DS Aector McAvoy

8 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 595 ratings

Dark Winter Summary

The Sunday Times best-selling first instalment in the Hull-based DS Aector McAvoy series.

Meet DS Aector McAvoy, and begin David Mark's addictive crime series.

DS Aector McAvoy is a man with a troubled past. His unwavering belief in justice has made him an outsider in the police force he serves, a good man among the lazy and corrupt.

Then on a cold day in December he is the first cop on the scene when a young girl is killed in Hull's historic church - and the only one to see the murderer. A masked man, with tears in his eyes....

When two more seemingly unconnected people die, the police must work quickly. Only McAvoy can see the connection between the victims. A killer is playing God - and McAvoy must find a way to stop the deadly game.

Hooked on Hull? Then check out the second instalment in the DS McAvoy series, Original Skin....

©2012 David Mark (P)2013 Quercus Publishing plc
Show More Show Less
  • Book 1

    • Dark Winter

    • The 1st DS McAvoy Novel
    • By: David Mark
    • Narrated by: Toby Longworth
    • Length: 7 hrs and 49 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 220
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 199
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 199

    The Sunday Times best-selling first instalment in the Hull-based DS Aector McAvoy series. Meet DS Aector McAvoy, and begin David Mark's addictive crime series. DS Aector McAvoy is a man with a troubled past. His unwavering belief in justice has made him an outsider in the police force he serves, a good man among the lazy and corrupt. Then on a cold day in December he is the first cop on the scene when a young girl is killed in Hull's historic church - and the only one to see the murderer.

    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • Excellent rainy afternoon listening.

    • By Darkin on 21-08-13

    Regular price: £22.99

  • Book 2

    • Original Skin

    • The 2nd DS McAvoy Novel
    • By: David Mark
    • Narrated by: Toby Longworth
    • Length: 12 hrs and 32 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 97
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 89
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 87

    The second instalment in the acclaimed Hull-based DS Aector McAvoy series and the follow up to the Sunday Times best-selling Dark Winter. Their sins will seal their fate. Suzie Devlin lived for pleasure - until her best friend Simon was murdered. Now Suzie seems to be in the killer's sights.... Who wants her dead? And why? She's done nothing wrong...except, perhaps, get involved with the wrong person. DS Aector McAvoy has been a marked man all his life.

    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • Very easy and enjoyable

    • By Darkin on 05-04-14

    Regular price: £22.99

  • Book 3

    • Sorrow Bound

    • The 3rd DS McAvoy Novel
    • By: David Mark
    • Narrated by: Toby Longworth
    • Length: 10 hrs and 12 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 86
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 74
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 74

    No good deed goes unpunished in this third thrilling instalment in the acclaimed Hull-based DS Aector McAvoy series. From the Richard & Judy featuring, Sunday Times best-selling and Kindle chart-topping author of Dark Winter. Philippa Longman did what we all aim to do. She did the right thing. She's about to pay for it with her life.... DS McAvoy has spent his career playing by the rules. He has the scars to show for it.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Part 3 getting even better

    • By Simon1971 on 07-09-16

    Regular price: £22.99

  • Book 4

    • Taking Pity

    • The 4th DS McAvoy Novel
    • By: David Mark
    • Narrated by: Toby Longworth
    • Length: 10 hrs and 4 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 88
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 79
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 80

    They have taken DS Aector McAvoy's family. They have taken DCI Colin Ray's foundation. They have taken DS Trish Pharaoh's fight. Now the ruthless criminal network that has tightened its stranglehold on Hull intends to take everything that remains from those who dare to stand in its way. Taking Pity is a police procedural thriller that pulls no punches. It is the story of three officers who can take no more and a merciless nemesis that takes no chances, no prisoners and no pity.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • The best yet in this series

    • By Dr Lambert on 25-02-16

    Regular price: £19.99

  • Book 4.5

    A Bad Death cover art
    Not Available on Audible.co.uk

    There are many reasons why a book might be unavailable.

    Sometimes a book goes temporarily out of print - and sometimes no audio version has ever been recorded. Audible wants to give you the most complete selection we can and we'll keep adding series and filling in gaps as quickly as possible.

  • Book 5

    • Dead Pretty

    • The 5th DS McAvoy Novel
    • By: David Mark
    • Narrated by: Toby Longworth
    • Length: 10 hrs and 21 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 60
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 54
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 54

    One girl's missing. One girl's dead. McAvoy can't let either of them go.... The fifth stunning novel in the DS McAvoy series by best-selling author David Mark, perfect for fans of Val McDermid and Peter Robinson. Hannah Kelly has been missing for nine months. Ava Delaney has been dead for five days. One girl to find. One girl to avenge. And DS Aector McAvoy won't let either of them go until justice can be done. But some people have their own ideas of what justice means.

    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • Confusing...

    • By clare stewart on 29-02-16

    Regular price: £19.99

  • Book 5.5

    Fire of Lies cover art
    Not Available on Audible.co.uk

    There are many reasons why a book might be unavailable.

    Sometimes a book goes temporarily out of print - and sometimes no audio version has ever been recorded. Audible wants to give you the most complete selection we can and we'll keep adding series and filling in gaps as quickly as possible.

  • Book 6

    • Cruel Mercy

    • The 6th DS McAvoy Novel
    • By: David Mark
    • Narrated by: Toby Longworth
    • Length: 10 hrs and 28 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 44
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 38
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 38

    Three Irishmen went to America. One's dead. One's as good as. One is missing.... The missing man is Valentine Teague. Petty criminal, bare-knuckle fighter - and DS Aector McAvoy's brother-in-law. Back home Val's being held responsible for the blood spilt in the snowy woods of upstate New York.

    • 2 out of 5 stars
    • absolute let down

    • By Paul Broadley on 14-06-17

    Regular price: £19.99