Cormoran Strike

4 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 21,300 ratings

The Cuckoo's Calling Summary

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger…

A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the East End to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable book. Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is a classic crime novel in the tradition of P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, and marks the beginning of a unique series of mysteries.

Robert Glenister has performed with both the National Theatre and the RSC. He has worked extensively on radio and television and is probably best known for his roles as Ash Morgan in the BBC's Hustle and as the Home Secretary in 5 series of Spooks.

©2013 Robert Galbraith (P)2013 Hachette Digital
Show More Show Less
  • Book 1

    • The Cuckoo's Calling

    • Cormoran Strike, Book 1
    • By: Robert Galbraith
    • Narrated by: Robert Glenister
    • Length: 15 hrs and 53 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 8,503
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 7,778
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 7,761

    When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case.Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger...

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • Excellent

    • By Nick Moore on 15-07-13

    Regular price: £19.99

  • Book 2

    • The Silkworm

    • Cormoran Strike, Book 2
    • By: Robert Galbraith
    • Narrated by: Robert Glenister
    • Length: 17 hrs and 16 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 6,615
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 6,141
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 6,124

    When novelist Owen Quine goes missing, his wife calls in private detective Cormoran Strike. At first, she just thinks he has gone off by himself for a few days - as he has done before - and she wants Strike to find him and bring him home. But as Strike investigates, it becomes clear that there is more to Quine's disappearance than his wife realises. The novelist has just completed a manuscript featuring poisonous pen-portraits of almost everyone he knows. If the novel were published it would ruin lives - so there are a lot of people who might want to silence him.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • 5 star rating based on quality not name

    • By Linda on 06-08-14

    Regular price: £19.99

  • Book 3

    • Career of Evil

    • Cormoran Strike, Book 3
    • By: Robert Galbraith
    • Narrated by: Robert Glenister
    • Length: 17 hrs and 54 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 6,182
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 5,756
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 5,749

    When a mysterious package is delivered to Robin Ellacott, she is horrified to discover that it contains a woman's severed leg. Her boss, private detective Cormoran Strike, is less surprised but no less alarmed. There are four people from his past whom he thinks could be responsible - and Strike knows that any one of them is capable of sustained and unspeakable brutality.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Another gripping story.

    • By Bernadette on 22-10-15

    Regular price: £19.99

  • Book 4

    • Lethal White

    • Cormoran Strike, Book 4
    • By: Robert Galbraith
    • Narrated by: Robert Glenister
    • Length: 20 hrs
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Performance
      0 out of 5 stars 0
    • Story
      0 out of 5 stars 0

    When Billy, a troubled young man, comes to private eye Cormoran Strike's office to ask for his help investigating a crime he thinks he witnessed as a child, Strike is left deeply unsettled. While Billy is obviously mentally distressed and cannot remember many concrete details, there is something sincere about him and his story. But before Strike can question him further, Billy bolts from his office in a panic. 

    Regular price: £24.99