Tudor Rose

2 books in series
4 out of 5 stars 7 ratings

Root of the Tudor Rose Summary

For fans of Philippa Gregory and Hilary Mantel comes Mari Griffith's debut, Root of the Tudor Rose.

This is the story of a passionate romance and a secret marriage which gave its name to the most famous royal dynasty in the history of Great Britain: the Tudors.

When King Henry V and his bride, Catherine de Valois, are blessed with the birth of a son, their happiness is short-lived. Henry's unexpected death leaves Catherine a widow at the age of 21. Then her father, King Charles of France, also dies, and her son inherits both crowns. Henry VI, King of England and France, is just 10 months old and needs all his mother's watchful care to protect him from political intrigue.

The queen, an attractive young widow, is a foreigner at the English court and now finds herself regarded with suspicion, particularly by the Duke of Gloucester, who will seemingly stop at nothing to protect his own claim to the throne. But lonely, vulnerable Catherine has found true friendship with another foreigner at court, a young Welshman named Owen. Their friendship deepens, but their liaisons must be kept secret at all costs, because Catherine, Queen of England and forbidden to remarry, is in love with a servant....

©2015 Mari Griffith (P)2017 Audible, Ltd
Show More Show Less
  • Book 1

    • Root of the Tudor Rose

    • Tudor Rose, Book 1
    • By: Mari Griffith
    • Narrated by: Kelly Clare
    • Length: 12 hrs and 29 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 4
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 4
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 4

    This is the story of a passionate romance and a secret marriage which gave its name to the most famous royal dynasty in the history of Great Britain: the Tudors. When King Henry V and his bride, Catherine de Valois, are blessed with the birth of a son, their happiness is short-lived. Henry's unexpected death leaves Catherine a widow at the age of 21. Then her father, King Charles of France, also dies, and her son inherits both crowns.

    Regular price: £18.99

  • Book 2

    • The Witch of Eye

    • Tudor Rose, Book 2
    • By: Mari Griffith
    • Narrated by: Kelly Clare
    • Length: 14 hrs and 10 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      3.5 out of 5 stars 3
    • Performance
      3.5 out of 5 stars 3
    • Story
      3.5 out of 5 stars 3

    England, 1435. Eleanor Cobham has married into the highest ranks of the aristocracy - she is now the Duchess of Gloucester. She and her husband, the Duke Humphrey, set up a court of their own to rival the royal court in London, surrounding themselves with fascinating and influential people. But Eleanor craves the one thing she lacks: a son and heir, and with him a possible route to the throne of England. Desperate, Eleanor turns to the one person she believes can help her: Margery Jourdemayne, a woman now remembered as the infamous Witch of Eye.

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • Pronunciation!

    • By annette apostolakis on 09-08-18

    Regular price: £18.99