Daughters of Hastings
Books in series1
(3.5 based on 15 ratings)
  • 1
    The Handfasted Wife: Daughters of Hastings, Book 1 | Carol McGrath

    The Handfasted Wife: Daughters of Hastings, Book 1

    • UNABRIDGED (12 hrs and 8 mins)
    • By Carol McGrath
    • Narrated By Heather Wilds
    • Whispersync for Voice-ready

    The Handfasted Wife is the story of the Norman Conquest from the perspective of Edith (Elditha) Swanneck, Harold's common-law wife. She is set aside for a political marriage when Harold becomes king in 1066. Determined to protect her children's destinies and control her economic future, she is taken to William's camp when her estate is sacked on the eve of the Battle of Hastings. She later identifies Harold's body on the battlefield, and her youngest son becomes a Norman hostage.

    Abandoned Audio to read on Kindle
    Reviewed on 05 October 2015 by Mrs. J. Slade ()