Department Q

7 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 7,699 ratings

Mercy Summary

The unabridged, digital audiobook edition of Jussi Adler-Olsen’s Mercy, Scandinavia’s new bestselling crime phenomenon.

Read by the actor Steven Pacey. At first the prisoner scratches at the walls until her fingers bleed. But there is no escaping the room. With no way of measuring time, her days, weeks, months go unrecorded. She vows not to go mad. She will not give her captors the satisfaction. She will die first. Copenhagen detective Carl has been taken off homicide to run a newly created department for unsolved crimes. His first case concerns Merete Lynggaard, who vanished five years ago. Everyone says she's dead. Everyone says it’s a waste of time. He thinks they’re right.

The voice in the dark is distorted, harsh and without mercy. It says the prisoner’s torture will only end when she answers one simple question. It is one she has asked herself a million times: WHY is this happening?

©2012 Jussi Adler-Olsen (P)2012 Penguin Books Ltd
Show More Show Less
  • Book 1

    • Mercy

    • Department Q, Book 1
    • By: Jussi Adler-Olsen
    • Narrated by: Steven Pacey
    • Length: 13 hrs and 35 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 1,728
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 1,560
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 1,559

    The unabridged, digital audiobook edition of Jussi Adler-Olsen’s Mercy, Scandinavia’s new bestselling crime phenomenon. Read by the actor Steven Pacey. At first the prisoner scratches at the walls until her fingers bleed. But there is no escaping the room. With no way of measuring time, her days, weeks, months go unrecorded. She vows not to go mad. She will not give her captors the satisfaction.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Danish Noire superbly read by Steven Pacey

    • By Nick on 08-02-13

    Regular price: £24.00

  • Book 2

    • Disgrace

    • Department Q, Book 2
    • By: Jussi Adler-Olsen
    • Narrated by: Steven Pacey
    • Length: 14 hrs and 12 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 1,292
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 1,145
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 1,146

    Kimmie’s home is on the streets of Copenhagen. To live she must steal. She has learned to avoid the police and never to stay in one place for long. But now others are trying to find her. And they won’t rest until she has stopped moving - for good. Detective Carl of Department Q, the cold cases division, has received a file concerning the brutal murder of a brother and sister 20 years earlier. A group of boarding school students were the suspects at the time - until one of their numbers confessed and was convicted.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Completely hooked!

    • By Hilary on 21-10-12

    Regular price: £24.00

  • Book 3

    • Redemption

    • Department Q, Book 3
    • By: Jussi Adler-Olsen
    • Narrated by: Steven Pacey
    • Length: 17 hrs and 18 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 1,280
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 1,187
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 1,189

    The downloadable, digital audiobook edition of Jussi Adler-Olsen’s sensational new thriller, read by the actor Steven Pacey. Two boys, brothers, wake tied and bound in a boathouse by the sea. Their kidnapper has gone, but soon he will return. Their bonds are inescapable. But there is a bottle and tar to seal it. Paper and a splinter for writing; blood for ink. A message begging for help. In Copenhagen’s cold cases division Carl Morck has received a bottle. It holds an old and decayed message, written in blood.

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • Best Department Q yet!

    • By PatM on 10-10-13

    Regular price: £24.00

  • Book 4

    • Guilt

    • Department Q, Book 4
    • By: Jussi Adler-Olsen
    • Narrated by: Steven Pacey
    • Length: 15 hrs and 59 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 1,108
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 1,025
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 1,015

    Following the international No 1 bestsellers Mercy and Disgrace, Guilt is the fourth heart-stopping Department Q novel from Jussi Adler-Olsen, and a gripping treat for all fans of the Scandinavian crime thriller.1987. Nete Rosen thought she'd put her traumatic youth behind her. Her caring foster parents and loving husband helped her start again. However, when a man from her past reappears one night, Nete's new life could be shattered.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Absolutely love Jussi Adler Olsen

    • By caroline on 14-05-14

    Regular price: £24.00

  • Book 5

    • Buried

    • Department Q, Book 5
    • By: Jussi Adler-Olsen
    • Narrated by: Steven Pacey
    • Length: 17 hrs and 33 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 1,016
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 960
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 960

    Penguin presents the unabridged, downloadable audiobook edition of Buried, the fifth installment of the Department Q series by Jussi Adler-Olsen, read by Steven Pacey. More than three years ago, a civil servant vanished after returning from a work trip to Africa. Though he is missing and presumed dead, the man's family still want answers. It is one of the many unsolved crimes left for Department Q, Denmark's cold-case unit headed up by Detective Carl Morck.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • More Than Just A Crime Book

    • By David F. on 15-03-15

    Regular price: £24.00

  • Book 6

    • The Hanging Girl

    • Department Q, Book 6
    • By: Jussi Adler-Olsen
    • Narrated by: Graeme Malcolm
    • Length: 15 hrs and 36 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 704
    • Performance
      3.5 out of 5 stars 660
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 657

    In the middle of a hard-won morning nap in the basement of police headquarters, Carl Mørck, head of Department Q, receives a call from a colleague working on the Danish island of Bornholm. Carl is dismissive at first, but then he receives some shocking news. Carl then has no choice but to lead Department Q into the tragic cold case of a vivacious 17-year-old girl who vanished from school, only to be found dead hanging high up in a tree.

    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • Narrator???

    • By Alexandra Allan on 16-12-15

    Regular price: £19.99

  • Book 7

    • The Scarred Woman

    • Department Q, Book 7
    • By: Jussi Adler-Olsen
    • Narrated by: Saul Reichlin
    • Length: 17 hrs and 20 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 571
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 530
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 527

    The international number one best seller returns with his most captivating and suspenseful novel yet - perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo. In a Copenhagen park, the body of an elderly woman is discovered. Though the case bears a striking resemblance to another unsolved homicide from over a decade ago, the police cannot find any connection between the two victims. Across town a group of young women are being hunted down. The attacks seem random, but could these acts of violence be related?

    • 2 out of 5 stars
    • What a let down after such a long wait!

    • By mollyeyre on 22-09-17

    Regular price: £19.99