The Nations

6 books in series
3.5 out of 5 stars 3 ratings

The Nations Summary

Winner - Laramie Award - Classic Western – 2014
Finalist for the Elmer Kelton Awards.

For fans of Zane Grey, Louis L'Amour, and Elmer Kelton, there's a new marshal in town.

The Nations, also known as "Robber's Roost" and "No-Man's Land", was regarded in the latter part of the nineteenth century as the bloodiest and most dangerous place in the world.

It is the year 1885. A notorious band of outlaws known as the "Larson Gang" has been terrorizing Arkansas, Missouri, and the Nations for years. Judge Issac Parker, the Hanging Judge, orders an all-out concerted effort to capture the gang and bring them to justice.

"If they will not respect the law, then by God we will make them fear it."

Marshal Bass Reeves, the first black U.S. deputy marshal west of the Mississippi, along with his partner, Jack McGann, two other deputies, and two Indian Lighthorse, are tasked to take the youngest member of the gang, Ben Larson, on the treacherous journey to Fort Smith ,with their prisoner shackled to the bed of the Tumbleweed Wagon.

"It is not the severity of the punishment that is the deterrent...but the certainty of it." (Judge Issac C. Parker)

The Nations blends historical and fictional characters to create a fast-paced action Western.

©2012 Ken Farmer & Buck Stienke (P)2014 Ken Farmer & Buck Stienke
Show More Show Less
  • Book 1

    • The Nations

    • By: Ken Farmer, Buck Stienke
    • Narrated by: Ken Farmer
    • Length: 8 hrs and 1 min
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Performance
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Story
      0 out of 5 stars 0

    It is the year 1885. A notorious band of outlaws known as the "Larson Gang" has been terrorizing Arkansas, Missouri, and the Nations for years. Judge Issac Parker, the Hanging Judge, orders an all-out concerted effort to capture the gang and bring them to justice.

    Regular price: £19.39

  • Book 2

    • Haunted Falls

    • The Nations, Book 2
    • By: Ken Farmer, Buck Stienke
    • Narrated by: Ken Farmer
    • Length: 9 hrs and 8 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 1
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 1
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars 1

    Marshal Bass Reeves long time partner, Jack McGann, goes undercover to ferret out some claim jumpers in the Arbuckle Mountains. He is bushwhacked and washed down the rapids and over Turner Falls. A restless spirit and a sacred white wolf send a fiery redheaded widow to nurse him back to health. Bass and his other partner, Jed Neal are sent to find the missing McGann, but are sidetracked into helping US Deputy Marshal Selden Lindsey track down Bill Dalton, the last of the old time outlaws.

    Regular price: £19.39

  • Book 3

    • Hell Hole

    • The Nations, Book 3
    • By: Ken Farmer
    • Narrated by: Ken Farmer
    • Length: 7 hrs and 21 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      2 out of 5 stars 1
    • Performance
      1 out of 5 stars 1
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 1

    US Deputy Marshals, under Judge Issac Parker, The Hanging Judge, patrol the Indian Nations - the most dangerous place in the world in the late 19th century. Bass Reeves and his partner, Jack McGann, are tasked to bring in the Griffin gang and clean out the cesspool of outlaws at a town known as Catoosa, the Hell Hole. Judge Parker wants "that bunch of societal paragons of miscreants and malefactors that are gathered there eliminated" and doesn't care how Bass and his men do it.

    • 2 out of 5 stars
    • Disappointed.

    • By Amazon Customer on 03-12-17
    • The Nations, Book 3
    • By: Ken Farmer
    • Narrated by: Ken Farmer
    • Length: 7 hrs and 21 mins
    • Release date: 05-12-14
    • 2 out of 5 stars 1 rating

    Regular price: £19.39

  • Book 4

    • Across the Red

    • The Nations, Book 4
    • By: Ken Farmer, Buck Stienke
    • Narrated by: Ken Farmer
    • Length: 8 hrs and 19 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 1
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 1
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars 1

    Between the Indian Nations and Texas lies an area on the south side of the Red River that was once the winter camp for the likes of the notorious guerrillas William Clarke Quantrill, Bloody Bill Anderson and later, the James Gang - known as Delaware Bend.

    Regular price: £19.39

  • Book 5

    • Bass and the Lady

    • The Nations, Book 5
    • By: Ken Farmer, Buck Stienke
    • Narrated by: Ken Farmer
    • Length: 8 hrs and 19 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Performance
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Story
      0 out of 5 stars 0

    There was only one female marshal in the Indian Nations under Judge Issac Parker...Deputy US Marshal F.M. Miller. She teams up with Bass Reeves in Bass and the Lady and goes undercover to stop a new gang of murdering rustlers. Bass has an arrest warrant for his own son...for murder.

    Regular price: £18.79

  • Book 6

    • Lady Law

    • The Nations, Book 6
    • By: Ken Farmer
    • Narrated by: Ken Farmer
    • Length: 7 hrs and 41 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Performance
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Story
      0 out of 5 stars 0

    Marshal Miller is on a mission to bring a Cherokee renegade, Cal Mankiller, to justice. She follows his trail of blood to the rugged and mysterious Wichita Mountains in Oklahoma Territory. Will she finally see justice served? Will she welcome Mankiller to his first day in hell? Find out in Lady Law.

    Regular price: £19.39