The Bernicia Chronicles

5 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 293 ratings

The Serpent Sword Summary

633AD. Anglo-Saxon Britain. A gripping, powerful, action-packed historical thriller about vengeance and coming of age. The Bernicia Chronicles are perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell.

Beobrand is compelled by his brother's almost-certain murder to embark on a quest for revenge in the war-ravaged kingdoms of Northumbria. The land is rife with danger, as warlords vie for supremacy and dominion. In the battles for control of the region, new oaths are made and broken, and loyalties are tested to the limits. With no patronage and no experience, Beobrand must form his own allegiances and learn to fight with sword and shield.

Relentless in pursuit of his enemies, he faces challenges which transform him from a boy to a man who stands strong in the clamour and gore of the shieldwall. As he closes in on his kin's slayer and the bodies pile up, can Beobrand mete out the vengeance he craves without sacrificing his honour...or even his soul?

©2016 Matthew Harffy (P)2016 Audible, Ltd
Show More Show Less
  • Book 1

    • The Serpent Sword

    • The Bernicia Chronicles, Book 1
    • By: Matthew Harffy
    • Narrated by: Barnaby Edwards
    • Length: 12 hrs and 9 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 131
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 123
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 123

    Beobrand is compelled by his brother's almost-certain murder to embark on a quest for revenge in the war-ravaged kingdoms of Northumbria. The land is rife with danger, as warlords vie for supremacy and dominion. In the battles for control of the region, new oaths are made and broken, and loyalties are tested to the limits. With no patronage and no experience, Beobrand must form his own allegiances and learn to fight with sword and shield. Relentless in pursuit of his enemies, he faces challenges which transform him from a boy to a man.

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • Almost a Prequel To Cornwell's King Alfred Books.

    • By Farniboy on 11-04-17

    Regular price: £18.99

  • Book 2

    • The Cross and the Curse

    • The Bernicia Chronicles, Book 2
    • By: Matthew Harffy
    • Narrated by: Barnaby Edwards
    • Length: 14 hrs and 28 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 85
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 74
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 75

    Warlords battle across Britain to become the first king of the English. After a stunning victory against the native Waelisc, Beobrand returns a hero. His valour is rewarded with wealth and land by Oswald, king of Northumbria. He retires to his new estate with his bride only to find himself surrounded by enemies old and new. With treachery and death on all sides, Beobrand fears he will lose all he holds dear. On a quest for revenge and redemption, he accepts the mantle of lord, leading his men into the darkest of nights and the bloodiest of battles.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Great listen!

    • By Steven A. McKay on 02-02-17

    Regular price: £18.99

  • Book 3

    • Blood and Blade

    • The Bernicia Chronicles, Book 3
    • By: Matthew Harffy
    • Narrated by: Barnaby Edwards
    • Length: 10 hrs and 57 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 77
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 71
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 71

    Oswald is now King of Northumbria. However, his plans for further alliances and conquests are quickly thrown into disarray when his wedding to a princess of Wessex is interrupted by news of a Pictish uprising. Rushing north, Oswald leaves Beobrand to escort the young queen to her new home. Their path is fraught with danger and uncertainty, Beobrand must try to unravel secrets and lies if they are to survive. Meanwhile, old enemies are closing in, seeking brutal revenge.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • This series just gets better and better

    • By Eddie on 29-03-17

    Regular price: £18.99

  • Book 4

    • Killer of Kings

    • The Bernicia Chronicles, Book 4
    • By: Matthew Harffy
    • Narrated by: Barnaby Edwards
    • Length: 11 hrs and 34 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Performance
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Story
      0 out of 5 stars 0

    Beobrand has land, men and riches. He should be content. And yet he cannot find peace until his enemies are food for the ravens. But before Beobrand can embark on his bloodfeud, King Oswald orders him southward, to escort holy men bearing sacred relics. When Penda of Mercia marches a warhost into the southern kingdoms, Beobrand and his men are thrown into the midst of the conflict. Beobrand soon finds himself fighting for his life and his honour. 

    Regular price: £18.99

  • Book 5

    • Warrior of Woden

    • The Bernicia Chronicles, Book 5
    • By: Matthew Harffy
    • Length: Not Yet Known
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Performance
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Story
      0 out of 5 stars 0

    Oswald has reigned over Northumbria for eight years and Beobrand has led the king to ever greater victories. Rewarded for his fealty and prowess in battle, Beobrand is now a wealthy warlord, with a sizable warband. Tales of Beobrand's fearsome black-shielded warriors and the great treasure he has amassed are told throughout the halls of the land. Many are the kings who bow to Oswald. And yet there are those who look upon his realm with a covetous eye. And there is one ruler who will never kneel before him. 

    Regular price: £18.99