Length: 12 hrs and 51 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 1
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 1
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars 1

    1939. War has broken out - hundreds of children are evacuated to the countryside to keep them safe from the bombs raining down on London. Wrenched from her family in the East End and sent more than a hundred miles away, seven-year-old Pearl Posner must adapt to a new life away from everything familiar. Vivienne didn’t ask for an evacuee child. In fact, she’s not sure her heart can take it. So many years, so many disappointments....

    Regular price: £27.99