Abhorsen/The Old Kingdom

7 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 1,997 ratings

Sabriel Summary

Ever since she was a tiny child, Sabriel has lived outside the walls of the Old Kingdom, away from the random power of Free Magic, and away from the Dead who won't stay dead. But now her father, the Mage Abhorsen, is missing, and to find him Sabriel must cross back into that world.

Though her journey begins alone, she soon finds companions: Mogget, whose seemingly harmless feline form hides a powerful and perhaps malevolent spirit; and Touchstone, a young Charter Mage long imprisoned by magic, now free in body but still trapped by painful memories.

With threats on all sides and only each other to trust, the three must travel deep into the Old Kingdom, toward a battle that will pit them against the true forces of life and death, and bring Sabriel face-to-face with her own hidden destiny.

A tale of dark secrets, deep love and dangerous magic, Sabriel introduces Garth Nix as an exceptional new talent.

©1995 Garth Nix (P)2002 Random House, Inc., Listening Library, An Imprint Of The Random House Audio Publishing Group
Show More Show Less
  • Book 1

    • Sabriel

    • By: Garth Nix
    • Narrated by: Tim Curry
    • Length: 10 hrs and 28 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 636
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 497
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 495

    Ever since she was a tiny child, Sabriel has lived outside the walls of the Old Kingdom, away from the random power of Free Magic, and away from the Dead who won't stay dead. But now her father, the Mage Abhorsen, is missing, and to find him Sabriel must cross back into that world.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • An excellent story for parent and child

    • By Janice on 31-01-06
    • By: Garth Nix
    • Narrated by: Tim Curry
    • Length: 10 hrs and 28 mins
    • Release date: 14-11-03
    • 4.5 out of 5 stars 636 ratings

    Regular price: £26.29

  • Book 2

    • Lirael

    • Daughter of the Clayr
    • By: Garth Nix
    • Narrated by: Tim Curry
    • Length: 14 hrs and 43 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 413
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 316
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars 313

    Lirael has never felt like a true daughter of the Clayr. Abandoned by her mother, ignorant of her father's identity, Lirael resembles no one else in her large extended family living in the Clayr's glacier. She doesn't even have the Sight, the ability to See into the present and possibly futures, that is the very birthright of the Clayr.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Loved it!

    • By Ms. H. Morris on 09-02-11
    • Daughter of the Clayr
    • By: Garth Nix
    • Narrated by: Tim Curry
    • Length: 14 hrs and 43 mins
    • Release date: 07-08-06
    • 5 out of 5 stars 413 ratings

    Regular price: £26.29

  • Book 3

    • Abhorsen

    • By: Garth Nix
    • Narrated by: Tim Curry
    • Length: 11 hrs and 16 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 453
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 347
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars 346

    Before she went to join Sam and Mogget downstairs, Lirael paused for a moment to look at herself in the tall silver mirror that hung on the wall of her room. The image that faced her bore little resemblance to the Second Assistant Librarian of the Clayr. She saw a warlike and grim young woman, dark hair bound back with a silver cord rather than hanging free to disguise her face. She no longer wore her librarian's waistcoat, and she had a long Nehima at her side rather than a library-issue dagger.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • An Incredible Listen

    • By Mr on 23-12-12

    Regular price: £26.29

  • Book 3.5

    The Creature in the Case cover art
    Not Available on Audible.co.uk

    There are many reasons why a book might be unavailable.

    Sometimes a book goes temporarily out of print - and sometimes no audio version has ever been recorded. Audible wants to give you the most complete selection we can and we'll keep adding series and filling in gaps as quickly as possible.

  • Book 4

    • Clariel: The Lost Abhorsen

    • By: Garth Nix
    • Narrated by: Graeme Malcolm
    • Length: 11 hrs and 55 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 272
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 252
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 252

    Award-winning author Garth Nix returns to the Old Kingdom with a thrilling prequel complete with dark magic, royalty, dangerous action, a strong heroine, and flawless world-building. This epic fantasy adventure is destined to be a classic, and is perfect for fans of Game of Thrones.

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • Ok

    • By H. Coates on 08-12-15

    Regular price: £32.89

  • Book 5

    • Goldenhand

    • The Old Kingdom, Book 5
    • By: Garth Nix
    • Narrated by: Heather Wilds
    • Length: 11 hrs and 34 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 223
    • Performance
      3.5 out of 5 stars 212
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 211

    Lirael lost one of her hands in the binding of Orannis, but now she has a new hand, one of gilded steel and Charter Magic. On a dangerous journey, Lirael returns to her childhood home, the Clayr's Glacier, where she was once a Second Assistant Librarian. There a young woman from the distant North brings her a message from her long-dead mother, Arielle. It is a warning about the Witch with No Face. But who is the Witch, and what is she planning?

    • 1 out of 5 stars
    • Love the Old Kingdom but can't go on

    • By Philip on 23-10-16

    Regular price: £36.19

  • To Hold the Bridge cover art
    Not Available on Audible.co.uk

    There are many reasons why a book might be unavailable.

    Sometimes a book goes temporarily out of print - and sometimes no audio version has ever been recorded. Audible wants to give you the most complete selection we can and we'll keep adding series and filling in gaps as quickly as possible.