DS Aector McAvoy

10 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 686 ratings

Dark Winter Summary

The Sunday Times best-selling first instalment in the Hull-based DS Aector McAvoy series.

Meet DS Aector McAvoy, and begin David Mark's addictive crime series.

DS Aector McAvoy is a man with a troubled past. His unwavering belief in justice has made him an outsider in the police force he serves, a good man among the lazy and corrupt.

Then on a cold day in December he is the first cop on the scene when a young girl is killed in Hull's historic church - and the only one to see the murderer. A masked man, with tears in his eyes....

When two more seemingly unconnected people die, the police must work quickly. Only McAvoy can see the connection between the victims. A killer is playing God - and McAvoy must find a way to stop the deadly game.

Hooked on Hull? Then check out the second instalment in the DS McAvoy series, Original Skin....

©2012 David Mark (P)2013 Quercus Publishing plc
Show More Show Less
  • Book 1

    • Dark Winter

    • The 1st DS McAvoy Novel
    • By: David Mark
    • Narrated by: Toby Longworth
    • Length: 7 hrs and 49 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 239
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 216
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 216

    The Sunday Times best-selling first instalment in the Hull-based DS Aector McAvoy series. Meet DS Aector McAvoy, and begin David Mark's addictive crime series. DS Aector McAvoy is a man with a troubled past. His unwavering belief in justice has made him an outsider in the police force he serves, a good man among the lazy and corrupt. Then on a cold day in December he is the first cop on the scene when a young girl is killed in Hull's historic church - and the only one to see the murderer.

    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • Excellent rainy afternoon listening.

    • By Darkin on 21-08-13

    Regular price: £22.99

  • Book 2

    • Original Skin

    • The 2nd DS McAvoy Novel
    • By: David Mark
    • Narrated by: Toby Longworth
    • Length: 12 hrs and 32 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 107
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 99
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 97

    The second instalment in the acclaimed Hull-based DS Aector McAvoy series and the follow up to the Sunday Times best-selling Dark Winter. Their sins will seal their fate. Suzie Devlin lived for pleasure - until her best friend Simon was murdered. Now Suzie seems to be in the killer's sights.... Who wants her dead? And why? She's done nothing wrong...except, perhaps, get involved with the wrong person. DS Aector McAvoy has been a marked man all his life.

    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • Very easy and enjoyable

    • By Darkin on 05-04-14

    Regular price: £22.99

  • Book 3

    • Sorrow Bound

    • The 3rd DS McAvoy Novel
    • By: David Mark
    • Narrated by: Toby Longworth
    • Length: 10 hrs and 9 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 92
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 80
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 80

    No good deed goes unpunished in this third thrilling instalment in the acclaimed Hull-based DS Aector McAvoy series. From the Richard & Judy featuring, Sunday Times best-selling and Kindle chart-topping author of Dark Winter. Philippa Longman did what we all aim to do. She did the right thing. She's about to pay for it with her life.... DS McAvoy has spent his career playing by the rules. He has the scars to show for it.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Part 3 getting even better

    • By Simon1971 on 07-09-16

    Regular price: £22.99

  • Book 4

    • Taking Pity

    • The 4th DS McAvoy Novel
    • By: David Mark
    • Narrated by: Toby Longworth
    • Length: 10 hrs and 4 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 97
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 87
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 88

    They have taken DS Aector McAvoy's family. They have taken DCI Colin Ray's foundation. They have taken DS Trish Pharaoh's fight. Now the ruthless criminal network that has tightened its stranglehold on Hull intends to take everything that remains from those who dare to stand in its way. Taking Pity is a police procedural thriller that pulls no punches. It is the story of three officers who can take no more and a merciless nemesis that takes no chances, no prisoners and no pity.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • The best yet in this series

    • By Dr Lambert on 25-02-16

    Regular price: £19.99

  • Book 4.5

    A Bad Death cover art
    Not Available on Audible.co.uk

    There are many reasons why a book might be unavailable.

    Sometimes a book goes temporarily out of print - and sometimes no audio version has ever been recorded. Audible wants to give you the most complete selection we can and we'll keep adding series and filling in gaps as quickly as possible.

  • Book 5

    • Dead Pretty

    • The 5th DS McAvoy Novel
    • By: David Mark
    • Narrated by: Toby Longworth
    • Length: 10 hrs and 21 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 66
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 60
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 60

    One girl's missing. One girl's dead. McAvoy can't let either of them go.... The fifth stunning novel in the DS McAvoy series by best-selling author David Mark, perfect for fans of Val McDermid and Peter Robinson. Hannah Kelly has been missing for nine months. Ava Delaney has been dead for five days. One girl to find. One girl to avenge. And DS Aector McAvoy won't let either of them go until justice can be done. But some people have their own ideas of what justice means.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Gripping from start to finish!

    • By Miss Lucinda Quinton on 07-11-18

    Regular price: £19.99

  • Book 5.5

    Fire of Lies cover art
    Not Available on Audible.co.uk

    There are many reasons why a book might be unavailable.

    Sometimes a book goes temporarily out of print - and sometimes no audio version has ever been recorded. Audible wants to give you the most complete selection we can and we'll keep adding series and filling in gaps as quickly as possible.

  • Book 6

    • Cruel Mercy

    • The 6th DS McAvoy Novel
    • By: David Mark
    • Narrated by: Toby Longworth
    • Length: 10 hrs and 28 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 49
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 43
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 43

    Three Irishmen went to America. One's dead. One's as good as. One is missing.... The missing man is Valentine Teague. Petty criminal, bare-knuckle fighter - and DS Aector McAvoy's brother-in-law. Back home Val's being held responsible for the blood spilt in the snowy woods of upstate New York.

    • 2 out of 5 stars
    • absolute let down

    • By Paul Broadley on 14-06-17

    Regular price: £19.99

  • Book 7

    • Scorched Earth

    • The 7th DS McAvoy Novel
    • By: David Mark
    • Narrated by: Toby Longworth
    • Length: 8 hrs and 27 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 36
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 29
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 29

    The police think Crystal Heathers isn't missing. The trainee detective assigned to the case isn't so sure. McAvoy thinks someone was being held at the derelict building where they just found a body pinned to the wall...and that all the signs point to it being a little girl. But why would anyone not report a kidnapping? And how far would someone go to get revenge? The case will test McAvoy to breaking point - as the crimes of the present lead him to a final violent confrontation with an enemy from his own past.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Aector McAvoy, Hull’s Harry Hole

    • By Andy on 24-09-18

    Regular price: £21.99

  • Book 8

    • Cold Bones

    • DS McAvoy, Book 8
    • By: David Mark
    • Narrated by: Toby Longworth
    • Length: 10 hrs and 26 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Performance
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Story
      0 out of 5 stars 0

    It's the coldest winter in Hull for years. When McAvoy is told by a concerned stranger that an elderly woman hasn't been seen for a few days, he goes to check on her - only to find her in the bath, encased in ice: the heating off, the windows open, the whole house frozen over. It could be a macabre accident, but when McAvoy finds a series of cryptic messages, he senses murder. Someone watched her die.   

    Regular price: £19.99